Author Topic: Where are we !!!  (Read 24237 times)

Offline bjf

Re: Where are we !!!
« Reply #50 on: July 03, 2011, 07:03:17 PM »
Dion, the shorter rear overhang might have been better but with that version the front might have been burried more. We had the previous version but changed to the new version to get some weight off the ute for clearance.

JCAT, I have wrapped the drawer bar with carpet and have lined the front tool box with carpet also. However there are places on the underside with powdercoating missing and also missing some on the lower section of the stone guard. We also have mud flaps in front of the stablisier legs to keep grit out of the mechanisim.

« Reply #51 on: July 03, 2011, 07:34:33 PM »
WE MADE IT!!

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #52 on: July 04, 2011, 04:39:23 PM »
awesome, congrats on getting there, now the fun begins, getting back alive and undamaged  (have fun):cheers:

troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

« Reply #53 on: July 04, 2011, 05:35:20 PM »
Great effort intrepid travellers. :cup: Coming home should be a snack now. On the map it is all downhill. ;D

« Reply #54 on: July 04, 2011, 06:45:30 PM »
Good report so far,,,, sounds like a blast!........ good onya's!!......... Safe travels!!

« Reply #55 on: July 04, 2011, 06:52:47 PM »
Well done but where are the fishy pics. ;D
« Last Edit: July 04, 2011, 06:55:50 PM by Teabag »

« Reply #56 on: July 04, 2011, 07:52:57 PM »

Great series of photo's so far.  I'm going to be the first one to put my hand up for a DVD of the trip. 

Oh and can you pan the camera to the Aussie Swag doing some crossings please?  It may be the one thing that makes The Man start planning!

Offline Vi_n_Geoff

« Reply #57 on: July 07, 2011, 10:01:16 PM »

Out of curiosity, how is the NS/NT paj going on the trip, the silver one?

Hey Wogs,

thats would be my NT. I'm on the Pajero forum as well. The Paj has performed magnficently, exceding all my expectations. We are sitting here at Cooktown and taking stock of how rough the trip has been and i havent had to touch a single nut or bolt, apart from cleaning the air filter out daily. It is still as tight as a drum and no rattles apart from the fridge mounts.

All the mods ive done have also performed great and there is virtually nothing that i wouldnt do again, although some things will be modified for greater versatility.

Geoff

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #58 on: July 08, 2011, 07:31:31 AM »
Thanks Mate, makes me a little bit more at ease doing this trip next year. How did you go with water ingress with the crossings and all?
HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

Offline Proudy

« Reply #59 on: July 08, 2011, 07:47:23 AM »
Great photo's looks like a good time by all who went.
Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

« Reply #60 on: July 08, 2011, 08:28:21 AM »
Oh and can you pan the camera to the Aussie Swag doing some crossings please?  It may be the one thing that makes The Man start planning!

You mean like this?

« Reply #61 on: July 08, 2011, 08:34:24 AM »
We're home again so I thought I would crunch a few numbers for those who might be interested, these figures are for our 62 series Landcruiser ( 6.5l V8 diesel ) towing a 1.5t hard floor camper, both well and truly loaded. They include the total trip ie, the trip from Brisbane to Cairns, The Creb Track ( about 3 hours to go the first 30km ), the complete OLT, sight seeing at the Tip and the dash home to Brisbane ( Seisia 10am Tuesday to Brisbane 11.30am Thursday ),

Total KM traveled.......................5919km
Total litres used.........................1012Lt
Total fuel cost............................$1563.11
Average Lt/100km.......................17/100
Average fuel price.......................$1.54 ( Seisia $2.29per Lt )

Just thought it might help anyone leaving soon to plan ahead,

« Reply #62 on: July 08, 2011, 10:11:56 AM »
You mean like this?

Exactly like that.   ;D  Thanks so much!  :cup:  Feel free to post more where applicable.

Now ... where is that bloke of mine?  That SHOULD be us ... :'(

« Reply #63 on: July 08, 2011, 11:44:14 AM »
What about these ones?  ;D

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #64 on: July 08, 2011, 12:04:04 PM »
Dion, the shorter rear overhang might have been better but with that version the front might have been burried more. We had the previous version but changed to the new version to get some weight off the ute for clearance.

JCAT, I have wrapped the drawer bar with carpet and have lined the front tool box with carpet also. However there are places on the underside with powdercoating missing and also missing some on the lower section of the stone guard. We also have mud flaps in front of the stablisier legs to keep grit out of the mechanisim.

BJF, with regards to carpeting the drawbar:

Did you just cable tie it on?

Was it one piece or three different pieces for each section of the drawbar?

Did you use standard carpet or marine?

I have some lino lying around and are wondering whether that would do the job?

Any chance of a picture or two of the carpet on the drawer bar?

Thanks JCAT
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #65 on: July 08, 2011, 03:46:17 PM »
What about these ones?  ;D

Thanks Symon ... I am loving those action shots!!  If that doesn't get him in the mood, then I don't know what will!  I'll even get the cape DVD when it becomes available to tempt him further.  If that doesn't work then I'll leave him behind and give it a go myself.   ;D

Offline Dr Dre

« Reply #66 on: July 09, 2011, 07:58:04 AM »

Total KM traveled.......................5919km
Total litres used.........................1012Lt
Total fuel cost............................$1563.11
Average Lt/100km.......................17/100
Average fuel price.......................$1.54 ( Seisia $2.29per Lt )

Just thought it might help anyone leaving soon to plan ahead,

Thanks heaps for that & that's good mileage with all that weight.

Gives me something to work with when we head off in 6 days ;D
« Last Edit: July 09, 2011, 07:59:47 AM by Dr Dre »

Offline Vi_n_Geoff

« Reply #67 on: July 09, 2011, 09:37:37 PM »
Thanks Mate, makes me a little bit more at ease doing this trip next year. How did you go with water ingress with the crossings and all?

The only water that came into the car was in Nolans Brook. However, that was due to us being stuck climbing the sand bank and the rear of the car was tail light deep. It half filled the rear seat well that i keep my recovery gear in and the rear floor, but not too bad considering my camper started floating down stream!!!!

Geoff

« Reply #68 on: July 11, 2011, 07:38:47 PM »
It certainly does float - Clicky Clicky

Edit -
Youtube link Small | Large
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 02:57:35 PM by Symon »

« Reply #69 on: July 11, 2011, 07:42:56 PM »
Wow, great vision and good effort in the recovery.

« Reply #70 on: July 11, 2011, 08:50:29 PM »
The recovery guys look like they're having the time of their lives.

Offline meimarocu

« Reply #71 on: July 11, 2011, 08:59:31 PM »
MORE..MORE..MORE.    :D

Ian

« Reply #72 on: July 11, 2011, 09:00:41 PM »
Some vids would be great ;D

« Reply #73 on: July 11, 2011, 09:29:11 PM »
OK, here is another one -

High res direct link
Low res youtube link Small | Large
« Last Edit: July 24, 2011, 02:57:08 PM by Symon »

« Reply #74 on: July 11, 2011, 09:40:54 PM »
OK, here is another one -

High res direct link
Low res youtube link
maybe add the sizes next to the files :)

Looks like fun!