Author Topic: A Good Bakery / A good Pie  (Read 45548 times)

Re: A Good Bakery / A good Pie
« Reply #75 on: May 05, 2011, 07:31:02 PM »
A bit surprised no one who travels the Pacific Goat track has mentioned Freddo pies at Fredrickton. Always busy anytime we have been there, not bad either. :cheers:

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #76 on: May 05, 2011, 07:33:39 PM »
We went to Braidwood just on spec one morning on the way through from the bay. Very nice.
Fredo's pies at (funnily enough) Frederickton I reckon are greatly over rated.

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
« Reply #77 on: May 05, 2011, 07:47:09 PM »
tassie has the best pies i have had in a long time
scallop curry . chicken and camembert
« Last Edit: May 05, 2011, 08:02:13 PM by barneys »

Offline eldo

• Wollongong
« Reply #78 on: May 05, 2011, 07:54:39 PM »
my cousin used to bake at freddo pies, they have also won awards, would i recomend it..... nope. last time i stopped the pies were crap and the service worse, also full of moron bacpacker tourists.....

Offline Chippy76

• :D
« Reply #79 on: May 06, 2011, 12:17:06 PM »
I think Yatala pies are highly over rated too  ......

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #80 on: May 06, 2011, 01:33:40 PM »
G'day Spargo,
That shop in Roma wouldn't be bakaroma would it?

I don't think so eh. I recall that one, but Mrs S had the little one while I cut laps and just ducked into one on the corner. It was a bakery / cafe setup, but sold takeaway too. Again, they were pretty good.

Offline johno65

« Reply #81 on: May 06, 2011, 05:30:08 PM »
i agree with Bullfrog Freddo Pies at Fredrickton are great particularly the seafood mornay with a ice coffee for breakfast  8)
johno 65
2010 200 series landcruiser 2006 campomatic ranger XTC

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #82 on: May 06, 2011, 10:56:57 PM »
This thread has been a pretty interesting read for me.

I don't know how many times I have to say it, but I work in a bakery. We make pies.

From that perspective I find it interesting to see others opinions on pies they have tried and tested.

Seriously, I'm taking all of this on board and am reporting back to my boss, who in his own opinion and also of many others, bakes a darn good pie.

However, a true artist knows that there is always room for improvement!

Those of you who believe you have had the best pie ever from Yatala, well, you should probably try a few elsewhere as written about in this thread first. I have sampled their chicken pie and I believe it was sub par. Certainly not even close to our own secret chicken pie formula. The Yatala chicken pie was a bit weird to me but I guess whatever floats your boat. Our chicken pies are based on a creamy filling not a clear fat filling as the Yatala ones are, which is pretty horrid.

Then there are some claims in this thread of "simply the best" or "the best evar" pies and whilst probably valid in the pie testers eyes, not quite all that helpful as others of us believe we have tried the best pies elsewhere.

So, having said that, perhaps a leaf out of the Pie Smiths Guild should be in order and you should rate the pies that have been tried out of 10. I believe that the pie smiths that I know of used to rate pastry and filling and come to the score out of 10.

In regards to pastry, the bottom pie pastry should be different to the top pastry. It is a well known pie bakers creed that the top pastry should be of the flaky light pastry type and the bottom pastry should be of the shortcrust style. Again, I stress, that this comes from my knowledge of working in a bakery, reading bakery industry information and having to deal with bakers! So, if you're having a truly awesome pie, let us know what the pastry is like. Some people base their pie experience on how good the pastry is.

For those who base their pie experience on the filling, well, again, according to pie bakers, the filling should be not too runny, certainly have plenty of meat, not have any evidence of the pie base mix that they all use (yes, they do, there is not one bakery that doesn't! Just ask Bakels!) If you like a pie with chunks or mince, this shouldn't make one better over the other as I believe that in this regard there are definitely acceptable standards for both types and neither should be judged against the other. Rather, judge mince against mince and chunky against chunky. Once mince or chunky is determined, decide if the filling is tasty enough for your tastes, if it is firm enough that it doesn't fall out of your pie all over your good Myswag shirt and contributes to the all over experience that a pie is.  ;D

So, I'll be keen to see if any of you take this on board as there is a serious industry pie maker watching keenly in the background and will be taking the customer feed back to the bakery and ensuring that all that is good goes into a well made hand crafted Aussie pie.  ;)

If you're not sure if I'm taking the p*** or not...you'd better PM me... ;D

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

« Reply #83 on: May 06, 2011, 11:15:10 PM »
No Duchess, your not taking the p1ss, I know that. I reckon the trick is almost to get the pastry as shorts as possible, hard to do I reckon, not for some it seems with all these great pies. I hated Pastry in my training and marvelled at what a baker could do. I preferred to do butchery (Knifes, cleavers and chop, chop grunt). You guys are so much more patient. I loved watching the guys make Filo while I was the Sous Chef on Norfolk,

I reckon you guys rock. Not as good as a good steak though  ;D but pretty dam good  :cheers:

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #84 on: May 07, 2011, 12:15:20 AM »
 I'll back up Chippy about Steele's in Warwick.  I don't know the name of the place in Glen Innes, but it's just off the main street, easy to find 'cause within an hour of lunch the line up goes out the door and into the main street.  Don't be put off by this, they push 'em through quick, and have a menu of  what looked to be around 100 types up on the board.( Maybe not but it took up the back wall).
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #85 on: May 07, 2011, 07:04:38 PM »
Ivans Pies at Braeside here in Melbourne are always a good feed

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #86 on: May 07, 2011, 07:37:13 PM »
Robertson pie shop - Illawarra Hwy and Jamberoo Mtn Rd
Name Unknown Hume Hwy Holbrook LHS heading south

Have yet to have a decent pie in South Africa
« Last Edit: May 07, 2011, 07:45:27 PM by rescue1 »

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #87 on: May 24, 2011, 05:23:57 PM »
I remembered this thread after having a steak & mushroom pie last week at Yatla Pies in Beenlea Qld  :cup:

Was the best I've ever tasted, so good I went back on the return trip for another one  :cheers:

« Reply #88 on: May 24, 2011, 08:30:28 PM »
Always loved a pie from the Avoca bakery they have a large range and have won awards but I love the chicken mango pie at my local bakery in white hiills just before Epsom heading towards Echuca from bendigo Richardson bakery  :cup:

« Reply #89 on: May 24, 2011, 08:31:46 PM »
You can buy a good pie here

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #90 on: May 25, 2011, 11:27:57 AM »
Mainy ,that just goes to show that your a phillistine when it comes to pies , Yatla hasnt made a really good pie like they used to ever since Capt Anna said it was a Qld icon ,  once Anna gives it rap you just know its going to go to the dogs , LOL.

« Reply #91 on: May 25, 2011, 11:48:20 AM »

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #92 on: May 25, 2011, 05:50:16 PM »
Mainy ,that just goes to show that your a phillistine when it comes to pies , Yatla hasnt made a really good pie like they used to ever since Capt Anna said it was a Qld icon ,  once Anna gives it rap you just know its going to go to the dogs , LOL.

Thanks for that, I'm glad we cleared it up  :-*

« Reply #93 on: May 25, 2011, 06:00:30 PM »
It may have been mentioned earlier in this thread but what is the name of the pie shop in a north coast NSW town that is on the north side of said town on the left in a 50 or 60km/h zone. This place hasn't been bypassed yet by the Pacific Highway upgrade and has a billboard advertising it. Looks to have a big range of flavours. I keep meaning to stop on our travels but never get around to it.

Offline Estelle

• New members of the leisure club
« Reply #94 on: May 25, 2011, 06:08:10 PM »
Frederickton?   just north of Kempsey.

Could have sworn that was a Mrs Macs shop yonks ago.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 06:19:06 PM by Estelle »
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

« Reply #95 on: May 25, 2011, 06:39:12 PM »
Our home town bakery in Lyndoch (Barossa Valley) is a great German style bakery :cup:

Offline pepiman

« Reply #96 on: May 25, 2011, 07:09:47 PM »
I love the pies at the Asian Bakery Hawker Canberra. Great pastry , great taste. Tried Yatala  pies , all right. Best pie I had was in Tassie on a boat going up the Gordon river. A scallop pie. Great.

« Reply #97 on: May 25, 2011, 07:37:11 PM »
Frederickton?   just north of Kempsey.

Could have sworn that was a Mrs Macs shop yonks ago.

Could be it.
Just remembered is there a crocodile in the name or logo??????

Offline JNR

« Reply #98 on: May 25, 2011, 10:50:48 PM »
Elliston bakery .I always hang out for their spag bol pie.mmmmmm
GQ 4.2 DIESEL ST WAGON WITH A FEW GOODIES.

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #99 on: May 26, 2011, 05:09:26 PM »
no idea who makes them but travelling through Rockhampton the pie van had pretty handy pies