General => General Discussion => Topic started by: gunna on April 29, 2011, 08:36:22 PM

Title: A Good Bakery / A good Pie
Post by: gunna on April 29, 2011, 08:36:22 PM
There is nothing better then a great Pie at a great bakery
Tell us about your favourites
A couple of ows   
 Birdsville Bakery -  Camel Pies
Parker Pies @ Rutherglen  They sell  Emu , Crocodile & Roo
Cheers sheeds
Title: Re: A Good Bakery / A good Pie
Post by: Malcur on April 29, 2011, 08:39:26 PM
Red Neds at Nelson Bay. We always come back with a selection when we visit (as we did last weekend).

Mal
Post by: Manjimike on April 29, 2011, 08:39:49 PM
Beechworth bakery used to be awesome
Post by: D4D on April 29, 2011, 08:43:14 PM
Marysville bakery
Post by: dno on April 29, 2011, 08:44:19 PM
Scottsdale Tassie great pies.
Post by: Chippy76 on April 29, 2011, 08:46:23 PM
Steeles Bakery Warwick QLD (Fitzroy st)

Cheers (the slightly expanding) Chippy :D
Post by: Jon on April 29, 2011, 08:49:32 PM
Pie in the Sky at Berowra on the northern outskirts of Sydney. A very popular stop for Bikers on the old road.
Le Tartlett in the Entrance on the Central coast.
Post by: SteveandViv on April 29, 2011, 08:50:39 PM
Birdsville are good but the Oasis Bakery in Broome. Best good old Mince Pies I've ever had
Post by: hutchie62 on April 29, 2011, 08:56:37 PM
Nagambie bakery  :cup:
Post by: gibbo301 on April 29, 2011, 09:13:31 PM
Being a connoisseur of meat pies i am writing all these places down  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: WogsRus on April 29, 2011, 09:14:58 PM
Triabunna bakery on the east coast of tassie, THE best peppered stake pies.
Post by: GOLDIE on April 29, 2011, 09:25:34 PM
Not sure of the name but had a great pie on Victoria Road next to PJ's at Drummoyne. B E A U tiful...
Post by: HerGU on April 29, 2011, 09:34:38 PM
Beefy's Pies at the Ettamogah Pub complex on the Bruce Hwy QLD.

Oh how i could go a good pie from there! They were our treat on the way back from Brisbane (which was only about once or twice a year).

Haven't found one that even gets close here in WA.
Post by: gibbo301 on April 29, 2011, 09:38:36 PM
Beefy's Pies at the Ettamogah  ah yes beefys pies drool
Post by: gibbo301 on April 29, 2011, 09:41:32 PM
Bulli Butchers near the Gong nice pies
Post by: GU Rich on April 29, 2011, 09:55:56 PM
Gladyesdale Bakery Yarra Junction VIC. I had a Beer pie from there recently mmmm Beer.
Post by: gunna on April 29, 2011, 09:59:27 PM
What we need is someone that can string a few words together
and write a book on  all these great bakery's around ow great country
I got the Australian Bush Pubs book  
Could do a trip combinning the two
Pies & Beers    
Heaven
cheers sheeds
Post by: SteveandViv on April 29, 2011, 10:02:33 PM
Your not wrong. What a top idea...... :cup:

Hey but can I add. How bad are we after a few weeks in the bush. Mrs Macs seems good after that. I know, I know. Don't shoot the messenger  ;D
Post by: Johnno convert on April 29, 2011, 10:05:14 PM
Sundance bakery in Jindabyne. Nice chunky beef pies as well as other varieties.
Post by: bobnrob on April 29, 2011, 10:07:57 PM
Mrs Mac...sorry, thought you asked *worse  >:D

Robertson pie shop - Illawarra Hwy and Jamberoo Mtn Rd
Mylott's Bakery, Moruya - unfortunately been shut for a few yrs now ;(

And they gotta have chunky meat :D
Post by: SteveandViv on April 29, 2011, 10:40:11 PM
Mrs Mac...sorry, thought you asked *worse  >:D

Mylott's Bakery, Moruya - unfortunately been shut for a few yrs now ;(

And they gotta have chunky meat :D

Go out to a community for a while and see how you go. Anything in plastic is a plus  8)
Post by: RedProw on April 29, 2011, 10:56:11 PM
Henry's bakery in Wodonga have the best pies I have ever tasted.
Post by: bullfrog on April 29, 2011, 11:09:14 PM
Hank's kitchen- Grafton. good old chunky steak & pepper with peas x2, will keep ya going til lunch time. then a Cheese & Bacon Shepards or a Curry Pie. Good tucker  :cup:
PS.. there's a bakery out Wee Waa that don't do a bad job either. :cheers:
Post by: Duchess on April 29, 2011, 11:12:25 PM
Meh...all of these places mentioned are but pale and certainly no where near the awesomeness that is the Wee Waa Bakery and the best chicken pie ever! Along with the awesome "Rescue Pie", a pie of that consisted of slow cooked beef in an Italian style sauce with tomato, garlic and red wine and a mashed sweet potato topping with a parmesan cheese garnish...

Also, a kind of distant second would be Oatley Village Pies and if you haven't had their beef burgandy or even their mango chicken pie, then you have definitely not got any idea about pies.

My husband was a founding member of the Piesmiths Guild. They would rate their pies out of a score of 10 and took their pie ratings very seriously. Don't google them...you won't find them on the internet... ;D
Post by: Tim - Stratford on April 30, 2011, 01:34:43 AM
Swifts Creek Bakery in East Gippsland, Vic, used to do a mean spag bol pie.
Post by: stretch7702000 on April 30, 2011, 01:46:35 AM
Copley bakery 5k's out of leigh creek on the way to lyndehurst.

Post by: speewa158 on April 30, 2011, 06:54:33 AM
Put down your glasses  Keiths Pies  Burnley st Richmond . Pies & Pasties . To die for  :cup:
The Pepered steak  AAArrrrrrrrrrrr 8)
Post by: BigJules on April 30, 2011, 07:16:23 AM
What does or say about me that I seem to know so many of those places mentioned. 

I don't mind a gourmet pie, but tend to go the plain pie most times. It's like singing acoustically; if you can get that right the augmented performances will be that much better.
Post by: SteveandViv on April 30, 2011, 07:37:45 AM
Meh...all of these places mentioned are but pale and certainly no where near the awesomeness that is the Wee Waa Bakery and the best chicken pie ever! Along with the awesome "Rescue Pie", a pie of that consisted of slow cooked beef in an Italian style sauce with tomato, garlic and red wine and a mashed sweet potato topping with a parmesan cheese garnish...

Also, a kind of distant second would be Oatley Village Pies and if you haven't had their beef burgandy or even their mango chicken pie, then you have definitely not got any idea about pies.

My husband was a founding member of the Piesmiths Guild. They would rate their pies out of a score of 10 and took their pie ratings very seriously. Don't google them...you won't find them on the internet... ;D

My husband was a founding member of the Piesmiths Guild. They would rate their pies out of a score of 10 and took their pie ratings very seriously. Don't google them...you won't find them on the internet..

I've heard of them, very secret. There the ones where you out your finger in the pie and  :o
Post by: flamingo on April 30, 2011, 07:39:02 AM
  Bourkies in Woodend!  Great pies , pasties best snot blok's in Vic..  Phil  :cheers:
Post by: John N (sa) on April 30, 2011, 08:16:38 AM
Another vote for Birdsville and Copley (had a Copley pie and Pasty yesterday). Also a vote for the Stone Hut bakery in the Southern Flinders.
Post by: dno on April 30, 2011, 09:39:08 AM
Someone start getting them down as waypoints and we can then work on, The Great Aussie Pie Run.. ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on April 30, 2011, 09:47:12 AM
Someone start getting them down as waypoints and we can then work on, The Great Aussie Pie Run.. ;D
Post by: Heiny on April 30, 2011, 10:03:59 AM
Copley bakery 5k's out of leigh creek on the way to lyndehurst.

X2 :cup:
Post by: envee on April 30, 2011, 11:01:12 AM
Braidwood bakery, about half way between Canberra and Batemans Bay.
Post by: tonyw on April 30, 2011, 11:18:33 AM
Triabunna bakery on the east coast of tassie, THE best peppered stake pies.

Was there a few weeks ago and the pies are very nice, i had a hearty beef and the wife had the scallop pie yum yum. We found lots of nice bakerys in Tassy, another was in Hamilton, there's also some cheap camping down b the river.

Another gooden is the bakery in Castlemaine Vic.
Post by: Rowanb on April 30, 2011, 12:11:44 PM
Are yes all good places, but this reminds me of a time quite a few years ago when my brother and me were buddig MX racers travelling all over QLD. We were coming back from an event out west QLD and we were flat broke and just hoping we had enough fuel to get home let alone buy something to eat. When I went looking for a music cassette (who remembers them? BTW no not an 8 track) when I found a left over pie from Fridays drive to the racers under the seat. Cold and rather crusty still in the typical, in those days, brown paper bag, we shared it and I tell you to this day that gristly scrapes swept from the floor maggot bag was the best pie I have ever eaten lol.
Funny how not having eaten and exerting heaps of energy changes your perception on dietry requirements.  ;D

Had to eat Guinea pigs on exercise one year but this is probably not the best forum to metion small furry animals on a dinner plate lol.
Post by: gunna on April 30, 2011, 12:54:46 PM
Hi Rowanb
Guinea pigs never hurt millons of south americans  lol
cheers sheeds
Post by: Blinky Bill on April 30, 2011, 01:04:21 PM
Anyone know how to get gooey saliva out of a keyboard?  >:(

As a captive carnivore in a vegetarian environment....I reckon this is the cruelest of subjects ever!!!  :'(

However allow me to add my 5c worth. If you're ever in Cooma try Kuma Pies. Delicious tasting vegie pies & nice coffee too with good seating out of the cold.  :D

AND may I just add that the meat pie with chunky pieces and runny gravey that I saw getting devoured by some uncaring carnivore at the next table..............sure looked mighty good.  ;D

I love my bakeries - Wayne
Post by: Johnno convert on April 30, 2011, 01:36:47 PM
Hi Rowanb
Guinea pigs never hurt millons of south americans  lol
cheers sheeds
taste like chicken lol. Guinea pig pies anyone? Maybe in a nice satay sauce
Post by: MDS69 on April 30, 2011, 03:54:57 PM
Another vote for the curried camel from Birdsville. Also honurable mention to the bakery at Eurong on Fraser. Had a nice meat pie there 2 weeks ago.
Also it has been a while but the meat pies from the bakery at Kurri Kurri are great too.
Post by: Black Diamond on April 30, 2011, 04:57:42 PM
I know its commercial one but the Four and Twenty legendary Angus with sauce aint bad, just need a packet of Quick eze with it   :P
Post by: Johnno convert on April 30, 2011, 05:19:59 PM
The best pies albeit gourmet ones were from a little pie shop in Frenchs Forest in Sydney. One pie was a meal. They had mornays and all kinds of things and man they were good. I think it is shut now after all that was around 20 years ago! Bloody hell I am getting old!
Post by: gruesome on April 30, 2011, 05:37:25 PM
Another long time favourite is Uncle Toms at the Mullumbimby T/O also an honorable mention to Red Neds at Nelson Bay,Hanks at Grafton, funny how you remember all the good pies that you get, and where they were,   ;D ;D ;D
cheers Andy
Post by: Symon on April 30, 2011, 05:52:29 PM

If this ever turns into a real trip I am sooooo going to be there!
Post by: SteveandViv on April 30, 2011, 05:56:26 PM
Another vote for the curried camel from Birdsville. Also honurable mention to the bakery at Eurong on Fraser. Had a nice meat pie there 2 weeks ago.
Also it has been a while but the meat pies from the bakery at Kurri Kurri are great too.
Also honurable mention to the bakery at Eurong on Fraser

Yea, I'll pay that. Very similar to the Broome pies I mentioned...
Post by: Jon on April 30, 2011, 06:01:03 PM
Participants should apply now for your complementary defibrillator while stocks last.

Or you can just create a public nuisance and get the Police to do the zapping for you.
Post by: colp63 on April 30, 2011, 06:07:30 PM
robertson country bakehouse (the one in the main street not the one out of town) and southern rise bakery in moss vale both owned by the same guy.
Post by: MDS69 on April 30, 2011, 06:44:18 PM

Might have to install some HD suspension before you go ;D
Post by: Aaron Schubert on April 30, 2011, 07:19:27 PM
I'm a big fan of the Lancelin and Rottnest Island Bakery in WA

Post by: Johnno convert on April 30, 2011, 08:07:51 PM
I can see it now, bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,
bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,bakery,pub,
bakery,pub,bakery,pub,Home detox heart surgery lipo suction jenny craig and recovery ;D ;D
Post by: morgue on April 30, 2011, 09:27:21 PM
There is a couple up our way on the Nrth Coast...pie shop in Yamba's main drag, not bad, the pie shop at Mclean's River street..not bad, the famous pie cart in Lismore...good, for the queenslanders amongst us...Yatla Pies...good.

But for me...Uncle Peters Pies in Deniiliquin, when I was growning up...ahhhhh....the memories.

Post by: Flemo on May 01, 2011, 07:49:18 AM
Another long time favourite is Uncle Toms at the Mullumbimby T/O also an honorable mention to Red Neds at Nelson Bay,Hanks at Grafton, funny how you remember all the good pies that you get, and where they were,   ;D ;D ;D
cheers Andy
Uncle toms x2. Only just discovered they are still open, apparently the same pie maker for the last 30+ years and for the sweet tooth apricot pie with fresh cream!

Hanks kitchen grafton also excellent and 1min from the office, has made me add 10kg from eating there mon to fri tho :'(

Brooks bakery in Yamba used to be a running joke about how bad they were but these days they are damn good, curry pie and a coffee milk after a surf is a weekend staple of mine.
Post by: eldo on May 01, 2011, 07:56:49 AM
robertson country bakehouse (the one in the main street not the one out of town) and southern rise bakery in moss vale both owned by the same guy.
I live not far from robertson, this pie shop has a pepper pie it's capsicum based and it is awesome , as for the famous Robbo pie shop, don't bother as it is so overated. Ok so some good pie shops.
Braidwood is excellent, sundance at jindabyne also excellent, on the south side of Milton at the lights there is a little cafe that has wicked rosemary and lamb pies as well as heaps of other pies.
Post by: rossbarb on May 01, 2011, 08:58:55 AM
Here is one that you most probably would miss if you didn't know it was there. If you do the road between casino and Tenterfield there is a small town called Mallanganee and there is a small shop not the main one but a little old one that doesn't even have an electronic cashregister but a pushbuttton one. The old lady who owns the shop about 80 makes fresh pies daily herself . They are fantastic!!! It is worth to go into the shop she still has videos for rent and other old things.
Barb
n
Post by: Alloy C/T on May 01, 2011, 09:19:42 AM
Slightly off subject but, Aramac bakery had a magic baker making pies that were brilliant [could it be that using duck eggs for the pastry makes a difference] ,thing is he has now closed up shop and the Barcaldine Regional Council has the bakery up for lease , Any good Bakers out there wanting a tree change to a small town in gods own country ?
Post by: Johnno convert on May 01, 2011, 01:31:57 PM
Here is one that you most probably would miss if you didn't know it was there. If you do the road between casino and Tenterfield there is a small town called Mallanganee and there is a small shop not the main one but a little old one that doesn't even have an electronic cashregister but a pushbuttton one. The old lady who owns the shop about 80 makes fresh pies daily herself . They are fantastic!!! It is worth to go into the shop she still has videos for rent and other old things.
Barb
n
Gee will have to give that one a go. Not too far from lovely down town Tabulam
Post by: gruesome on May 01, 2011, 08:26:47 PM
Barb
n
I've gone through there for years in the truck and didn't even know about it, have to try one next time I'm out that way, thanks rossbarb,
cheers Andy
Post by: Tracey family on May 01, 2011, 11:46:12 PM
I must give my vote to the bakery in Mudgee, we stop in there every time we pass through. they are so far the best ive ever tasted  :cup:
Post by: Barrabart on May 02, 2011, 02:45:09 AM
Meldrums Bakery in Grafton St Cairns City........ yummo
Post by: Fivid on May 02, 2011, 02:19:41 PM
The Howlong Bakery does some great pies.  Have to admit that SWMBO works there (no she didn't tell me to write this) and the owners are in our 4wd club (and they didn't ask me to write it either) but honestly, they have won many awards and the pies are great. 

Another place I have had great pies from is at Katamatite, central Vic.  Actually not sure whether the pies are great or whether I was just so hungry each time I bought lunch there that anything would have tasted great...  They certainly weren't bad anyway.

Post by: garbage on May 02, 2011, 03:48:27 PM
The pie shop on the Princes Highway at the bottom of the hill in Milton NSW has fabulous pies.  The name escapes me but it has "rainbow" in it.  If heading down from Sydney, there's a roadside sign for the pie shop saying to turn right at the lights in about 100kms.  We always have a chuckle when we see that sign!
Post by: cranky on May 02, 2011, 04:08:20 PM
Hayden's Pies for me, Princes Hwy Ulladulla.
Post by: ldsparrow on May 02, 2011, 08:15:18 PM
Dinkum Pies in Block Place in the Melbourne CBD. They have been there forever and havent changed a thing.
Post by: dallp on May 03, 2011, 08:15:38 PM
Have always maintained the test of a good pie is if you can eat them cold.

Tried,true and tested, the "chunky" from the pie shop at Oonoonba on the way to Morrisey's for a crabbing weekend Friday arvo.

Buy a couple extra and you can eat them straight out of the esky for Saturday lunch
and/or reheat in the camp oven Saturday night.

Oh, and grab a "pig in a blanket" to eat off the dashboard on the way down  ;D ;D.

YO DADDY!!!
Post by: eldo on May 03, 2011, 08:36:36 PM
The pie shop on the Princes Highway at the bottom of the hill in Milton NSW has fabulous pies.  The name escapes me but it has "rainbow" in it.  If heading down from Sydney, there's a roadside sign for the pie shop saying to turn right at the lights in about 100kms.  We always have a chuckle when we see that sign!
this is the same place i was talking about....rosemary lamb is great
Post by: WilSurf on May 04, 2011, 10:14:11 AM
Some counter weight for the Westies:

bakery in Denmark WA: winning gold and silver every year.
bakery in Lancelin WA.
Post by: Pipeliner on May 04, 2011, 10:27:35 AM
Beefy's Pies at the Ettamogah  ah yes beefys pies drool

Another vote for Beefy.  Stop at the Ettamogah/Aussie World area if travelling north, but they also have an outlet at the Wild Horse Lookout service area for south bound travellers.
Post by: Jason 70 on May 04, 2011, 10:53:13 AM
Yatala pies are very hard to beat
Post by: spargo on May 04, 2011, 03:35:07 PM
I reckon the Yatala Meat Pies are very over-rated, and over-priced. BUT, their fruit/dessert pies are magic to buy on the way somewhere, and just drop in the camp-oven with a minimum of coals and its warmed up in no time on a cool night out bush.

Got a great pie in the main street of Roma last week on the way back from Carnarvon NP - can't recall the shop, Sausage Rolls were great too. I had half of one of the pies the next day and it well and truly passed the 'cold' taste test mentioned earlier... The bakery on the main drag on the eastern side of Chinchilla do good pies also. Sausage Rolls pretty ordinary there though.

I've been told the Fernvale Bakery is still a cracker and likely top dog in SE Qld. Haven't been there in years and on that occaision was half-cut on a hungover morning so don't recall much except that I had one..

Phelens Pies in Ayr, Nth Qld, used to be king up that way. Not even sure if they're still open. Not far away Crowdies bakery is also a great bakery, not soi much for pies though.

Post by: listo on May 04, 2011, 06:19:59 PM
A few that i've encountered around are the Pinnacle Pub Pies, a bit expensive i thought at first, but taste beautiful and one pie is enough. The shell servo at Miriamvale, crab pies... I can't go through there without stopping.
A small mention for Wal out at Cunnamulla Bakery, sad looking pies, only has one flavour but jeez they're a nice pie. My old man was a baker and he rated them pretty high, he may as well have lived on them when he used to come out for visits.
And one more for dad, he loves the corned beef and white sauce pies from Biloela
Listo
Post by: Lex on May 04, 2011, 07:39:31 PM
Hank's kitchen- Grafton. good old chunky steak & pepper with peas x2, will keep ya going til lunch time. then a Cheese & Bacon Shepards or a Curry Pie. Good tucker  :cup:
PS.. there's a bakery out Wee Waa that don't do a bad job either. :cheers:

Hanks do a GREAT chunky pie there is no doubt about that!

But when you are hungry and have been living rough for a week or so any pie is great...Cobar bakery is like that. They taste great when you are desperate and not so great when you're not.

Hanks pies are always nice.
Post by: danielhobby on May 04, 2011, 08:37:06 PM
simply the best pies are found at molly mae's in heathcote,
Post by: McAbouts on May 04, 2011, 10:46:49 PM
Braidwood Bakery is delicious for pies. Always very popular as people pass through on their way to the coast. If we can plan our trip to the coast via Braidwood we will go out of our way to do so. MMMM feel like one now really.

Louise ;D
Post by: listo on May 05, 2011, 07:20:58 PM
G'day Spargo,
That shop in Roma wouldn't be bakaroma would it?
Post by: bullfrog on May 05, 2011, 07:31:02 PM
A bit surprised no one who travels the Pacific Goat track has mentioned Freddo pies at Fredrickton. Always busy anytime we have been there, not bad either. :cheers:
Post by: Johnno convert on May 05, 2011, 07:33:39 PM
We went to Braidwood just on spec one morning on the way through from the bay. Very nice.
Fredo's pies at (funnily enough) Frederickton I reckon are greatly over rated.
Post by: barneys on May 05, 2011, 07:47:09 PM
tassie has the best pies i have had in a long time
scallop curry . chicken and camembert
Post by: eldo on May 05, 2011, 07:54:39 PM
my cousin used to bake at freddo pies, they have also won awards, would i recomend it..... nope. last time i stopped the pies were crap and the service worse, also full of moron bacpacker tourists.....
Post by: Chippy76 on May 06, 2011, 12:17:06 PM
I think Yatala pies are highly over rated too  ......

Cheers Chippy :D
Post by: spargo on May 06, 2011, 01:33:40 PM
G'day Spargo,
That shop in Roma wouldn't be bakaroma would it?

I don't think so eh. I recall that one, but Mrs S had the little one while I cut laps and just ducked into one on the corner. It was a bakery / cafe setup, but sold takeaway too. Again, they were pretty good.
Post by: johno65 on May 06, 2011, 05:30:08 PM
i agree with Bullfrog Freddo Pies at Fredrickton are great particularly the seafood mornay with a ice coffee for breakfast  8)
johno 65
Post by: Duchess on May 06, 2011, 10:56:57 PM
This thread has been a pretty interesting read for me.

I don't know how many times I have to say it, but I work in a bakery. We make pies.

From that perspective I find it interesting to see others opinions on pies they have tried and tested.

Seriously, I'm taking all of this on board and am reporting back to my boss, who in his own opinion and also of many others, bakes a darn good pie.

However, a true artist knows that there is always room for improvement!

Those of you who believe you have had the best pie ever from Yatala, well, you should probably try a few elsewhere as written about in this thread first. I have sampled their chicken pie and I believe it was sub par. Certainly not even close to our own secret chicken pie formula. The Yatala chicken pie was a bit weird to me but I guess whatever floats your boat. Our chicken pies are based on a creamy filling not a clear fat filling as the Yatala ones are, which is pretty horrid.

Then there are some claims in this thread of "simply the best" or "the best evar" pies and whilst probably valid in the pie testers eyes, not quite all that helpful as others of us believe we have tried the best pies elsewhere.

So, having said that, perhaps a leaf out of the Pie Smiths Guild should be in order and you should rate the pies that have been tried out of 10. I believe that the pie smiths that I know of used to rate pastry and filling and come to the score out of 10.

In regards to pastry, the bottom pie pastry should be different to the top pastry. It is a well known pie bakers creed that the top pastry should be of the flaky light pastry type and the bottom pastry should be of the shortcrust style. Again, I stress, that this comes from my knowledge of working in a bakery, reading bakery industry information and having to deal with bakers! So, if you're having a truly awesome pie, let us know what the pastry is like. Some people base their pie experience on how good the pastry is.

For those who base their pie experience on the filling, well, again, according to pie bakers, the filling should be not too runny, certainly have plenty of meat, not have any evidence of the pie base mix that they all use (yes, they do, there is not one bakery that doesn't! Just ask Bakels!) If you like a pie with chunks or mince, this shouldn't make one better over the other as I believe that in this regard there are definitely acceptable standards for both types and neither should be judged against the other. Rather, judge mince against mince and chunky against chunky. Once mince or chunky is determined, decide if the filling is tasty enough for your tastes, if it is firm enough that it doesn't fall out of your pie all over your good Myswag shirt and contributes to the all over experience that a pie is.  ;D

So, I'll be keen to see if any of you take this on board as there is a serious industry pie maker watching keenly in the background and will be taking the customer feed back to the bakery and ensuring that all that is good goes into a well made hand crafted Aussie pie.  ;)

If you're not sure if I'm taking the p*** or not...you'd better PM me... ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on May 06, 2011, 11:15:10 PM
No Duchess, your not taking the p1ss, I know that. I reckon the trick is almost to get the pastry as shorts as possible, hard to do I reckon, not for some it seems with all these great pies. I hated Pastry in my training and marvelled at what a baker could do. I preferred to do butchery (Knifes, cleavers and chop, chop grunt). You guys are so much more patient. I loved watching the guys make Filo while I was the Sous Chef on Norfolk,

I reckon you guys rock. Not as good as a good steak though  ;D but pretty dam good  :cheers:
Post by: carinya on May 07, 2011, 12:15:20 AM
 I'll back up Chippy about Steele's in Warwick.  I don't know the name of the place in Glen Innes, but it's just off the main street, easy to find 'cause within an hour of lunch the line up goes out the door and into the main street.  Don't be put off by this, they push 'em through quick, and have a menu of  what looked to be around 100 types up on the board.( Maybe not but it took up the back wall).
Post by: tonyw on May 07, 2011, 07:04:38 PM
Ivans Pies at Braeside here in Melbourne are always a good feed
Post by: rescue1 on May 07, 2011, 07:37:13 PM
Name Unknown Hume Hwy Holbrook LHS heading south

Have yet to have a decent pie in South Africa
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on May 24, 2011, 05:23:57 PM
I remembered this thread after having a steak & mushroom pie last week at Yatla Pies in Beenlea Qld  :cup:

Was the best I've ever tasted, so good I went back on the return trip for another one  :cheers:
Post by: pacs on May 24, 2011, 08:30:28 PM
Always loved a pie from the Avoca bakery they have a large range and have won awards but I love the chicken mango pie at my local bakery in white hiills just before Epsom heading towards Echuca from bendigo Richardson bakery  :cup:
Post by: gunna on May 24, 2011, 08:31:46 PM
You can buy a good pie here
Post by: Alloy C/T on May 25, 2011, 11:27:57 AM
Mainy ,that just goes to show that your a phillistine when it comes to pies , Yatla hasnt made a really good pie like they used to ever since Capt Anna said it was a Qld icon ,  once Anna gives it rap you just know its going to go to the dogs , LOL.
Post by: Bird on May 25, 2011, 11:48:20 AM
Copley bakery
x eleventy
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on May 25, 2011, 05:50:16 PM
Mainy ,that just goes to show that your a phillistine when it comes to pies , Yatla hasnt made a really good pie like they used to ever since Capt Anna said it was a Qld icon ,  once Anna gives it rap you just know its going to go to the dogs , LOL.

Thanks for that, I'm glad we cleared it up  :-*

Post by: MDS69 on May 25, 2011, 06:00:30 PM
It may have been mentioned earlier in this thread but what is the name of the pie shop in a north coast NSW town that is on the north side of said town on the left in a 50 or 60km/h zone. This place hasn't been bypassed yet by the Pacific Highway upgrade and has a billboard advertising it. Looks to have a big range of flavours. I keep meaning to stop on our travels but never get around to it.
Post by: Estelle on May 25, 2011, 06:08:10 PM
Frederickton?   just north of Kempsey.

Could have sworn that was a Mrs Macs shop yonks ago.
Post by: Heiny on May 25, 2011, 06:39:12 PM
Our home town bakery in Lyndoch (Barossa Valley) is a great German style bakery :cup:
Post by: pepiman on May 25, 2011, 07:09:47 PM
I love the pies at the Asian Bakery Hawker Canberra. Great pastry , great taste. Tried Yatala  pies , all right. Best pie I had was in Tassie on a boat going up the Gordon river. A scallop pie. Great.
Post by: MDS69 on May 25, 2011, 07:37:11 PM

Could be it.
Just remembered is there a crocodile in the name or logo??????
Post by: JNR on May 25, 2011, 10:50:48 PM
Elliston bakery .I always hang out for their spag bol pie.mmmmmm
Post by: jaycamrie on May 26, 2011, 05:09:26 PM
no idea who makes them but travelling through Rockhampton the pie van had pretty handy pies
Post by: Johnno convert on May 26, 2011, 07:01:05 PM

Fredo pies, but they are much overrated IMHO. We stopped there a while ago on the way up north and I was under awed by them. They still pack a crowd though.
Post by: morgue on May 26, 2011, 07:43:30 PM
I remember Gillies Pies in Bendigo...nice....
Post by: RachGlenEm on May 29, 2011, 04:02:40 PM
The bakery in Wenty Falls Village. The best pies in the Blue Mt's i'd have to say with out a doubt
Post by: tonyw on May 29, 2011, 04:27:21 PM
Just found these GPS POI's for Best Meat Pies

http://www.poiplaza.com/index.php?p=sdb&d=3855&lstpg=ds&lsts=_LSTS_ (http://www.poiplaza.com/index.php?p=sdb&d=3855&lstpg=ds&lsts=_LSTS_)

Post by: Nomad on June 12, 2011, 09:37:51 AM
Bakery Blue on the river at Noosaville......you dont need the flash Wagyu beef one either just a standard mince is the best i have ever had.................thats it im getting in the car................
Post by: gibbo301 on June 12, 2011, 09:47:12 AM
no idea who makes them but travelling through Rockhampton the pie van had pretty handy pies

Post by: Swogjb on June 12, 2011, 09:58:23 AM
Hudak's Bakery at Mildura, wicked pies.
Also try a bun called a bee sting.... Not real good for the gut but bloody great for the tastebuds.
Post by: dno on June 12, 2011, 10:01:51 AM
Love a good bee sting.. :cup:
Post by: gunna on June 12, 2011, 10:16:28 AM
Yummmm !!!!!!!!!!!
 :cheers: :cheers: sheeds
Post by: Mitch59 on June 12, 2011, 10:22:29 AM
Anna Bay Bakery, makes a great pie just what you need after a day playing on Stockton.
Post by: Mallory Black on June 12, 2011, 06:36:05 PM
Locally the Golden King at Ashgrove (French Vietnamese) their breads are the best. Pies & caakes also awesome. Top butcher right next door too.
On the southside there's a little place next door to the Westpac at Morningside. Jam & cream donuts to die for.
Out town, we always stop at the Blackbutt bakery, they are good too.
I stay away from the Brumbies and Baker's delights, I have no idea why they can't be better but they are just ordinary and not worth it.
So many bakeries, so little time...
Post by: cobber on June 12, 2011, 07:53:34 PM
Geeveston bakery, down south of Hobart. Great pies to fill up on before hitting the Jeffery's track
Post by: Newsman on June 12, 2011, 08:35:49 PM

Probably Cranston's... they make a good one.

David
Post by: gacoxd on November 07, 2011, 10:34:03 PM
Nev Burston's Pie Van

cnr of Griffin Str and Nebo Rd in Mackay.

Nev doesn't run it anymore but it still has the wood fired oven in the back of an old Holden panel van and if you haven't made it there by 12:45 don't bother because they are all gone.

Damo
Post by: gurules on November 08, 2011, 12:33:12 AM
toss up beechworth ned kelly pie my 12 year old son ate 2 or ok pie shop mt gambier there awsome
Post by: Redback on November 08, 2011, 09:17:32 AM
Harry's Cafe De-Wheels in Wooloomoloo.

Deniston East bakery, if you can get one, usually sold out by 7am.

Running Stream Cafe, between Capatee and Ilford on the Castlereigh Hwy

Copley bakery has THE WORST pies I've ever tasted >:D

Post by: bussoboy on November 08, 2011, 09:49:28 AM
don't know the name of the place but the bakery right next door to the pub in Oberon served up a mean beef, bacon & cheese pie over the weekend..........very freindly staff to go with it  :D

another pie that i can't go past is the traditional beef mince pie from the Augusta Bakery - every time i head home it is on the menu

wouldn't call myself a pie expert...............but when it comes to Vanilla Slices - I know my stuff  ;D
Post by: Barry G on November 08, 2011, 10:05:23 AM
How did I miss this thread until now?

x 2 for the Castlemaine bakery (way back on about page 3!)

Likewise Malmsbury bakery - gotta love them who still do Steak and Kidney pies.

Also the Maldon bakery, with its ancient wood fired oven.

(With that selection, anyone would think I used to work in Central Victoria.)

These days my usual lunch is a pie from Banjos Bakery in Geelong.  Love their Scallop pies, when they are baking them.  Also the Maroccan chicken.
Post by: speewa158 on November 08, 2011, 05:47:17 PM
How did I miss this thread until now?

Neeatoads  >:D
Post by: Butsy on November 08, 2011, 07:20:06 PM
Biloela - Bakery not sure of the name - opposit ethe cop shop on Grevillea St. Huge selection of hot and cold. All taste sensational
Post by: Barry G on November 08, 2011, 09:11:15 PM
Neeatoads  >:D
Feck off Jamie, or at least learn to spell!   ;D  

Post by: sol on November 09, 2011, 05:35:07 AM
Tocumwal Bakery,Cardwell Pie Van and Mochas Pies.
Not sure if Mochas Pies are still going in Port Douglas though.
Post by: Redback on November 10, 2011, 05:21:34 PM
The Cafe and Pie Shop in Bredbo at the end of town, on the Monaro Hwy heading to Cooma, excellent Pies.

Post by: whitey on November 10, 2011, 07:44:33 PM
travelling around the N.E Vic area you can't go passed a Parkers Pie at Rutherglen all types and easily the best around much better than Beechworth pies.

Also if there are any Kiwis putting their two bobs worth in, please let me know what the pies are that they sell in the servos on the Sth Island particularly on the west coast region ... they are in a plain old plastic wrapper ( like our four & twenty rubbish ) only about 80c to $1.00 (a couple of years ago) but they are  :cup:THE BEST PIES we have ever had :cup: ... full of chunky, melt in your mouth delicious Lamb pieces and great gravy.... yet go to the bakery or take away places nearby and they were 3 times the price and were only average???
Post by: gunna on November 10, 2011, 07:50:04 PM
travelling around the N.E Vic area you can't go passed a Parkers Pie at Rutherglen all types and easily the best around much better than Beechworth pies.

Parkers pies x 2
Im with whitey on this one very hard to beat
Post by: Flemo on July 29, 2012, 09:42:45 PM
Anyone travelling the PAC hwy north of Grafton drop into my mates new pie shop at tynedale 20 mins north of Grafton, plantation pies. Recommend the corned beef and white sauce pie, bloody good! Or big eaters have a crack at the man v food style pie mountain! Finnish in 45 mins, free t shirt and name on the still blank wall of fame.
Post by: RayMc on July 29, 2012, 11:24:47 PM
Here in WA, the Coral Bay Bakery does a fantastic Chilli Pie ... chunks of chilli, lots of meat and a gravy to keep it all together.  It's always hard to stop at one.
Post by: Bill on July 30, 2012, 09:31:45 AM
Meldrums Bakery in Grafton St Cairns City........ yummo
They are the best I have had...
Bill and Morag
Post by: Pipeliner on July 30, 2012, 11:44:40 AM
In response to Duchess:

I judge a pie on both the quality of the pastry and the taste and quality of the filling, with the pastry slightly more important (there are many different fillings but only one pastry).  The pastry case should be short, but not so short that it breaks and crumbles when you try to eat the pie, and the top should be flakey (but preferably not so flakey that you get little flakes all over your shirt.  The filling should be good quality (nothing worse than finding chunks of gristle in a pie), well cooked, and the gravy should be tasty and just thick enough to ensure it stays inside the case when you eat it.  I don't care whether the filling is chunky or minced as long as it matches what I expect from the menu, and the top may also be potato rather than pastry.

Any pie that needs tomato sauce injected into it to make it eatable has already failed the test, as has any pie where the base of the case is shiny and undercooked (a baker would describe it differently, but you know what I mean).  For factory pies, Beefy's is the best I've found with Vili's second (but from their 24 hour factory cafe in Adelaide, not from a corner store).  I've also had good pies from various country bakeries but haven't ever kept a list of them!  Ones that have disappointed me as not living up to the hype have been Fredos and Yatala.

Post by: Wodewick on July 30, 2012, 12:19:19 PM
For some strange reason I feel like a pie for lunch :D  Rod.
Post by: Marschy on July 30, 2012, 12:37:18 PM
Mannum Bakery, best curry pie I've ever eaten.
Post by: RobM on July 30, 2012, 01:22:25 PM
PHELAN'S - AYR
(couple of outlets in Townsville now too.)

Pies are ok but their pasties (meat)  are to die for.
Had my first in 1961 and still not sick of them.

The pie cart on the foreshore at Cardwell is good too, but you have to be early, he often runs out.
Post by: camperd4d on July 30, 2012, 01:38:39 PM
Orange bakery cafe,just across from aldi,best curry pies ever.
Post by: gunna on July 30, 2012, 01:40:05 PM
We travel the Hume a bit
last wk we called into Marulan
 we like to call into the towns & spend a few dollars to support the locals found a nice little bakery there had a great stout & stk pie
took a couple of coldies home had them with mash spuds , peas & gravey
also Barneys @ bookham just south of Yass on the hume great pies & coffee
Post by: Pipeliner on July 30, 2012, 01:54:14 PM
took a couple of coldies home had them with mash spuds , pees & gravey

:D Oh dear, doesn't sound either appetising or hygenic :laugh:
Post by: Marschy on July 30, 2012, 02:36:40 PM
Hey RobM,

My good lady wife is from Ayr. Question, do all women from that neck of the woods swear like truck drivers, or did I just get lucky.  ;D

Cheers Marshy.
Post by: RobM on July 30, 2012, 03:27:39 PM
Marshy,
I haven't lived there for 40 years (just visit often) and my wife grew up in Townsville so I'm probably not qualified to answer that.  ;D
Post by: gunna on July 30, 2012, 05:03:26 PM
lol good spelling from me lollollolol
Post by: JU5T1N on February 13, 2013, 10:23:31 PM
Very surprised no ones mentioned the Yarck pies.

It's been a while for me but they used to be top notch.

6595 Maroondah Highway YARCK VIC 3719 (2hrs North of Melbourne)
Post by: Paul Mac on February 14, 2013, 09:02:30 AM
It's been a while since I've been home but Bellerive Bakery used to make a magnificent Scallop mournay pie. To any Tasmanians' does the Bellerive Bakery still operate and make them?
Post by: BernieS on February 14, 2013, 01:03:30 PM
Had a great curried scallop and veg pie, somewhere in Tasmania.... can't recall where. It was so good that now I make this type of pie myself. yummm
Post by: spargo on February 14, 2013, 02:00:05 PM
PHELAN'S - AYR
(couple of outlets in Townsville now too.)

Pies are ok but their pasties (meat)  are to die for.
Had my first in 1961 and still not sick of them.

The pie cart on the foreshore at Cardwell is good too, but you have to be early, he often runs out.

Phelans are the king of Pasties.. A variation on a traditional hard party cornish pasty, but they're the best I've had in oz. Am back there next week to double-check and reconfirm opinion. :)

I'm from Ayr. Yes, we're weird.
Post by: champin on February 14, 2013, 03:07:16 PM
 From a bit of a pie connoisseur, you can't beat Yarragon bakery in Vic.
Post by: doc evil on February 15, 2013, 11:50:43 AM
In Victoria a big vote for the Avoca bakery.

WA, toss up between Pinjara Bakery and Bindoon Bakery...........Hmmmm I feel a drive coming up........ :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 15, 2013, 07:32:25 PM
Maaaate, ol Arthur from the TCB bakery does a wicked pie with a nice cheese and bacon topper on it.

Anything with bacon is always a winner........... hmmmm...............bacon..............arrrrrrrghhhh
Post by: kiwipete on February 15, 2013, 09:37:13 PM
Jimmy's Pies Roxburgh NZ    anyone that has had one of these will agree that they are the best pie in the World.   
Post by: JU5T1N on February 15, 2013, 09:42:01 PM
Jimmy's Pies Roxburgh NZ    anyone that has had one of these will agree that they are the best pie in the World.
just wouldn't get their "the X" pie
its a Lamb pie with a cheesy sauce marinade  ;D
Post by: Mallory Black on February 19, 2013, 07:41:32 AM
Blackbutt bakery, next door to Butt-Art
Post by: alnjan on February 19, 2013, 10:06:42 AM
A bit surprised no one who travels the Pacific Goat track has mentioned Freddo pies at Fredrickton. Always busy anytime we have been there, not bad either. :cheers:

Very over rated

Are they still making pies at Lanitza?   best damn pies I have ever had
Post by: crackacoldie on February 19, 2013, 10:27:34 AM
The old Stonehut bakery in the southern Flinders makes a nice pie :cup:

Post by: Slug on February 19, 2013, 12:40:41 PM
In Victoria a big vote for the Avoca bakery.

WA, toss up between Pinjara Bakery and Bindoon Bakery...........Hmmmm I feel a drive coming up........ :cheers:

Avoca used to have two options, the little shop with dozens of flavours and a proper bakery
Cardwell pie van is also a winner, spent a few weekends driving up from Townsville just for a pie, but you can never just have one can you!  I dont even know if the pies are THAT good, its just a top spot, have a pie wandering the beach looking out to Hinchinbrook island!
Post by: doc evil on February 19, 2013, 02:50:13 PM
Avoca used to have two options, the little shop with dozens of flavours and a proper bakery
Cardwell pie van is also a winner, spent a few weekends driving up from Townsville just for a pie, but you can never just have one can you!  I dont even know if the pies are THAT good, its just a top spot, have a pie wandering the beach looking out to Hinchinbrook island!

The one in Avoca was I think (been a few years now) called the Pyrenees pies or something of the like...........
Title: A Good Bakery / A good Pie
Post by: britts on February 19, 2013, 03:32:47 PM
In response to Duchess:

I judge a pie on both the quality of the pastry and the taste and quality of the filling, with the pastry slightly more important (there are many different fillings but only one pastry).  The pastry case should be short, but not so short that it breaks and crumbles when you try to eat the pie, and the top should be flakey (but preferably not so flakey that you get little flakes all over your shirt.  The filling should be good quality (nothing worse than finding chunks of gristle in a pie), well cooked, and the gravy should be tasty and just thick enough to ensure it stays inside the case when you eat it.  I don't care whether the filling is chunky or minced as long as it matches what I expect from the menu, and the top may also be potato rather than pastry.

Any pie that needs tomato sauce injected into it to make it eatable has already failed the test, as has any pie where the base of the case is shiny and undercooked (a baker would describe it differently, I've also had good pies from various country bakeries but haven't ever kept a list of them!  Ones that have disappointed me as not living up to the hype have been Fredos and Yatala.
it also needs to able to be eaten one handed whilst you drive,and temperature is also a big player,
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 07:38:56 PM
There is another little pie shop that is good, and we always stop at. Canungra, coming from the Gold Coast, it is on the left next to the motel, almost opposite the large one that every one else stops at. Lol
Post by: gunna on October 17, 2013, 07:43:17 PM
curried camel pie @ the birdsville bakery

http://www.birdsvillebakery.com/

Post by: toeball on October 17, 2013, 08:12:01 PM
The Hamilton Island Bakery used to do a chicken and asparagus pie...... mmmmm drooling now :'(
Post by: Dillonator on October 17, 2013, 11:38:28 PM
Hey Toeball, spot on. Hamilton Island bakery also did a great steak and pea pie. Fantastic!
Post by: Garfish on October 18, 2013, 06:16:45 AM
Around Bundaberg I used to love chics pies. 

But can't go past a beefy on the way home from bribie.
When at work in Sydney I would often grab a patchetts pie especially their Thai chicken.
ie And believe it or not the KFC pie is worth chewing on
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2013, 07:58:24 AM
When I lived in bathurst years ago, Carahs was a good shop. Used to get the spag Bol pie. Yum. Not sure if it is still around though
Post by: Bigmacthepunker on October 19, 2013, 04:15:21 PM
The best meat pie I have ever had was in the main st of Ross in Tasmania, It was just to Die for. Thinking of a trip to the apple isle with the CT. A stop there will be a must.
Big G

Ross Bakery Inn

15 Church Street, Ross, TAS, 7209,  Australia
Post by: bushbandit on October 19, 2013, 04:44:11 PM
Also in Tassie at Penguin the bakery there sells beautiful Curried Rabbit Pies and the cakes etc are also the go
Post by: Jacmark30 on October 20, 2013, 05:12:12 PM
Pot belly pies on the highway at Woodburn! Best lamb and rosemary pies!  ;D
Post by: slave on October 20, 2013, 07:26:21 PM
Our local pie shop burnt down today :( . Pies were good.
Post by: smartyingreen on October 20, 2013, 08:24:28 PM
WOW, just read through 17 pages about pies & bakeries and can't believe the lack of South 0z bakeries on the list!

Yes Copley x many

Pinarroo Bakery, Morgan bakery and the Lobethal Bakery should also be rating a mention.

Get in and give em a go, you won't be disappointed!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk 4
Post by: bearded one on October 21, 2013, 10:36:07 AM
Panini's in gympie aren't too bad at all, and their snagga rolls are to die for, and you can't go wrong with a beefys. but the all time best pie I've ever had, and a few blokes mentioned it earlier, was the signature steak pie from the pie van that stops at the botanical gardens/waterfall thingo in rocky. its called raglan pies. their not actually a bakery, but a butcher, and they know their stuff! shortcrust base, flaky puff on top, beautiful gravy and slices of beef so tender it makes me frothy at the thought of them. definitely not cranstons though, spew. tramcars in gympie make a fantastic chunky pepper, but the rest of their range is a little tragic. emu park bakery have a beautiful pie also try a bacon and egg roll. horn on a jellyfish. why can't I lose this spare tyre I ask myself?
Post by: gunna on October 21, 2013, 12:14:18 PM
Make some great pies @ Parachilna Hotel  SA
Check Out the menus
http://www.prairiehotel.com.au/restaurant

Post by: Murph on October 21, 2013, 01:37:03 PM
Beechworth bakery used to be awesome

They still are !  :cheers:
Post by: Hodgies on April 08, 2014, 07:22:59 PM

BEEFYS at the Etamogah Pub.
Sunshine Coast.
 The lineup was out the door and for a very good reason. Yum
Post by: martyst on April 08, 2014, 07:27:23 PM
Pot Belly pies at Woodburn. Mmmm

Post by: ATC on April 08, 2014, 07:47:39 PM
Why isn't this thread a sticky at he top.

I'm not allowed to eat them, damn this low salt diet!
Doesn't mean that I don't appreciate a great pie, or a pub lunch for that matter.
Post by: DropBearRacing on April 08, 2014, 08:58:08 PM
I can't believe that noone has mentioned the bakery at Crescent Head.  They make excellent pies and their vanilla slices people have killed for (allegedly  ;D)
Post by: ozstickman on April 08, 2014, 09:54:13 PM
The bakery at Middlemount has good pies! I have one every pyjama day.  Pretty good considering Middlemount is a mining town and normally everything in a mining town sucks.
Post by: KiwiAngler on April 09, 2014, 08:02:08 AM
Beefy's Pies at the Ettamogah Pub complex on the Bruce Hwy QLD.

Oh how i could go a good pie from there! They were our treat on the way back from Brisbane (which was only about once or twice a year).

Haven't found one that even gets close here in WA.

I am staying not far from here at the moment (well about an hour away actually - but hey- when it comes to a great pie I have been known to drive further) - will pop in and carry out some 'independent field testing' and advise - I will of course take no pleasure from this testing it will all be in the name of science

cheers :-))

Post by: ozstickman on April 09, 2014, 08:11:17 AM
I am staying not far from here at the moment (well about an hour away actually - but hey- when it comes to a great pie I have been known to drive further) - will pop in and carry out some 'independent field testing' and advise - I will of course take no pleasure from this testing it will all be in the name of science

cheers :-))
I am the same with testing new beers, all in the name of science!
Post by: 666Glenn on April 09, 2014, 05:58:26 PM
 This is somethingI would consider myself a bit of a expert at-
 I  try out bakeries wherever I go,

My FNQ top pie outlets
Babinda Bakery Main St Babinda
Piefection Gordonvale
Jessies Yellow Pie Van Cardwell

and not to forget when working in Birdsville - Curried Camel from Dusty