Author Topic: A Good Bakery / A good Pie  (Read 45553 times)

stretch7702000

Re: A Good Bakery / A good Pie
« Reply #25 on: April 30, 2011, 01:46:35 AM »
Copley bakery 5k's out of leigh creek on the way to lyndehurst.

« Reply #26 on: April 30, 2011, 06:54:33 AM »
Put down your glasses  Keiths Pies  Burnley st Richmond . Pies & Pasties . To die for  :cup:
The Pepered steak  AAArrrrrrrrrrrr 8)

« Reply #27 on: April 30, 2011, 07:16:23 AM »
What does or say about me that I seem to know so many of those places mentioned. 

I don't mind a gourmet pie, but tend to go the plain pie most times. It's like singing acoustically; if you can get that right the augmented performances will be that much better.

« Reply #28 on: April 30, 2011, 07:37:45 AM »
Meh...all of these places mentioned are but pale and certainly no where near the awesomeness that is the Wee Waa Bakery and the best chicken pie ever! Along with the awesome "Rescue Pie", a pie of that consisted of slow cooked beef in an Italian style sauce with tomato, garlic and red wine and a mashed sweet potato topping with a parmesan cheese garnish...

Also, a kind of distant second would be Oatley Village Pies and if you haven't had their beef burgandy or even their mango chicken pie, then you have definitely not got any idea about pies.

My husband was a founding member of the Piesmiths Guild. They would rate their pies out of a score of 10 and took their pie ratings very seriously. Don't google them...you won't find them on the internet... ;D

My husband was a founding member of the Piesmiths Guild. They would rate their pies out of a score of 10 and took their pie ratings very seriously. Don't google them...you won't find them on the internet..

I've heard of them, very secret. There the ones where you out your finger in the pie and  :o

Offline flamingo

« Reply #29 on: April 30, 2011, 07:39:02 AM »
  Bourkies in Woodend!  Great pies , pasties best snot blok's in Vic..  Phil  :cheers:
Go Tigers!
2005 Navara
2011 Jayco Flamingo

Offline John N (sa)

« Reply #30 on: April 30, 2011, 08:16:38 AM »
Another vote for Birdsville and Copley (had a Copley pie and Pasty yesterday). Also a vote for the Stone Hut bakery in the Southern Flinders.

« Reply #31 on: April 30, 2011, 09:39:08 AM »
Someone start getting them down as waypoints and we can then work on, The Great Aussie Pie Run.. ;D

« Reply #32 on: April 30, 2011, 09:47:12 AM »
Someone start getting them down as waypoints and we can then work on, The Great Aussie Pie Run.. ;D

« Reply #33 on: April 30, 2011, 10:03:59 AM »
Copley bakery 5k's out of leigh creek on the way to lyndehurst.

X2 :cup:

Offline envee

• Retired !! grey nomading.
« Reply #34 on: April 30, 2011, 11:01:12 AM »
Braidwood bakery, about half way between Canberra and Batemans Bay.
'14 Disco SE  '15 Complete Campsite Exodus 14

https://destinationpotatopoint.blogspot.com/

Offline tonyw

• Tonys Travel Blogs
« Reply #35 on: April 30, 2011, 11:18:33 AM »
Triabunna bakery on the east coast of tassie, THE best peppered stake pies.

Was there a few weeks ago and the pies are very nice, i had a hearty beef and the wife had the scallop pie yum yum. We found lots of nice bakerys in Tassy, another was in Hamilton, there's also some cheap camping down b the river.

Another gooden is the bakery in Castlemaine Vic.

Offline Rowanb

« Reply #36 on: April 30, 2011, 12:11:44 PM »
Are yes all good places, but this reminds me of a time quite a few years ago when my brother and me were buddig MX racers travelling all over QLD. We were coming back from an event out west QLD and we were flat broke and just hoping we had enough fuel to get home let alone buy something to eat. When I went looking for a music cassette (who remembers them? BTW no not an 8 track) when I found a left over pie from Fridays drive to the racers under the seat. Cold and rather crusty still in the typical, in those days, brown paper bag, we shared it and I tell you to this day that gristly scrapes swept from the floor maggot bag was the best pie I have ever eaten lol.
Funny how not having eaten and exerting heaps of energy changes your perception on dietry requirements.  ;D

Had to eat Guinea pigs on exercise one year but this is probably not the best forum to metion small furry animals on a dinner plate lol.
Row and Shaz.
Hubby and Wife team

« Reply #37 on: April 30, 2011, 12:54:46 PM »
Hi Rowanb
Guinea pigs never hurt millons of south americans  lol
cheers sheeds

Offline Blinky Bill

• 2013 Pajero auto diesel & 2000 Kimberley Kamper
« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2011, 01:04:21 PM »
Anyone know how to get gooey saliva out of a keyboard?  >:(

As a captive carnivore in a vegetarian environment....I reckon this is the cruelest of subjects ever!!!  :'(

However allow me to add my 5c worth. If you're ever in Cooma try Kuma Pies. Delicious tasting vegie pies & nice coffee too with good seating out of the cold.  :D

AND may I just add that the meat pie with chunky pieces and runny gravey that I saw getting devoured by some uncaring carnivore at the next table..............sure looked mighty good.  ;D

I love my bakeries - Wayne
Reminds me of my safari in Africa. Somebody forgot the corkscrew and for several days we had to live on nothing but food and water.
W. C. Fields (1880 - 1946)

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2011, 01:36:47 PM »
Hi Rowanb
Guinea pigs never hurt millons of south americans  lol
cheers sheeds
taste like chicken lol. Guinea pig pies anyone? Maybe in a nice satay sauce

« Reply #40 on: April 30, 2011, 03:54:57 PM »
Another vote for the curried camel from Birdsville. Also honurable mention to the bakery at Eurong on Fraser. Had a nice meat pie there 2 weeks ago.
Also it has been a while but the meat pies from the bakery at Kurri Kurri are great too.

« Reply #41 on: April 30, 2011, 04:57:42 PM »
I know its commercial one but the Four and Twenty legendary Angus with sauce aint bad, just need a packet of Quick eze with it   :P

Offline Johnno convert

« Reply #42 on: April 30, 2011, 05:19:59 PM »
The best pies albeit gourmet ones were from a little pie shop in Frenchs Forest in Sydney. One pie was a meal. They had mornays and all kinds of things and man they were good. I think it is shut now after all that was around 20 years ago! Bloody hell I am getting old!

Offline gruesome

• Don't follow me I'm LOST
« Reply #43 on: April 30, 2011, 05:37:25 PM »
Another long time favourite is Uncle Toms at the Mullumbimby T/O also an honorable mention to Red Neds at Nelson Bay,Hanks at Grafton, funny how you remember all the good pies that you get, and where they were,   ;D ;D ;D
cheers Andy
2001 Prado OME coils and springs, bfg 265/75/16, UHF, Warn 9000lb winch
dual batteries, snorkel, draw  system, TJM bar, hella lights
Complete Campsite trailer

« Reply #44 on: April 30, 2011, 05:52:29 PM »

If this ever turns into a real trip I am sooooo going to be there!

« Reply #45 on: April 30, 2011, 05:56:26 PM »
Another vote for the curried camel from Birdsville. Also honurable mention to the bakery at Eurong on Fraser. Had a nice meat pie there 2 weeks ago.
Also it has been a while but the meat pies from the bakery at Kurri Kurri are great too.
Also honurable mention to the bakery at Eurong on Fraser

Yea, I'll pay that. Very similar to the Broome pies I mentioned...

Offline Jon

• Bringing rain to every campsite
« Reply #46 on: April 30, 2011, 06:01:03 PM »
Participants should apply now for your complementary defibrillator while stocks last.

Or you can just create a public nuisance and get the Police to do the zapping for you.
I got a sweater for Xmas, really wanted a moaner or screamer.

Offline colp63

« Reply #47 on: April 30, 2011, 06:07:30 PM »
robertson country bakehouse (the one in the main street not the one out of town) and southern rise bakery in moss vale both owned by the same guy.

« Reply #48 on: April 30, 2011, 06:44:18 PM »

Might have to install some HD suspension before you go ;D

« Reply #49 on: April 30, 2011, 07:19:27 PM »
I'm a big fan of the Lancelin and Rottnest Island Bakery in WA