Author Topic: A not so merry Xmas  (Read 3378 times)

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
A not so merry Xmas
« on: December 26, 2013, 11:13:25 AM »
To all the Myswaggers out and about please drive careful. The day before Xmas my cousin was involved in a fatal head on. He was on his way to Mildura to have chrissie with his inlaws and they had a head on with a 4x4. He and his son were flown to the Alfred in Melbourne , his wife and daughter were taken by road to Mildura hospital. Hie 22 year old daughter and the lady in the 4by were killed. We were talking about the accident at chrissie lunch and my niece told us her bosses wife was the lady killed in the 4x4. So please have a safe holiday , but take that little bit more care on our roads. ???

Re: A not so merry Xmas
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2013, 11:28:06 AM »
Timely message for all, a sad event at any time.

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2013, 02:31:21 PM »
l don't trust anybody on the roads these days . l will take the Bush gate rather than have a prang .
 l was on the GV Hwy coming home from Seymour & was passed by a little blue car going the other way , no big deal .
EXCEPT l was traveling on a divided  dedicated 2 lane road . Some old chook had miss the turn & travelled South on the North bound . Keyed the UHF & Local Pod rounded her up 3 km down the road . All good this time at least  8) :cup:

Offline phatassphairy

• BarraBarts better half
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2013, 05:20:34 PM »
Dingo sorry for your loss and sadness in your family. It sure is heartbreaking at anytime. i will take on your reminder.
have you ever noticed, that whenever you run into a spiderweb, you turn into a ninja?!

Offline treads

« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2013, 11:40:09 AM »
Yes Dingo, I read about that one at work. one of my squadmates attended the prang  :'(

What a terribly sad event. Please accept my condolences to your family.
2013 MY14 Pajero GLX-R | ARB Deluxe Bar with LF XGT HID's, 144w CREE Lightbar, Towpack, TJM Dual Battery Tray, Traxide USI-160, Alinco DR620 UHF/VHF |

2012 MY12 Triton GLX | ARB Deluxe Bar with Brush bar/side step combo and IPF Spotties, Steel Tray, Towpack, Safari Snorkel, GME 80ch UHF |

Offline Dingo0163

• The original Aussie mongrel
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2013, 05:47:41 PM »
Just a quick thanks for the posts. The main reason I put it up was to remind people how quick things can go wrong. You can be the best driver in Aus. It won't help if the driver coming towards / overtaking you hasn't got a clue what they are doing. I'm not saying any of this happened in this case ,but it does make you think. Enjoy your holidays , and stay safe. 

Offline heath74

« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2013, 06:23:03 PM »
Very sad mate, so sorry for all involved. The consequences spread far and wide. At the same time, I'm about to head of for Merimbula in the morning, so this is a timely reminder for me to take it easy, thanks for posting.

Offline Brij

« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2013, 09:06:09 PM »
Condolences to you and your family Dingo.

I didn't want to steal your thread so I posted my own here - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=34321.0

Peter
NX Pajero
NJ Pajero (semi retired  to firewood harvesting duties)
Home made camper

« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2013, 09:10:56 PM »
I had 2 heroes this evening in utes carrying mountain bikes overtake me on double lines in an 80 section coming down from Buller. One almost had a head on with a car towing a ski boat going the other way, all for getting to your destination a couple of minutes quicker...

« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2013, 09:41:55 PM »
Sorry to hear mate. My condolences.

Offline shakey55

« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2013, 05:36:21 AM »
Sad story.

Makes us all step back and check ourselves.

Safe driving to all

'shakey'

« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2013, 06:02:27 AM »
Oh man, that sucks. Timely message.

« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2013, 06:28:36 AM »
l don't trust anybody on the roads these days . l will take the Bush gate rather than have a prang .
 l was on the GV Hwy coming home from Seymour & was passed by a little blue car going the other way , no big deal .
EXCEPT l was traveling on a divided  dedicated 2 lane road . Some old chook had miss the turn & travelled South on the North bound . Keyed the UHF & Local Pod rounded her up 3 km down the road . All good this time at least  8) :cup:

Did it again this time in a gold Falcon , same deal  >:D