Author Topic: Who has started getting there Four wheel drive and camper ready ?  (Read 19975 times)

Offline Offroad 4x4 Accessories

Re: Who has started getting there Four wheel drive and camper ready ?
« Reply #75 on: June 13, 2011, 06:01:34 PM »
Hi JK good to see you got the camper out. It seemed to dry up when i left you and yogi yesterday

« Reply #76 on: June 13, 2011, 07:30:11 PM »
Yes mate, got out no worries..........................your biggest problem will be yogi's snoring, yogi's camper was 10m away from ours and Julie asked what the noise was  ??? , I said that's the yogi slumber song  ;D

Looking forward to the trip and meeting the rest of the 2011 Cape crew.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #77 on: June 13, 2011, 07:34:44 PM »
Hi Jk, After reading the last few comments, looks like some of your spares you carry will come in handy tomorrow. Hope to catch up along the track for beer or three in the next few weeks. :cheers:

« Reply #78 on: June 13, 2011, 07:44:23 PM »
Hope so mate, I've got a little camp oven tool for you.

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #79 on: June 13, 2011, 08:09:15 PM »
Cheers  :cheers: Mate. We'll certainly catch up!! :cup:

Offline rodw

« Reply #80 on: June 13, 2011, 08:18:01 PM »
Flat out here getting ready to go somewhere. what a mess I had last night!

The bad news it does not look much better tonight...

The problem I had was I had  leaking stainless steel water tank which sprang a leak twice.

I have learnt that stainless is a very brittle material and does not like constant flexing in a fourby.

This time, I took the tank to Rhino liners and they sprayed it with a layer about 2-3mm thick and I don't think it'll ever leak again.

Of course the tank is now 3mm wider and I had to cut 3mm off the drawers to get them back in. While I am at it, the storage rack that the fridge is mounted in has been cut right down to just hold the fridge to leave more room in the tray. I made this rack for my previous rig (A Suzuki Vitara)

and it was almost a perfect fit for the Hilux. Now with a caravan, the rack is obsolete and the gear that got stored in it is no longer required.

Anyway, I've got most of it done, the frame is back in and just have the deck and drawers to refit but there is a roll of rubber there that needs to be turned into mudflaps, an axe out of sight that needs mounting somewhere and a host of other jobs...

Oh, and I replaced my muddies with some AT's. There are the new Coopers ST Maxx

« Reply #81 on: June 13, 2011, 08:43:01 PM »
I have learnt that stainless is a very brittle material and does not like constant flexing in a fourby.

I don't think stainless is that brittle, but it does work harden very quickly which will make it brittle.

Anyways, good to see you got it all sorted out!  Now I have to pull my finger out with my gear....

« Reply #82 on: June 13, 2011, 08:58:05 PM »
A set of brake pads and a full service for the cruiser plus a couple of pairs of ear plugs for Tim and I am all set :D

Oh the weather was just beautiful out at the Springs on the weekend ;D

« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 09:51:44 PM by yogi »

« Reply #83 on: June 14, 2011, 08:02:53 PM »
Does a wireless winch controller count as a mod ;D After seeing JK's new winch (Thanks JK) .... well I was in ARB today and noticed a shelf that's usually empty had a strange package on it ..... and after asking the sales man what he would do it for if I bought a MSA water crossing bra (lost my old one) and Viv Moon's book on the Cape ..... I got it for $200 8) Expensive but I have been looking for one since I got a winch ..... it's a pain in the ass to winch with out one >:(

Now I need someone to get bogged so I can use it in anger >:D

Offline bjf

« Reply #84 on: June 16, 2011, 07:40:04 AM »
Mark,

Do you think there is any need to take an extra spare tyre for the vehicle ie 2 spares (the camper tyres dont fit but that's another story) or is a plug kit enough? 

:cheers:Brett

« Reply #85 on: June 16, 2011, 08:24:02 AM »

One spare should be ok, also a plug kit would be handy.

Offline rodw

« Reply #86 on: June 16, 2011, 11:16:51 AM »
Leave applied for: Tick! - 23 July and we are outa here!

Offline idlegossip

« Reply #87 on: June 16, 2011, 01:24:42 PM »
We're outta here on Saturday Morning.

Can't wait, just hope I have got everything I was meant to have in order!!!!  ??? ??? ??? I think I have and if not I'm sure some bribing could be in order.   ;D ;D

« Reply #88 on: June 16, 2011, 02:11:24 PM »
Yogi and jk are leaving Brisvages on Wednesday 22nd at approximately 5.00am, if any other Swaggers are passing through or leaving around the same time you are welcome to join the convoy heading north.
The plan is to sleep in Mackay on Wednesday night and on to Cairns on Thursday to stay at Lake Placid caravan park, that gives one day in Cairns to chill and check that all is good to go on Saturday for the big trip.

« Reply #89 on: June 16, 2011, 03:13:57 PM »
We're outta here on Saturday Morning.

Can't wait, just hope I have got everything I was meant to have in order!!!!  ??? ??? ??? I think I have and if not I'm sure some bribing could be in order.   ;D ;D

All you need is the beer !!! :cheers: :cheers:

Offline Frostd

• Terry & Deb
    • Frosty's blog
« Reply #90 on: June 16, 2011, 03:38:28 PM »
The Camper is half packed, truck to be packed tomorrow with beer ;D, fishing gear  and food. Await the arrival home of the youngest from a school camp and then hit the highway, Saturday morning 7am.  Anybody else heading North on Saturday?? :cheers:

« Reply #91 on: June 16, 2011, 07:07:17 PM »
Nearly time to start packing .... lol

« Last Edit: June 17, 2011, 09:15:43 AM by yogi »

Offline bjf

« Reply #92 on: June 16, 2011, 07:10:25 PM »
Packing has begun, leaving after lunch tomorrow, still playing the CT and the ute was finished yesterday.

« Reply #93 on: June 17, 2011, 07:32:12 PM »
Been a busy day.  Got the slide out kitchen almost finished (as a cabinet maker I make a pretty damn good electrician!).  Tool boxes remounted and the camper totally repainted.  New snorkel head fitted.  Overhead console fitted.

Now I just have to pack all the stuff in.....

« Reply #94 on: June 17, 2011, 08:02:46 PM »
Looking good Symon :cheers:

« Reply #95 on: June 18, 2011, 07:53:15 AM »
Well symon you will get to do all the OTL track this time !!!

« Reply #96 on: June 18, 2011, 01:27:40 PM »
FINALLY, all done  :cheers:...............after a mad week the cruiser is back together and ready to roll, after our little weekend away last weekend we have had to make a few repairs. Have replaced one front axle ( twisted ), one front CV ( snapped and shattered ), one top swivel housing bearing ( got hit by the broken CV ), a complete rear diff housing ( this was part of our long term maintenance anyway ), two new rear uni's, new rear wheel bearings, oil and filter change, fuel filter, air cleaner, full grease and a detail. A big thanks to the guys at Redlands 4x4 for all their work  :cup: , I dropped the 4b off at their shop on Tuesday lunch time ( busted ) and picked it up Thursday afternoon, not bad considering they had to chase parts and strip and fit them.

The camper has a new set of axle seals and wheel bearings, have just got back from a quick test drive and made some final adjustments, all good to go  :cheers: .

Now I can chill out until Wednesday morning then we hit the road.....................can't wait.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2011, 11:35:59 AM by jk »

« Reply #97 on: June 19, 2011, 10:37:17 AM »
Car is fully serviced including new brake pads ..... today will be finalising the packing and what were taking (or will fit .... lol)