Author Topic: A painfull arvo on sat  (Read 12799 times)

Re: A painfull arvo on sat
« Reply #25 on: March 07, 2016, 05:58:51 PM »
Enjoy those endones for a little while but ween yourself off them asap........they are so addictive..........I liked them with a glass of red wine myself.

« Reply #26 on: March 07, 2016, 05:59:52 PM »
If you are right handed, the worst part is trying to teach your left hand ...  how to wipe your ass   ;D
Was thinking the same thing...broke my right wrist in 2 places at work many years ago, wiping your arse, trying to zip up jeans, and even going to the bank trying to sign a cheque were all major jobs doing it left handed.
Hope the healing up goes ok Theo  :cheers:
« Last Edit: March 07, 2016, 06:01:48 PM by Rumpig »

Offline Pog

• Insert personal text here...
« Reply #27 on: March 07, 2016, 06:05:48 PM »
Yep... Sorry to hear. Lucky you were able to ride out of the area.

I have had to make the same sort of ride 3 times (slow learner... ).

1st was a left shoulder (Torn AC joint) about 10km from home.
2nd was snapped medial ligament in right knee about 90km from home.
3rd was a badly torn right Hamstring about 30km from home.

The worst part about all bike related injuries is having to listen to the Mrs harp on about it.... We get it... We are idiots... We really don't need to be reminded about it every 1/2 hour!

And good luck with wiping your arse with your non-preferred hand for the 1st few times. Baby wipes are useful at this time.

Good luck with your recovery.
2013 Toyota Prado Altitude & Challenge Outback Deluxe Offroad Camper Trailer.
MY PRADO BUILD

scrapsD40

« Reply #28 on: March 07, 2016, 06:08:53 PM »

Chicks dig scars...
:)
not from self emasculation tho, or so I've heard
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #29 on: March 07, 2016, 06:09:08 PM »
...... Yep i deleted what i wrote. :)

Hope you get better

« Reply #30 on: March 07, 2016, 06:19:45 PM »
Theo, Theo, Theo.  Mate it was only a matter of time  :D. But the mark of a true offroad motorcyclist is how long before you are back on the beast.  If it is more than 4 weeks, you will forever be known as "sidesaddle"  ;D ;D ;D

Question, did you go down and still hold onto the handlebars?  If you did it was only an "incident", if you let go, it was an "accident"  ;D ;D

Get better soon mate.  And I hope the pain subsides soon.

« Reply #31 on: March 07, 2016, 06:36:47 PM »
Ouch get well soon.
A long time ago a mate and I rode from Tibooburra across to Innaminka. A day trip out to the Dig Tree saw me come a gutsa at around 50km/h. Two days later we were in Lyndhurst and went to the flying doctor clinic as I was in pain still. Three fractured ribs was the call. Still had to ride to Birdsville then back around to Innaminka and back to the car at Tibooburra with a 25kg back pack. Every time I rolled over in bed or pulled myself up by the bars to stand on the pegs reminded me of my little off.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #32 on: March 07, 2016, 06:54:15 PM »
About to have dinner and then hit the endone train so i can sleep through the night. only got 20 pills no repeats so only using at night, after 10 nights things should have settled down I hope.

Dr reckons physio straight up is the go provided the pain is doable.. I told him i made pain my friend and he laughed. but bloody hell every 2 mins in emergency they wanted to dose me up I refused whilst in hospital as i wanted to know how it felt.

On that a massive shout out to the people who run this country and those who staff our medical facilities, I have not one single complaint about how the cabooulture hospital and today the redcliffe hospital treated me, sure there were some long waits but to be given such a level of care from trained professionals at no cost (besides my tax) is exceptional.

So if you work in the medical system a big shout out to you, thats everyone right down to volunteers who help you find your way around  :cup: :cup:  I feel a little wrong to have used up so much of the systems time and money on what is really my hobby, trying to limit costs and being as respectful as i could to each and every person within the system was the only way i could try to feel ok with it.

we really do live in the lucky country  :cup: :cup:

Jet ;D ;D       
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #33 on: March 07, 2016, 07:22:24 PM »
Mate, the street druggies crush the Endone up and use it as a suppository.  They reckon it works quicker.  You should give it a go  ;D ;D ;D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #34 on: March 07, 2016, 07:32:58 PM »
Mate, the street druggies crush the Endone up and use it as a suppository.  They reckon it works quicker.  You should give it a go  ;D ;D ;D

i cant get it in KB..was i suppose to take em out the packet first 
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #35 on: March 07, 2016, 08:03:45 PM »
You do good work mate, I hope you recover quickly and well.   We've all been down that road  :-\  , hope the wife is treating you well, she might even be able to help clean the bike up once it's home  ;D

Johnno

« Reply #36 on: March 07, 2016, 08:06:19 PM »
All part of the fun Jet. Speedy recovery.

Good that you were riding with some mates..... :cup:

« Reply #37 on: March 07, 2016, 08:13:52 PM »
Quote from: Fathom
Chicks dig scars...
I win ;D

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #38 on: March 07, 2016, 08:31:16 PM »
Mate, glad to hear you are still alive, but in a little pain. Brooms head would not have been as bad as the fall. You may have woken up with a headache. :)

« Reply #39 on: March 07, 2016, 10:35:20 PM »
That sucks big time, hopefully you are fully recovered for your big trip!!!! Very lucky boy to come out of relatively unscathed......

I can't stand the thought of riding a dirt bike for this very reason. I love the thought of speed and adrenaline but the thought and high risk of injury really scares the hell out of me. My missus is a nurse in emergency and often sees the results of bike stacks - unfortunately it is a major cause of para/quadriplegia.

Rode a little bit when I was younger, never stacked it but it didn't do anything for me. Each to there own though, my mates love the dirt bikes and luckily have had only minor stacks too!!!!

« Reply #40 on: March 08, 2016, 04:32:42 AM »
My missus is a nurse in emergency and often sees the results of bike stacks - unfortunately it is a major cause of para/quadriplegia.

Rode a little bit when I was younger, never stacked it but it didn't do anything for me. Each to there own though, my mates love the dirt bikes and luckily have had only minor stacks too!!!!

Many many moons ago, at Stockton beach one Easter, there was a boys weekend on the bikes. My mate went jumping off the top of a sand dune, he didn't check what was on the other side. Well it was a huge drop off, he literally rode off a cliff. Anyway, when he hit the ground he was still on the bike. The bike was wedged into the ground/sand upright where it landed, and his back became a big shock apsorber. Helicopter ride out and about 12 weeks at John hunter in Newcastle learning to walk again. Spent about 9 months after this in a full back/body brace to hold him up. Very very lucky to have walked ever again. I never rode a bike after.

« Reply #41 on: March 08, 2016, 06:30:54 AM »
Jet all the best to recovery mate. When you can do what you can to improve your shoulder(s) post physio (exercise, weights etc) unfortunately shoulder injuries never go away fully I've found.

« Reply #42 on: March 08, 2016, 07:34:19 AM »
Jet, best wishes for a speedy recovery & hope things come good quickly.

When you can do what you can to improve your shoulder(s) post physio (exercise, weights etc) unfortunately shoulder injuries never go away fully I've found.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with Jimmy, though.

Busted my wrist in a work accident coming on 2 years ago - surgery to fix the actual physical damage then in a cast for 3 months - come out of the cast & develop frozen shoulder. Now 18 months after surgery & permanent impairment in wrist & still can't lift my arm above shoulder / head height  >:(

Thankfully my left arm so can still do things right-handed.

Good luck with it all!

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #43 on: March 08, 2016, 08:15:16 AM »
Not good bud,
a few years ago I put my humerus through my scapula. I know the feeling all too well of trying to put your arm back in its socket. Although I may have taken the idiot train a little too far and tried to put it back in by using a tree  :'(

Hope you pull through soon mate, and the soft tissue damage isn't bad. My bones healed pretty well but I still struggle with all the muscles and tendons etc that I tore.
On the upside should be a few weeks of not having to clean the floor, cook dinner etc etc  >:D Get well soon mate  ;D

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #44 on: March 08, 2016, 09:08:10 AM »

I will send over the nurse to help you take your mind off the pain  :cheers:

Offline raider

« Reply #45 on: March 08, 2016, 09:10:01 AM »
Hope everything goes well with your recovery. The only thing I would add is to make sure you follow any physio regimes to the letter. I stacked about 2 years ago and my bicep tendon cut through my sub-scapularis ( something like that anyway)which required surgery and obviously recovery time. I was given stretching exercises post op and did them but not as often and probably not as strictly as I should have. When I started physio my shoulder didn't have the stretch and there was talk of another op to clear scar tissue which luckily i avoided - but only just . I was given the same advice after the fact which wasn't helpful. Also watch the weight as you're on your arse for a while.
i have recovered pretty good and it only gets sore after gym work but i serve a tennis ball like a girl ( no offence ladies ) but it should get better. Not so keen on the caravan park tennis challenges much anymore  ;D  Only ridden the bike ( XR600 )twice since,  even though I have income protection but ended up over 10K out of pocket after surgery and physio. Ouch.

PS . They reckon Endone gives you constipation - you work out what pain is the worst. Mine are still in the cupboard  ;D   Good Luck
Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

« Reply #46 on: March 08, 2016, 09:18:13 AM »
Aaah, motorcycles!
Hope all goes well. As mentioned, stick to the physio even though you think they're Masochists.
I did my right A.C. pretty badly 14 months ago with an horizontal dive into a Boab (don't ask) & it still isn't too flash so, nothing silly too early.
As for one handed activities, what about...............................................................Dot Painting !

Offline GUEY

« Reply #47 on: March 08, 2016, 10:03:21 AM »
+5 on the learning to wipe left handed. Burnt the top of my hand pretty badly many moons ago that required it to be all bandaged up. I think I had two attempts left handed before giving up and finding a plastic bag to cover the bandages.
I'm not ambidextrous  :'(

Hope you have a speedy recovery  :cheers:
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline hempo

« Reply #48 on: March 08, 2016, 10:47:40 AM »
Bloody hell - glad you are okay.  All the best with the recovery.
2016 Holden Colorado LS Cab Chassis with 2011 Jimboomba Condamine Camper Trailer

« Reply #49 on: March 08, 2016, 10:49:59 AM »

I will send over the nurse to help you take your mind off the pain  :cheers:

I've got a sore leg :D