Author Topic: Bathurst 2014  (Read 83093 times)

Bathurst 2014
« on: October 09, 2014, 04:32:38 PM »
Yeah yeah, someone had to start the thread....  :D

Now, I've gotta meet up wiff da others on Sat afternoon at Rainbow for the 2015 Nat Meet stuff, but Sunday is gunna be a cracker of a day for boating, but the idiots have resurfaced the mountain circuit and its suggested, its gunna be a fast race on Sunday.

Now i'm in a pickle, I don't know which way to swing.

I reckon Whincup and Dumbrel are odds on to win, but.......i'd like to see Craig take it out.

But then, oh crap, I don't know.......  ???

Offline hainess

Re: Bathurst 2014
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 05:09:00 PM »
Did a couple of laps around there last week.
Then the missus did a couple, then the green Ps went on for the daughter to have a go.
Nice new surface,but, still a scaryass piece of road at 20kph,2nd gear in the old Triton.

Faster than that. No thanks.

Hope Ive got enough beer.

Go Ford.

Rod.

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 05:10:10 PM »
Wonder if the new surface will stand up to the abuse on the corners .
Big screen tv, surround sound on, Waeco prechilled and loaded with beer and prawns + snacks at arms reach beside lounge,  funnel and tube in place [ when ya gotta go ya gotta go ], ...
Up at sparrows on sunday, bacon n eggs and a coldy for brekky, warm up the tv ready for the start of the days telecast ...
No talking no toys no kids fighting no interuptions phones off the hook go away sign on door wife and kids out the door,  this is my one and only day to watch TV in peace, the other 364 are theirs ... Jeez I hate Bathurst .  ;D

« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 05:15:36 PM »
Wonder if the new surface will stand up to the abuse on the corners .
Big screen tv, surround sound on, Waeco prechilled and loaded with beer and prawns + snacks at arms reach beside lounge,  funnel and tube in place [ when ya gotta go ya gotta go ], ...
Up at sparrows on sunday, bacon n eggs and a coldy for brekky, warm up the tv ready for the start of the days telecast ...
No talking no toys no kids fighting no interuptions phones off the hook go away sign on door wife and kids out the door,  this is my one and only day to watch TV in peace, the other 364 are theirs ... Jeez I hate Bathurst .  ;D

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: You just described my day. Nothing more to add.  :cheers:

Offline Elky

« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2014, 05:21:20 PM »
^^^this, my Bathurst starts at 12pm Friday, hopefully won't miss more than 5 minutes of viewing at my pitstop time, as my birthday is a week after my only present request each year is a quiet Sunday!

Just doing my snack list for the weekend for swambo to fetch for me, hard choice for lunchtime Sunday tho

Bring it on!
2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2014, 05:32:28 PM »
NEW LAP RECORD - David Reynolds 2.06.3714

« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2014, 05:40:54 PM »
Speewas Lap record   6.45 & a bit . Pajero NL  with CT on treg .   Read it & weep  :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2014, 05:46:16 PM »
Speewas Lap record   6.45 & a bit . Pajero NL  with CT on treg .   Read it & weep  :cheers: :cheers:

6.45 hours?  :cup:

« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2014, 05:56:45 PM »
watch the first 10 mins and last 10 mins and miss nothing..

6+ of the most boring hours of just watching cars go in circles, with basically no passing on the track - all happens in the pits (lets call it pit racing) or actual racing for 98% of the whole farce...

« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2014, 06:07:28 PM »
watch the first 10 mins and last 10 mins and miss nothing..

6+ of the most boring hours of just watching cars go in circles, with basically no passing on the track - all happens in the pits (lets call it pit racing) or actual racing for 98% of the whole farce...

This one is just for you mate.  :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=39800.0

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2014, 06:25:21 PM »
Going to set up a TV in the garage so I can keep an eye on the race while tinkering
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline steptoey

« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2014, 07:12:47 PM »
I'm from Bathurst but prefer to watch in front of the TV. I'm not a racing fan but I can honestly say nothing compares to the mount. When you have 1000k's to do as fast as you can with elevation and sometimes 4 seasons during the race while changing strategies to suit the conditions makes for a great event. I've attached a link that some of you may have seen of Darrell Waltrip's lap in the passenger seat, this bloke is a nascar great and can't believe the ride, have a look.

Waltrip's Ride Of A Lifetime

« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2014, 07:21:48 PM »
Going to set up a TV in the garage so I can keep an eye on the race while tinkering

Yep that's what I will do on Saturday.

« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2014, 07:23:43 PM »
6.45 hours?  :cup:

Well there could have been stops for  :cheers: & to take pics  & enjoy the view , Then lunch  :cheers: :cheers:

« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2014, 07:34:04 PM »
So lets run a book
When will Skippy jump onto the track , which lap  ???
Will ford complete the race  >:D
How many car can go into Hell Corner door to door at once on the 1st few laps  8) ??? >:D
Just how fast can you go down Conrod before you have to hit the picks  ;D 8) ??? >:D
How many cans will be consumed before l/somebody wake up on the floor on Monday arvo  :cup: :angel: :cheers:
How many mirrors & tail gate skins will have to be replaced after the Ute race  :-[ :'( >:D ???
                                           Gentlemen Start Your Engines

« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2014, 07:38:55 PM »
Will ford complete the race  >:D

Short memory Jamie??

« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2014, 07:42:08 PM »
Short memory Jamie??

Don't come the funny with me ,,,,,,,,,,,,,Hellow , haven't seen you for cant remember when , would you like a  :cheers:

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2014, 08:11:39 PM »
I reckon Lowdnes and Steven Richards are going to be a strong combo.

Only problem is that whinge-cup always gets the preferential treatment in the team.

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft

Offline 2impulsiv

« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2014, 08:14:28 PM »
Best day of the year! And the one day I can get out of bed and crack a can without getting in trouble. Gotta love live TV and living in WA!!

Go Lowndes!!

2012 GIC Extreme Off-Road Camping Trailer. Here!
2014 GXL Prado. Here!

« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2014, 08:25:14 PM »
& no matter how p155ed you get there wont be a Booze Bus between your chair & bed . All Good .
                     Then Summer starts , the season of Hot days & Cold Cans  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers:

« Reply #20 on: October 09, 2014, 08:26:49 PM »
& no matter how p155ed you get there wont be a Booze Bus between your chair & bed . All Good .
                     Then Summer starts , the season of Hot days & Cold Cans  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers:

:cup: :cup:

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2014, 08:31:02 PM »
I'll be watching happily from home. Can't discount the red bull cars, but it's a long race and it only takes one thing to go wrong to ruin the whole day. I think the Volvo of macglauclin and premat will be in with a shot for a podium if all goes right for them

« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2014, 08:33:03 PM »
Anyone other than a 888 car for the win. Enough's enough!

Two things are guaranteed this weekend.  Lowndes will "just want to say hi to Levi and Chilli" during every of his 50 TV interviews and Whincup will answer every interviewers question starting with "Hey yeah you know"...

Reynold's steals Lowndes Thunder - Hi Levi and Chilli....

« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2014, 08:36:46 PM »
Hey yeah you what I think you could be right mate. My thoughts are Courtney/murphy, or Dave renoylds. Can't discount either of the BJR cars. I think the Volvo will have something fail, I hope not but have a feeling.  There my thoughts anyway, see what happens.

Just like to say hi to Levi and chilli at home.  :cheers:

Offline 58fc chev

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2014, 09:50:09 PM »
I'm an old school Murphy fan so here's hoping he can win another. I think he has a good chance with Courtney.
I'm rostered on to work this weekend which sucks, but have to take the good with the bad. Won't be to far from a tv though and there's always the replay on speed tv during the week.

I to would also like to say hi to Levi and Chilli  ;D