Author Topic: Peter from Country victoria  (Read 5759 times)

Offline Brumbypt

• Trailers, trailers, trailers, trailers..
Peter from Country victoria
« on: May 19, 2013, 10:10:18 AM »
Hi, i am Peter from Alexandra. I am currently in the process of building my first trailer, its a 7x5 offroad heavy duty, general purpose trailer..

I have owned a CUB spacematic offroad camper in the past, then i bought a Goldstream RV windup camper to keep the wife happy. One late arvo after a long day on the road and in a little rain, she was in charge of winding it up and forgot to unclip one of the clips and broke the push rod at the back. Apart from that the goldstream was a great camper and i wish i still had it.

Going back to the CUB, i would have to be CUBs worst customer, and i am extremely sorry for what happened.. Short story, i listened to the wrong advice from some people that i thought knew what they were talking about,  all i had to do is listen to what the CUB owner had to say, they are the experience people to listen to, they have over 40 years experience building trailers and campers and using them around australia.
I learnt a lot from that experience of both campers and now making sure this trailer suits my needs that i need it for.

1993 80 series landcruiser

Re: Peter from Country victoria
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2013, 10:12:14 AM »
Welcome to Myswag Peter, Alex is a nice part of the world.

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2013, 10:31:12 AM »
Thanks. This is my build http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29926.0

Not a camper,just a general purpose offroad trailer with a 1500kg ATM so i can carry a decent load of firewood etc. and then take it offroad to go camping to carry some extra gear and i plan to divide it off and be able to collect a little firewood during the day to take to a camp site.

I have never liked the idea of putting firewood in the wagon after you have setup camp..

Once finished this trailer i will build another trailer  to sell, that one will be 4.5x7ft  hopefully sell one of them to pay for the one i keep.. Thats the plan, lets see if i can part with one and not keep both..  ;D

I already have the guards sides/body for both and front and back tailgate.. So now its just buying the bits and pieces..

I have a small business repairing trailers so i have contacts to buy trailer parts wholesale and cheap.

Offline StrvnMrvn

• I get payed to go camping!!
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2013, 10:51:08 AM »
Welcome Peter,

Enjoy your time here and ask any questions you need.

« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2013, 12:00:59 PM »
Welcome to the forum Brumbypt.  I see you are off to a god star on your build.  Good luck and see you around the forum.

« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2013, 01:56:58 PM »
Welcome to MySwag Peter

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2013, 05:13:33 PM »
Thanks, at first the forum was full of overwhelming information to read and learn and i have loved looking through it all..

What i am building this time has been fun and a big learning curve.. If i can sell one of the two trailers that i am building later in the year, then i will keep building them as its fun..
It would be good to build a designated camper trailer one day for myself but at this stage i just need a general purpose trailer that has the capability of going offroad and is a little better than what my mate has.. Hahahha

Thanks for all your help and encouragement so far...

« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2013, 05:35:44 PM »
Welcome to  a great forum Peter

« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2013, 08:29:01 PM »
G'day Brumbypt,

Plenty of great info here to help you get your seup just right.

« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2013, 08:31:04 PM »
Welcome aboard Pierre  :cheers:

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2013, 10:04:35 PM »
I have spent all day reading and looking through my swag..

Loving the site now.. Thanks all

Offline GXL4X4

« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2013, 10:06:49 PM »
Welcome Peter hope you enjoy the forum

« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2013, 05:54:18 AM »
Welcome Peter,

Don't get stuck reading this forum to much otherwise your CT build will be delayed.
Though it does become addictive.
Good luck.

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2013, 06:38:50 AM »
I am learning the tricks of the site and shortcuts to reading all posts that are new.. Also setup email notifications so i dont miss anything..

« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2013, 07:25:11 AM »
Welcome Peter.  Good luck with your trailer build.  Look forward to reading of your adventures.

Offline redrocker

• Wanting to see Oz in a soft floor camper
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2013, 02:54:28 PM »
Welcome Peter
your build looks great looking forward to seeing it  finished and ditos on this forum being adictive enjoy your stay

Redrocker
Redrock Extream offroad soft floor
 04  Nissan Pathfinder Ti

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #16 on: May 20, 2013, 06:40:08 PM »
I had. A visitor into my workshop tonight and he complimented my welds on my trailer frame.. So thats a nice thing hey..

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2013, 07:25:14 PM »
Trailer is pretty much finished. Most welding done, first coat of paint is done.

One more trailer to make and sell, maybe one after that, then i can build my camper trailer..

Cant jump into these things need to build up and get the confidence and experience.

Might buy a hoist first before camper trailer. For some reason my bad him is more sore laying on the car creeper than what it is chopping firewood.. But with manual work i fall over, at-least with the car creeper  i am already laying down  ...

« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2013, 08:10:28 PM »
Hi Brumbypt and welcome to My Swag

:cheers: Heiny

Offline Brumbypt

« Reply #19 on: August 17, 2013, 10:08:05 PM »
http://youtu.be/t2f8Ew2p7q0

near the end is me showing off my 80 series in the your rig section...

Peter,
 Tapa talker