Author Topic: What is the toughest (off road) track you have been on !!!  (Read 26662 times)

Re: What is the toughest (off road) track you have been on !!!
« Reply #50 on: February 25, 2012, 04:03:45 PM »
Thanks to overuse, there are parts of the Watagans that would test out a few tuff truck competitors..

I may not go extreme 4 wding, but mud is one place I try and avoid....give  me a steep hill and dust anyday  !!

Just as long as the steep hill isn't Blug Rag, eh Greig ;D ;D  sorry mate :-*

« Reply #51 on: February 25, 2012, 04:10:16 PM »
Looks like fun  :D Which one was yours D4?

It is fun, until you have to clean it. The black gq shorty was my old 4wd.

« Reply #52 on: February 25, 2012, 04:43:07 PM »
Probably the CREB towing North to south the days after it opened due to rain. Most fun I've ever had. But a close second would be when Frostd and us did the wenlock when the main track was blocked and had to use a by pass. 8 hours with winches and ever other piece of recover gear know to man made it for one hell of adventure . Was the best recovery with a  mate I ever done - EPIC

« Reply #53 on: February 25, 2012, 05:17:50 PM »
Well for me...the toughest track would have to be Blue Rag......the last 100M..........I had to get out and walk that last 100M.....but the 4wd did it easily, thanks to another driver.....

At least you are honest Greig :cup:

Oh, forgot to mention.....I'm sh#t scared of heights ......and my mind just wouldn't let me do that last 100M..... ;D

Offline gclan

• Misadventure 4wd
« Reply #54 on: February 25, 2012, 05:20:53 PM »
The Watagans, Sugarloaf, and Wallaroo areas are our local tracks, and they provide plenty of challenges. Around Lithgow has some great play areas too, with some stunning scenery around Newnes. We're not hardcore, but we have lots of fun, get ourselves into some sticky situations, and have been able to get to some amazing places (namely the Mitchell Plateau in the Kimberley) all because we have a 4wd. I don't think the guys enjoy the days as much though when we haven't had any recoveries  ;D

Looking forward to the Old Tele Track, Frenchman's Track, and conditions permitting, the CREB and Maytown-Laura Old Coach Road this year. Can't wait.

Some of our exploits (ignore the hardcore and extreme titles, they're just DH exaggerating, he's in Advertising):
http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore/videos
« Last Edit: February 27, 2012, 06:38:40 AM by gclan »
Django - 2009 Land Rover Defender 110 SVX
Marvin - Land Rover Discovery 4
Black Betty - 2007 Range Rover Sport
Bamm Bamm - 2009 Mountain Trail Extended Expedition

Misadventure 4WD http://www.youtube.com/user/JamieOGilmore
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Misadventure-4WD-TV/243025632464631

« Reply #55 on: February 25, 2012, 05:53:22 PM »
Just as long as the steep hill isn't Blug Rag, eh Greig ;D ;D  sorry mate :-*

Mt Pinnabar...no worries.... ;D
 ;D ;D
Blue Rag.......???????????

Funny as you get older  ( for me anyway ) I tend to not  worry about " macho "  stereotype stuff...

I'm more worried about my beer being cold.... ;D ;D

« Reply #56 on: February 25, 2012, 08:01:51 PM »
My toughest track would have to be coming down the last downhill section of Billy Goat Bluff track without any engine power. ??? Couple of spots a tad hairy ;D ;D
Copper wire to fuel pump had broken inside casing, took 2 days to find the fault.

« Reply #57 on: February 25, 2012, 08:41:41 PM »
I think might be my next adventure  8) I have talked about it for long enough! I was only thinking about it this morning whilst out mountain biking!

Let me know when Rich, If I can free up the time I'll be there!!!

Offline TOY80ST

• The Camper trailer Whisperer
« Reply #58 on: February 26, 2012, 04:21:27 PM »
Seeing D4D's pics reminds me of a saying I heard years ago "4wding in the mud is like a dirty woman. For 5 minutes of fun you get a lifetime of pain.
I hvae tlruobe wtih selplnig and dxsyliea. NOW I'TS YUOR TRUN!

« Reply #59 on: February 26, 2012, 04:32:15 PM »
Seeing D4D's pics reminds me of a saying I heard years ago "4wding in the mud is like a dirty woman. For 5 minutes of fun you get a lifetime of pain.

Yup, I did my clutch here

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #60 on: February 26, 2012, 09:17:53 PM »
not sure if it's been mentioned before but the blue water forestry track is one of the hardest tracks I've done.

troy

you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #61 on: February 26, 2012, 09:29:59 PM »
The fabled and eched in offroad folk law Wirraba Ridge Off old Putty Road. And came out near Dunnns Swamp.

every rig bar one sustained some type of damage.

One complete Rollover and I ended up on my side in my old 4runner.

did this with the guys from Out of Town 4wd and he Terace 4WD club in the 90's.

Cheers, Chris

Another couple from that era were Porters Road, technical but could get ugly if you got it wrong, and Freds Hill, on the Yengo side of Putty Rd north of Colo had a couple of spots where sill damage was unavoidable.
Both are now closed

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #62 on: February 27, 2012, 10:26:56 PM »
And some roads north, east and south of it as well.

Cunningham Hwy is quite ordinary at the moment between Aratula and The Gap, i came back from The Springs on Sunday morning and was dodging large potholes left right and centre. the amount of water they had out that way over the weekend must have been substantial, the paddocks were covered in floodwater.

Offline gonfishen

« Reply #63 on: February 28, 2012, 08:49:55 AM »
Number 1 THE WIDOW MAKER coming out of the Wonnangatta now closed due to the deaths from rollovers, Number 2 Noonday in the Otways very steep no traction, has a sign at the bottom (Watchout for falling 4 wheeldrives)
« Last Edit: February 28, 2012, 08:52:41 AM by gonfishen »
There is no problem that cannot be solved by the use of high explosives.

Offline vk2ss55

« Reply #64 on: February 28, 2012, 04:02:51 PM »
I reckon the Wonnangatta river in the Vic High Country with it's 21 crossings was pretty tough . It was made worse going back up the super steep track out of the valley and getting 2 x flat tyres with damaged side walls .

Offline Fivid

« Reply #65 on: February 28, 2012, 06:13:50 PM »
Hardest 4WDing I have ever done was in Tassie. We worked our way down the west coast starting at Arthur River, didn't get to Sandy Cape as the tide was coming in and we found quicksand so we did Balfour track, both tracks in / out of Montezuma Falls, Pieman Heads and Climies Track to Trial Harbour which had a difficult spot where the bypass around where the Granite Ck bridge used to be (took me more than a couple of attempts and some coaching from others in our group to get up the other side), went down to Remine I think where there was a big whale skull and an interesting little museum but then found a track that I can't remember the name of which went to Cumberland Lake.  There are some huge washouts on that track, as wide and deep as a Patrol...  That was hard!

I have found though that weather conditions play a huge part, what is easy today can be a huge challenge with rain added, this is probably true with most tracks but very much so in the high country where conditions are so changeable and tracks are often steep with huge drops to at least one side.  Experience and confidence in both yourself and your vehicle also plays a massive part.  What I used to think was really hard / extreme when we first started 4wding I now find quite easy as I have learnt how to pick a line and know that the vehicle is capable.  I don't necessarily go looking for double black diamond tracks though, I just enjoy the drive and being out in the bush, the harder tracks are just a bit of a bonus along the way...  Personally I think a lot of the "double black diamond" tracks are rated as such to get people to stay on tracks that are pretty safe and really not all that hard instead of them heading off and looking for tracks that actually are really hard.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

« Reply #66 on: February 28, 2012, 07:08:37 PM »
Twodays ago drove up the Oodnadatta Track and camped at Coward Springs then it rained about two inches overnight.  Tried to leave next morning but the cruiser and CT was sinking about 100mm into the Track with 18psi in the car and trailer.  After 2 klm had to call it quits and wait...............after 6 hours of sun and cloud set off for Marree and finally got through after flood way crossings mud and more mud.  Had to go through several 1metre crossings,,,,thanks for the lift and sorkel.  At one time south of Maree 6 semies were lined up waiting for a creek to go down and after I went through it they decided to give it a go   WTF some people just dont know their rigs capability.
When I washed all the mud off I started to build another country!!!!!

Offline dirtpilot

« Reply #67 on: February 28, 2012, 08:46:06 PM »
Deddick Trail in eastern vic.

Offline ozbogwam

What is the toughest (off road) track you have been on !!!
« Reply #68 on: February 28, 2012, 10:30:58 PM »
Clearwater trk in the Otways which is now closed.

Started at 9am Saturday didn't get out til 4am Monday. At one stage I had 4 Sierras strapped to the back of mine as I pulled them up a muddy track to finally reach bitumen

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #69 on: February 29, 2012, 09:00:03 AM »
I used to drive Porters Rd in Sydney every weekend, it was fun. Some may know it, it got dozed in 2003 or something.

Not my car, the only image I could find - you get the idea, man I busted some junk on that track!

Image removed due to hosted on a site suspected of having malware - Cheers Brett
« Last Edit: March 01, 2012, 01:58:10 AM by Brett »

Offline Al Coholic

« Reply #70 on: February 29, 2012, 06:11:11 PM »
The toughest (low range) track i have driven would easily be Gee's Arm South/Wheeny Creek   8)
It takes about 7-8hrs to get 5 or 6 vehicles the 6km's out to the lookout and back.

the toughest track i have towed a camper along was actually the silver city highway  :o  We left Tibooburra under grey skies, locals and the signs said the road was open........same story at packsaddle, so we continued on our way.
A few mm's of rain further down south turned the last 50 odd k's of clay based road into an ice skating rink..........kinda fun when you look in the mirror and the trailer is 90 degrees to where your truck is pointing  ;D  Kinda scary at the same time though..........
2009 Mitsubishi Triton 3.2L & 2011 Jayco Swan Outback