General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on April 06, 2014, 06:33:21 PM

Title: Daylight Saving
Post by: speewa158 on April 06, 2014, 06:33:21 PM
Daylight Saving done for yet another year      ,         thank you         :cheers: :cheers:
Title: Re: Daylight Saving
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 06, 2014, 06:40:13 PM
YAYYYYY.

B***DY Eastern Summer Silly Time.
Post by: JCOJ on April 06, 2014, 06:59:15 PM
Yay, it will be light when I get up in the morning, but only for the next few weeks  ???

Can't wait until October when it comes back again!
Post by: Azz on April 06, 2014, 07:04:48 PM
Depending on your latitude, it can be great.

Being in Victoria, I love it, but they should start a month later and end a month earlier IMHO  :cheers:
Post by: scarps on April 06, 2014, 07:23:00 PM

Daylight Saving done for yet another year      ,         thank you         :cheers: :cheers:
you know the grass will grow differently now?
Post by: drenno on April 06, 2014, 07:24:57 PM
Don't forget the curtains fade and the milking cows get thrown out!!! LOL
Post by: letsgoplaces on April 06, 2014, 07:30:44 PM
Being in Victoria, I love it, but they should start a month later and end a month earlier IMHO  :cheers:

Yep, exactly what it used to be...... last Sunday in October to the first Sunday in March.
Personally i don't mind the earlier start, but it does go on too long

John
Post by: scarps on April 06, 2014, 07:34:52 PM

Yep, exactly what it used to be...... last Sunday in October to the first Sunday in March.
Personally i don't mind the earlier start, but it does go on too long

John
agree, needs to finish earlier.
Post by: fuji on April 06, 2014, 07:45:13 PM
Add another month I reckon.
Post by: Black Diamond on April 06, 2014, 07:47:27 PM
Don't really see what the big fuss about it all is. We still have to get up everyday for work then return home for dinner, go to bed and the rest is like Groundhog Day. Don't see how 1hr can make such a big impact to the majority of peoples lives ??? Or maybe I'm missing something :cheers:

Post by: scarps on April 06, 2014, 08:10:21 PM
I'm by nature an early riser. Like the sun to be poking it's head on the horizon somewhere between 5 and 6. Last few weeks it's been around 7am due to DLS.
Post by: Azz on April 06, 2014, 08:16:04 PM
I'm by nature an early riser. Like the sun to be poking it's head on the horizon somewhere between 5 and 6. Last few weeks it's been around 7am due to DLS.

We take the pups for a walk each morning, started off leaving at 6, then 6:15, up until now 6:30, we have been taking a torch the last few weeks, just bloody silly really.
We'll get a reprieve for a 4 - 6 weeks now, then it will be to cold for that caper :)
Post by: Watty2975 on April 06, 2014, 08:17:31 PM
Daylight saving! What the hell is that ;D

Us QLDers have a terrible fear of it. Faded curtains, milking problems, a change to what has always been.

Growing up in Melbourne with it and moving to the sunshine state, I have missed it. Maybe one day we will fall into line with the rest of the country :laugh:
Post by: xcvator on April 06, 2014, 08:29:28 PM
Don't really see what the big fuss about it all is. We still have to get up everyday for work then return home for dinner, go to bed and the rest is like Groundhog Day. Don't see how 1hr can make such a big impact to the majority of peoples lives ??? Or maybe I'm missing something :cheers:

Speak for yourself  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

sorry :angel:

Nah, I'm not really  >:D >:D ;D ;D >:D >:D ;D ;D
Post by: scarps on April 06, 2014, 08:34:30 PM

Us QLDers have a terrible fear of it. Faded curtains, milking problems, a change to what has always been.

Growing up in Melbourne with it and moving to the sunshine state, I have missed it. Maybe one day we will fall into line with the rest of the country :laugh:
it's ok, while we have Daylight Saving, you guys have Tropical Cyclones and the Wet Season. In my books you win:-)
Post by: Black Diamond on April 06, 2014, 08:35:00 PM
Speak for yourself  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

sorry :angel:

Nah, I'm not really  >:D >:D ;D ;D >:D >:D ;D ;D
Hey old mate, what are you doing up this late? ;D. I might get to retire one day too I just can't see it yet :cheers:

Ya prick ;D  :-*
Post by: rags on April 06, 2014, 10:42:43 PM
I think the eastern states should just  move the time zone 1/2 hr forward so we are on the central standard time , no daylight saving,then the country could have just 2 time zones eastern standard and western standard,
Any way time i roll the blinds down for winter.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 06, 2014, 11:49:45 PM
Going into Hibernation Rags?
Title: Daylight Saving
Post by: scarps on April 07, 2014, 06:25:05 AM
See, DLS finishes and we get a proper sunrise this morning. Anyone else in Vic see this vista this morning?  Ruddy marvelous

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/07/eduzu3ud.jpg)
Post by: Mandrake on April 07, 2014, 06:45:32 AM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/07/uqa3e7es.jpg)Yep..wish I was somewhere else....

Sent from the thing that does everything.
Post by: Spada on April 07, 2014, 06:55:07 AM
Maybe one day we will fall into line with the rest of the country :laugh:

But it wont be like the rest of the country because Qld does not have a twilight like our Southern cousins get. It simply goes fro light to dark over about a half hour period, and we would still be in a differant time zone to SA, NT and WA.

It would be OK if we had it in Winter, as it's already dark in the mornings when we get up, but it would be nice to get home and still have a bit of daylight.
Post by: krisandkev on April 07, 2014, 07:04:44 AM

Simple answer.  Move back to Melbourne.   ;D    And maybe one day the other states will fall into line with us.   8)   Kevin
Post by: Symon on April 07, 2014, 08:05:42 AM

Do you really think that DS is going to deliver the same benefit to you this far north?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Post by: Spada on April 07, 2014, 11:20:52 AM
Maybe NSW should use the extra daylight for some more footy practice..............

Post by: muzza01 on April 07, 2014, 01:57:47 PM
Simple answer.  Move back to Melbourne.   ;D    And maybe one day the other states will fall into line with us.   8)   Kevin
Post by: Variflex on April 07, 2014, 02:07:21 PM
Should be daylight savings all year round,
I'm really going to miss having dinner on my boat after work and being able to get all the household chores done after work which free's up my weekends.
Post by: HEM19X on April 07, 2014, 04:31:27 PM
There is some talk of all the eastern states [at least] having 30min Daylight Savings ALL YEAR ROUND!!!
Post by: brickiematt on April 07, 2014, 04:34:08 PM
See, DLS finishes and we get a proper sunrise this morning. Anyone else in Vic see this vista this morning?  Ruddy marvelous

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/07/eduzu3ud.jpg)

Yep, was a beautiful sunrise this morning.
Only problem was, I had to watch it while I was working :'(
Post by: Dogsbreakfast on April 07, 2014, 04:34:52 PM

Maybe one day the dopey southerners will learn how to set their alarm clocks an hour earlier ;D
Post by: Topender on April 07, 2014, 04:43:34 PM
Daylight savings?  What the hell is that?  Come over here (west) if you want to know what it's like to be out of wack with the rest of the country all year round.  QLDer's have it easy compared to us.   I loved DLS but all the retards over here voted against it!  I go to work early anyway and most of the year is dark when I leave, but that extra hour of light in the arvo would be bliss when I get home.

Post by: speewa158 on April 08, 2014, 07:22:03 AM
l always find the outside workers find DLS harder to deal with , as it draws to an end the work cant start till you can at least see the job . l refuse to start work under lights , that's sleeping time  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on April 08, 2014, 08:44:08 PM
Been getting up at sparrow fart for near 40 years, so I guess I love longer daylight hours after finishing work.
Bit of a bItch getting home now when it's dark   :'(
What are we whinging about, the  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: are still cold aren't they  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on April 09, 2014, 07:54:19 AM
                            Yep :cup: :cheers: Well said , at least you can go home & have a few  :laugh: