General => Introductions => Topic started by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 03:30:52 PM

Title: Advice
Post by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 03:30:52 PM
Have looked on this site for a while now and have decided to join. We are looking to buy our frist camper after many years of tenting it. I have narrowed the choices down to Customline, Austrack, Lifestyle and All Terrian campers. Can anyone offer any advice on these campers? Good and bad reports would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Title: Re: Advice
Post by: HEM19X on November 28, 2010, 03:38:18 PM
Mark,

Your best bet is to make a list of all the "must haves" plus "luv to haves".

The one that has the most wins...provided of course that SWMBO agrees - remember "Happy Wife, Happy Life"

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on November 28, 2010, 03:41:15 PM
Mark,

Your best bet is to make a list of all the "must haves" plus "luv to haves".

The one that has the most wins...provided of course that SWMBO agrees - remember "Happy Wife, Happy Life"

x 2.  That's how we did it ...

Post by: graylyn on November 28, 2010, 03:49:38 PM
X3.  Have fun.
Post by: Duchess on November 28, 2010, 04:34:48 PM
Mark, I know that you were probably hoping for a more direct answer but if you go to the My Camper section of the forum, you'll find heaps of different opinions on most of those campers you've listed.

Good luck with your decision!  :cheers:
Post by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 04:37:02 PM
Thanks for that. I'm still a bit green on this site.
Post by: BigJules on November 28, 2010, 05:03:02 PM
G'day & Welcome Mark  :cheers:.

There is plenty of detailed discussion on the All Terrains, suggest searching from the home page, try also "All Terrian" as I think the last thread was mispelt. I worry they're a bit too heavy and tall, but there is no doubt they're well built.

I don't know enough about the Customline, Austrack or Lifestyle to offer you any advice. I do know there are/have been some nice Lifestyle campers for sale on here, if you're looking for a bargain.

Post by: Joff on November 28, 2010, 05:29:30 PM
I can only help with the All Terrain.
They are built very tough. Everything is heavy duty so the camper ends up heavy. Loaded mine tops 1500kgs but that is probably one of the heaviest AT's in the country. Typicaly they will hover around the 1350 - 1400kg mark.

The canvas is 16oz and sewn together very well. There are a couple things that could be better but I haven't yet seen a camper that doesn't have one or two issues.

They come with 9 leaf rebound springs which will let you take in anywhere.

The brakes are cable override discs and they are nothing short of rubbish.

Kitchens are usable, ours is the SS version and works quite well.

The tent goes up with a bit of effort for the first lift (I've seen easier) but once over the center the rest is easy. We very rarely peg out the main tent.

The awning could do with a bit of a mod where the lateral poles attach to the tent frame but other than that it works well.

Ours is an 07 model so some things may have changed to some of what I'm saying here but I don't think so.

What has changed is that the std trailer is now 8' long instead of 7' like mine so that can only be good for internal space. They have also started offering a widened front end, an idea I'd say they got from some genius on a forum  ;D

PS I'd be interested to know what current new price is on an All Terrain if you get a quote

Post by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 06:08:25 PM
Thanks for the advice mate. I sent them an query a few days ago and the base price for 14 ft canopy & trailer was $16950, then you start to option up.
Post by: Joff on November 28, 2010, 06:12:15 PM
Everything I said above relates to the 17' model. I dunno how it relates to the 14 footer but I can't imagine there would be that much difference
Post by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 06:17:18 PM
The 17 is $17550 starting price.
Post by: Joff on November 28, 2010, 06:42:57 PM
Thanks Mate
Post by: Snow on November 28, 2010, 06:49:01 PM
G'day Mark and welcome to Myswag. You've landed in the right spot to help come to a decision. :cheers:
Post by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 08:33:19 PM
G'day Snow,
Thanks for the welcome. I sure have come to the right place. I only joined a few hours ago and already I have been given more useful advice here than all the websites I have visited over the last 12 months!!  I should have come here earlier. I'm sure I'll have a heap of other questions so I hope everyone will be as helpful as they have been today.
Post by: speewa158 on November 28, 2010, 08:40:56 PM
This will be worth a watch , so ask away , & welcome to Myswag  ;D
Post by: mark40 on November 28, 2010, 08:48:50 PM
Thanks mate.  Half of the questions I have are probably silly but if I don't ask I'll never find out. Should provide a few laughs along the way
Post by: truck on December 01, 2010, 06:11:31 AM
Greetings Mark,

Welcome to the forum and it's good to see another Townsvillian join up.

truck
Post by: escape on December 01, 2010, 08:14:53 AM
Greetings Mark, There is no such thing as a "silly question" only silly answers so ask away and you shall receive the appropiate replies on here.This is the best and most informative forum I have ever had the pleasure to be involved with.
Post by: spargo on December 01, 2010, 08:38:55 AM
g'day mark.

i'm picking up a Lifestyle Extenda very very soon, and can report back on my first experiences with that. so far my dealings with them have been great.

search for Lifestyle or Extenda in the forum, and you should see some similar questions from me about differences with models and features.

good luck!
Post by: speewa158 on December 01, 2010, 07:27:05 PM
X2 what Escape said . There are no silly questions , only those not brave enough to ask  :cheers:
Post by: mark40 on December 01, 2010, 08:19:24 PM
G'day Spargo,

Keen to hear how the new camper goes and see a couple of pics as well.
Post by: xmasbaby67 on December 02, 2010, 10:15:16 AM
Hi Mark & welcome to the forum

We purchased our Customline in Nov 09 and love it.  We have the 12ft tent and full annexe, water tank, sunraysias, 2 pole carriers, checkerplate bigger toolbox, kitchen box with checkerplate lockable door, innerspring mattress, bigger cover, I think that was it.  We didn't opt for brakes or electrics yet but will get that done down the track when we need.  We paid just under $13K.

We have been extremely happy with ours and the quality of both the tent (15oz walls & roof - ozzy made) and trailer.  

The service we received from Ian & Nicole was nothing sort of outstanding.

Here is my post with pics on here http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=6882.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=6882.0)

Any other questions feel free to ask away as Im only too happy to answer them if I can.

A list is always the best way to go with pros and cons of each.  That said we liked the look of the Customline right from the word go.  We have also had a lot of people come up and ask us for a look when we are out there in it.
Hope this helps a little.
Post by: mark40 on December 02, 2010, 07:18:07 PM
I am trying to educate myself and would like other options on electric or mechanical brakes?
Which is better and why.

Also I have seen quite a few CT's with electric brake controllers on the draw bar. Any options on this type of setup?
Post by: mark40 on December 02, 2010, 08:05:17 PM
Sorry I meant opinions not options on the comments above. 14 hrs at work is not good for the old grey matter.
Post by: crackacoldie on December 02, 2010, 09:55:56 PM
My personal preference is for electric brakes over mechanical, because, with the controler in the car you can control the trailer brakes independantly from the car rather than relying on the ct to push up against the hitch.

Just my opinion though.

Post by: Phantomxr8 on December 05, 2010, 07:53:06 PM
Welcome, I cant realy offer much advise but you realy cant go to far wrong any way they all will get you out there and relaxing  :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 07, 2010, 07:46:38 PM

Be good to your mother ...
Treat others as you'd like them to treat you ...
Spend less ... Save more ...

Kit_e   ;D
Post by: mark40 on December 09, 2010, 07:40:29 AM
I do all those but it won't help me find my CT.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 09, 2010, 02:49:55 PM

Have you made a list of preferred options YOU would like?  Do you want hard or soft floor?  Do you require 4WD or not?  How much "room" do you need (are you catering for a clutch of kids and SWMBO or is it more likely to be just the Boys)?  Do you want a kitchen or prefer not to bother?  Taking a fridge in it or the tow vehicle?  Preferred tow hitch, suspension?  Need solar?  Are you more an overnight camper or prefer longer weeks to relax?  What is the tow vehicle's maximum tow weight?  What's your CT's maximum allowable weight and payload?

Asking yourself these and many, many more questions does in fact narrow the field.  Once you have your CT's jostling for position on the track, be more defined  in your questions and answers and you'll have it down to 2 or 3 before you know it.

Then it'll just be a matter of colour preference or personal likeability.

It took us months to locate our perfect CT and then we had to wait months for it to be built.  Patience is the key!!

Post by: spargo on December 09, 2010, 02:56:48 PM
G'day Spargo,

Keen to hear how the new camper goes and see a couple of pics as well.

Picked up this morning. Setting up tonight. Details & early photos here: http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=8420.msg148650#msg148650
Post by: LJs GU on December 09, 2010, 03:33:05 PM
Kit_e as always... the voice of reason.

Mark40, are you still sticking with the campers in your original post... Customline, Austrack, Lifestyle and All Terrian campers??
Either way, I'd be going back and forth (where location and proximity allows) and taking a note pad and pen and scribbling the pro's and con's of all.  
If you're like us, you could potentially never buy one because you'll be eternally comparing and saying 'what if, what about...etc'.
In the end our decision for a Camel just felt right... I reckon your's will too.
LJ
Post by: mark40 on December 09, 2010, 06:26:22 PM
LJ, Funny you should mention that. I am seriously looking at the bushman. Some friends just bought one and it looks really good to me.  Will contact Camel and see what they can do for me.
Post by: youngpop on December 09, 2010, 06:37:50 PM
G'day and welcome Mark,

Do your searching and weigh it all up, lots of good info on this site. You will choose well if patient.
Post by: mark40 on December 11, 2010, 02:41:27 PM
FINALLY!!! Have bought a Trackabout Deluxe. Never really considered these but after a close look I was very impressed. Pick it up next week. Can't wait.....
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 11, 2010, 07:02:56 PM

Congratulations (wish we had an icon for that!)!!!!!!   ;D  ;D   ;D Of course, the obligatory pics will be required when you do get your new baby home.

Post by: LJs GU on December 11, 2010, 09:21:16 PM
Congrats mate... gee you didn't stuff around did you (less than 24 hours from 'post to post').  It musta felt right hey?
Look forward to the pics...
LJ

Kit_e, here's the congrat's i reckon sums it up:  :cup:
Post by: mark40 on December 12, 2010, 06:32:19 AM
Cheers LJ. yeah is was a bit quick but after looking at it and making about 20 phone calls to people who know a lot more about CT's than me we decided to get it. A bit more money than I was budgeting for but the extra's the bloke threw in tipped me over the edge. Now it just needs to stop raining so we can use it. I'm looking forward to getting it covered in mud. Will post some pics when I work out how to do it.
Post by: mark40 on January 03, 2011, 02:31:40 PM
Here's a couple of pics of the new camper. Hope they attached ok.
Post by: BigDougie on January 03, 2011, 10:38:28 PM
Hi Mark,
Nice camper, must say I'm a bit biased but, love me Trackabout.
Enjoy and  :cheers: Doug
Post by: Joff on January 04, 2011, 05:47:44 AM
 ??? What are doing to that poor camper in your sig line Dougie??  ???

You know it'll gow up thinking it's a caravan  >:D
Post by: mark40 on January 04, 2011, 04:39:12 PM
I just wish it would stop raining long enough so we can use it!!!!
Post by: weso on January 04, 2011, 07:52:11 PM
welcome aboard mark nice new CT get out there as soon as that damn rain stops
Post by: BigDougie on January 04, 2011, 09:39:53 PM
Hey Joff,
Better stop watering it then, last thing I want is it to grow into a C'van.

Don't let a little rain deter you, rained lots at Rollingstone last week but still had a blast.
Happy camping and we might see you in our travels.