Author Topic: Trap top campers  (Read 4702 times)

Offline dnielsen

Trap top campers
« on: August 20, 2014, 08:49:51 AM »
Morning All
We are looking at changing our camping set up. Currently we have an off-road camper trailer and dual cab 4WD, but now the kids are leaving home we are looking at options for down sizing. Our preferred option is a trap top camper (otherwise known as slide on campers or tray toppers) fitted to a single or king cab 4WD. They don't appear to be very common and options are limited.
My questions are:
1. Has anyone had any experience (good or bad) with this type of camper
2. Can anyone recommend a manufacturer(s) preferably in southern NSW or Victoria
Many thanks in advance
Daz

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
Re: Trap top campers
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 08:55:41 AM »
Millard Caravans ... ?

Heres the link: http://www.millardrv.com.au/slide-ons.aspx

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 10:42:11 AM »
Heaslip
Trayon
Eagle

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2014, 10:49:29 AM »
Watch your weight over and behind the rear axel with these things. Extra cab utes have an extended tray on a standard chassis which will allow a tray topper to fit but there is a lot of weight over and behind the rear axel = BAD
And choose your tow vehicle carefully, some utes are not all they are cracked upto be even though the manufactures will say otherwise.
If I went down this path I'd only use a patrol or cruiser ute as a minimum.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2014, 10:57:55 AM »
I've had a look at most.
I would choose candy Canvas.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZ6u1M_xGqU

UIZ733

« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2014, 11:31:24 AM »
Met a couple recently with one of these; http://www.campertrailers.org/northstar1.jpg
It was on a 5cyl Ford Ranger, was well finished and looked very comfortable. Owner told me he had to have a GVM upgrade to the the Ranger to make it legal.

« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2014, 12:09:04 PM »
If your handy on the tools or have a mate that will work for beer, these light weight low roof set ups can work out ok . realy depends on what your needs / wants and budget are .
Loading / unloading etc can be a pain, and stabillity on the free standing support legs can vary .. either that or you have to pack up camp each time  to go sight see if you dont take the unit off .
« Last Edit: August 20, 2014, 12:16:36 PM by edz »

« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2014, 12:48:36 PM »
Quote from: dnielsen
and dual cab 4WD
From that point on there's no way I'd put one on a modern banana dualcab..

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #9 on: August 20, 2014, 01:49:11 PM »
This mob do them. They are in Kyabram.

http://www.jeffsshed.net.au/site/slide-on-campers.html

I have seen these at some of the camping shows in Victoria. They look good, and well setup. But for what they are I personally think they are a bit pricey.

I had wondered if the best setup for me and SWMBO might be an extra cab with a slide on "tradies toolbox" type setup with the bells and whistles and a roof top tent on the top, and a foxwing awning. But we are fairly well setup now and have no plans on changing.

Good luck with the search. Hope to hear what you have come up with.

SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #10 on: August 20, 2014, 03:02:47 PM »
From that point on there's no way I'd put one on a modern banana dualcab..

I do agree with you but the original post does say "Our preferred option is a trap top camper (otherwise known as slide on campers or tray toppers) fitted to a single or king cab 4WD. They don't appear to be very common and options are limited."

So I think has that bit sorted. 

Although I have never heard of them being called a trap top camper, maybe a tray top camper.

Offline dnielsen

« Reply #11 on: August 20, 2014, 05:57:59 PM »
Many thanks for all the responses and please excuse the spelling.  I did mean "Tray" top not "Trap" top

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2014, 12:19:12 AM »
Outback campers are local to me and I have checked the campers out on more than one occasion.
They are really well made and I would recommend them based on quality.
I have no idea on the prices or how they stack up in comparison to other brands though.

They are a help full bunch there though, so I would suggest giving them a call if they happen to fall in your short list.

Evo
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline maverick01

« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2014, 06:16:53 AM »
Have you considered Active campers. A mate has 1 on his GU and loves it. There not the cheapest but the build quality is second to none.

Active campers are based in northern NSW
If you never go, you'll never know

« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2014, 08:06:31 AM »
These are a great setup, but as it's been mentioned be very careful about how much weight you stick behind the rear axles; there are plenty of utes with bent chassis!

I would recommend getting legs on it that can be jacked down so you can unload the tray and leave camp. It is frustrating otherwise to have to pack everything up just to duck around the corner for a few hours!

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2014, 09:31:31 AM »
I have thought about one of these with a RTT type of set up. This mob seem to be pretty flexible with the setup options and easy to take off. 

http://www.jackoff.com.au/Lift-Off-Campers.php

As mentioned above, if it was me, I would only put them on a Landcruiser/Patrol ute. The weight will get up there no matter what once you start to add water/batteries/gear. IMHO the mid size utes are really only good for around 500-600kgs MAX on the tray for long term travel.

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft