Author Topic: A Good Bakery / A good Pie  (Read 45552 times)

Offline Johnno convert

Re: A Good Bakery / A good Pie
« Reply #50 on: April 30, 2011, 08:07:51 PM »
I can see it now, bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,
bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,
bakery,pub,bakery,pub,Home detox heart surgery lipo suction jenny craig and recovery ;D ;D
« Last Edit: April 30, 2011, 08:09:37 PM by Johnno convert »

Offline morgue

« Reply #51 on: April 30, 2011, 09:27:21 PM »
There is a couple up our way on the Nrth Coast...pie shop in Yamba's main drag, not bad, the pie shop at Mclean's River street..not bad, the famous pie cart in Lismore...good, for the queenslanders amongst us...Yatla Pies...good.

But for me...Uncle Peters Pies in Deniiliquin, when I was growning up...ahhhhh....the memories.

Offline Flemo

« Reply #52 on: May 01, 2011, 07:49:18 AM »
Another long time favourite is Uncle Toms at the Mullumbimby T/O also an honorable mention to Red Neds at Nelson Bay,Hanks at Grafton, funny how you remember all the good pies that you get, and where they were,   ;D ;D ;D
cheers Andy
Uncle toms x2. Only just discovered they are still open, apparently the same pie maker for the last 30+ years and for the sweet tooth apricot pie with fresh cream!

Hanks kitchen grafton also excellent and 1min from the office, has made me add 10kg from eating there mon to fri tho :'(

Brooks bakery in Yamba used to be a running joke about how bad they were but these days they are damn good, curry pie and a coffee milk after a surf is a weekend staple of mine.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2011, 07:53:00 AM by Flemo »

Offline eldo

• Wollongong
« Reply #53 on: May 01, 2011, 07:56:49 AM »
robertson country bakehouse (the one in the main street not the one out of town) and southern rise bakery in moss vale both owned by the same guy.
I live not far from robertson, this pie shop has a pepper pie it's capsicum based and it is awesome , as for the famous Robbo pie shop, don't bother as it is so overated. Ok so some good pie shops.
Braidwood is excellent, sundance at jindabyne also excellent, on the south side of Milton at the lights there is a little cafe that has wicked rosemary and lamb pies as well as heaps of other pies.

Offline rossbarb

« Reply #54 on: May 01, 2011, 08:58:55 AM »
Here is one that you most probably would miss if you didn't know it was there. If you do the road between casino and Tenterfield there is a small town called Mallanganee and there is a small shop not the main one but a little old one that doesn't even have an electronic cashregister but a pushbuttton one. The old lady who owns the shop about 80 makes fresh pies daily herself . They are fantastic!!! It is worth to go into the shop she still has videos for rent and other old things.
Barb
n

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #55 on: May 01, 2011, 09:19:42 AM »
Slightly off subject but, Aramac bakery had a magic baker making pies that were brilliant [could it be that using duck eggs for the pastry makes a difference] ,thing is he has now closed up shop and the Barcaldine Regional Council has the bakery up for lease , Any good Bakers out there wanting a tree change to a small town in gods own country ?

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #56 on: May 01, 2011, 01:31:57 PM »
Here is one that you most probably would miss if you didn't know it was there. If you do the road between casino and Tenterfield there is a small town called Mallanganee and there is a small shop not the main one but a little old one that doesn't even have an electronic cashregister but a pushbuttton one. The old lady who owns the shop about 80 makes fresh pies daily herself . They are fantastic!!! It is worth to go into the shop she still has videos for rent and other old things.
Barb
n
Gee will have to give that one a go. Not too far from lovely down town Tabulam

Offline gruesome

• Don't follow me I'm LOST
« Reply #57 on: May 01, 2011, 08:26:47 PM »
Barb
n
I've gone through there for years in the truck and didn't even know about it, have to try one next time I'm out that way, thanks rossbarb,
cheers Andy
2001 Prado OME coils and springs, bfg 265/75/16, UHF, Warn 9000lb winch
dual batteries, snorkel, draw  system, TJM bar, hella lights
Complete Campsite trailer

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #58 on: May 01, 2011, 11:46:12 PM »
I must give my vote to the bakery in Mudgee, we stop in there every time we pass through. they are so far the best ive ever tasted  :cup:

« Reply #59 on: May 02, 2011, 02:45:09 AM »
Meldrums Bakery in Grafton St Cairns City........ yummo

Offline Fivid

« Reply #60 on: May 02, 2011, 02:19:41 PM »
The Howlong Bakery does some great pies.  Have to admit that SWMBO works there (no she didn't tell me to write this) and the owners are in our 4wd club (and they didn't ask me to write it either) but honestly, they have won many awards and the pies are great. 

Another place I have had great pies from is at Katamatite, central Vic.  Actually not sure whether the pies are great or whether I was just so hungry each time I bought lunch there that anything would have tasted great...  They certainly weren't bad anyway.

http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline garbage

« Reply #61 on: May 02, 2011, 03:48:27 PM »
The pie shop on the Princes Highway at the bottom of the hill in Milton NSW has fabulous pies.  The name escapes me but it has "rainbow" in it.  If heading down from Sydney, there's a roadside sign for the pie shop saying to turn right at the lights in about 100kms.  We always have a chuckle when we see that sign!

Offline cranky

• Live the Dream
« Reply #62 on: May 02, 2011, 04:08:20 PM »
Hayden's Pies for me, Princes Hwy Ulladulla.

Offline ldsparrow

• www.1yearoff.com.au
« Reply #63 on: May 02, 2011, 08:15:18 PM »
Dinkum Pies in Block Place in the Melbourne CBD. They have been there forever and havent changed a thing.
Blog: www.1yearoff.com.au

Offline dallp

« Reply #64 on: May 03, 2011, 08:15:38 PM »
Have always maintained the test of a good pie is if you can eat them cold.

Tried,true and tested, the "chunky" from the pie shop at Oonoonba on the way to Morrisey's for a crabbing weekend Friday arvo.

Buy a couple extra and you can eat them straight out of the esky for Saturday lunch
and/or reheat in the camp oven Saturday night.

Oh, and grab a "pig in a blanket" to eat off the dashboard on the way down  ;D ;D.

YO DADDY!!!

Offline eldo

• Wollongong
« Reply #65 on: May 03, 2011, 08:36:36 PM »
The pie shop on the Princes Highway at the bottom of the hill in Milton NSW has fabulous pies.  The name escapes me but it has "rainbow" in it.  If heading down from Sydney, there's a roadside sign for the pie shop saying to turn right at the lights in about 100kms.  We always have a chuckle when we see that sign!
this is the same place i was talking about....rosemary lamb is great

« Reply #66 on: May 04, 2011, 10:14:11 AM »
Some counter weight for the Westies:

bakery in Denmark WA: winning gold and silver every year.
bakery in Lancelin WA.

Offline Pipeliner

• I'm too old to rough it!
« Reply #67 on: May 04, 2011, 10:27:35 AM »
Beefy's Pies at the Ettamogah  ah yes beefys pies drool

Another vote for Beefy.  Stop at the Ettamogah/Aussie World area if travelling north, but they also have an outlet at the Wild Horse Lookout service area for south bound travellers.
Camping is great as long as the mattress is inner spring!

Offline Jason 70

« Reply #68 on: May 04, 2011, 10:53:13 AM »
Yatala pies are very hard to beat

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #69 on: May 04, 2011, 03:35:07 PM »
I reckon the Yatala Meat Pies are very over-rated, and over-priced. BUT, their fruit/dessert pies are magic to buy on the way somewhere, and just drop in the camp-oven with a minimum of coals and its warmed up in no time on a cool night out bush.

Got a great pie in the main street of Roma last week on the way back from Carnarvon NP - can't recall the shop, Sausage Rolls were great too. I had half of one of the pies the next day and it well and truly passed the 'cold' taste test mentioned earlier... The bakery on the main drag on the eastern side of Chinchilla do good pies also. Sausage Rolls pretty ordinary there though.

I've been told the Fernvale Bakery is still a cracker and likely top dog in SE Qld. Haven't been there in years and on that occaision was half-cut on a hungover morning so don't recall much except that I had one..

Phelens Pies in Ayr, Nth Qld, used to be king up that way. Not even sure if they're still open. Not far away Crowdies bakery is also a great bakery, not soi much for pies though.

Offline listo

« Reply #70 on: May 04, 2011, 06:19:59 PM »
A few that i've encountered around are the Pinnacle Pub Pies, a bit expensive i thought at first, but taste beautiful and one pie is enough. The shell servo at Miriamvale, crab pies... I can't go through there without stopping.
A small mention for Wal out at Cunnamulla Bakery, sad looking pies, only has one flavour but jeez they're a nice pie. My old man was a baker and he rated them pretty high, he may as well have lived on them when he used to come out for visits.
And one more for dad, he loves the corned beef and white sauce pies from Biloela
Listo

Offline Lex

« Reply #71 on: May 04, 2011, 07:39:31 PM »
Hank's kitchen- Grafton. good old chunky steak & pepper with peas x2, will keep ya going til lunch time. then a Cheese & Bacon Shepards or a Curry Pie. Good tucker  :cup:
PS.. there's a bakery out Wee Waa that don't do a bad job either. :cheers:

Hanks do a GREAT chunky pie there is no doubt about that!

But when you are hungry and have been living rough for a week or so any pie is great...Cobar bakery is like that. They taste great when you are desperate and not so great when you're not.

Hanks pies are always nice.
Up the Rabbitohs

Offline danielhobby

« Reply #72 on: May 04, 2011, 08:37:06 PM »
simply the best pies are found at molly mae's in heathcote,
The sights,...the smells,...the companionship,...the thrill of the steep downhill,when I'm old I'll have it all

Offline McAbouts

« Reply #73 on: May 04, 2011, 10:46:49 PM »
Braidwood Bakery is delicious for pies. Always very popular as people pass through on their way to the coast. If we can plan our trip to the coast via Braidwood we will go out of our way to do so. MMMM feel like one now really.

Louise ;D
2002 Prado
2010 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

Offline listo

« Reply #74 on: May 05, 2011, 07:20:58 PM »
G'day Spargo,
That shop in Roma wouldn't be bakaroma would it?