Author Topic: Who has started getting there Four wheel drive and camper ready ?  (Read 19990 times)

Hi Guys and Girls,
Started preping the 4x4 ready for the tip trip and was wondering who else is doing the same. I will post some picks later when I remember how to do so. Cheers duggie.

Online jk

Re: Who has started getting there Four wheel drive and camper ready ?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 07:41:55 PM »
Yep...................I'm all over it like hair on a gorilla  ;D , pace is slow at the moment but have started checking spares list and things to add and remove from the camping gear for a trip like this, no doubt the pace will become more frantic as time slips by.

Offline bjf

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 09:07:53 PM »
We finalise our new camper yesterday, we are changing a few things from your previous setup to my things easier for the trip. We are also testing a few ideas for the manufacturer - carpet to the front tool box, mud flaps in front of the front stabiliser legs and some additional seals around the tonneau :cheers:

Offline geoffnvi

« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2011, 10:28:13 PM »
Ive been going steady for the last few months and finilising over the next few. Here is what ive done so far and what i'm going to do.
Car
 - Fitted the winch last weekend
 - ordered a new set of BFG AT's, due for delivery in 6 weeks.
 - Ordered a Chip-it module, due for delivery in 2 weeks.
 - Front Air locker will be fitted within the next month (after fitting the compressor)
 - Added 2 more 6B&S outlets in the rear for both fridges.
 - started stockpiling spares
Camper
 - Upgraded the wiring on the camper, including adding 4 sets of strip LED's and 2 extra power outlets.
 - adding a water gauge to the tank.
There will be a bit more to come, after cross checking my to-do list.
Geoff
Modcon Imperial HF Towed by Prado Kakadu V6
Now - OppLock Bar, Lightforce 240's, Traxide USI 160 DB, Twin Yellowtop Batts, Featherlite Awning, Safari Snorkel, Runva 11XP.
To Come - Bilstein Suspension

« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2011, 01:32:48 AM »

Hi , still have not worked out how to post photos yet but have put a link up to my album. Started working on the Patrol for the trip to the cape, stripped and rebuilt the front diff. Replaced the old sagging coils with new coils and air bags so a heaver bull bar and winch can be mounted for the trip.

http://www.myswag.org/gallery/v/Duggie/treck+prep/

« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2011, 08:43:25 PM »
Well how are things progressing everyone. We have had and still having a good wet season so expect some great challenges ahead.

Offline idlegossip

« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2011, 09:58:49 AM »
I was progressing well till last week when SWMBO smashed the car  :'( :'( but luckily  she is ok but it wasn't her fault.

So that is now getting fixed and should be back with us in a couple of weeks. My still to do like includes

Car:
Polyair bags to the back
Diff breathers
Fitting new Yokohama GO 12 AT's that I have sitting at work
and if I get the chance change the power supply for the fridge in the rear to either larger cable as the 6mm that I am running I think is strugling.

Camper:
Fit the LED lights that I have had sitting here for the last 6 months
Some 31" tyres for it
Move the spare wheel to under the camper if I can
install water pump to the kitchen
Buy a secondary high output gas burner for the camper at the stove in the kitychen is great if I want to boil water not cook for 5 people.

That is about all I can think of atm but have done heaps till now.

Should get it all done in time I hope.

« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2011, 10:49:30 AM »
I would suggest not putting the spare wheel under the camper as:

1 It will be hard to remove especially if you have a flat

2 it will impede your ground clearance

Online jk

« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2011, 11:16:54 AM »
We are having all 8 tyres on the camper and cruiser rotated and rebalanced this weekend, next week the old girl is getting a new clutch/pressure plate etc and a full gearbox rebuild/recondition  ;D , checking all of the uni's and wheel bearings at the same time, it's a long way from trip time but we have no major trips planned between now and then.
 I think this years trip is going to be challenging to say the least and I have the oldest 4b in the group so we are trying to cross all the T's and dot all the I's to hopefully have a trouble free trip  :cheers: .

Offline idlegossip

« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2011, 01:58:00 PM »
I would suggest not putting the spare wheel under the camper as:

1 It will be hard to remove especially if you have a flat

Valid points Mark. Hadn't thought about that  :cheers:

Offline seqfisho

• So much Australia, Never enough Holidays
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2011, 05:14:34 PM »
We are having all 8 tyres on the camper and cruiser rotated and rebalanced this weekend, next week the old girl is getting a new clutch/pressure plate etc and a full gearbox rebuild/recondition  ;D , checking all of the uni's and wheel bearings at the same time, it's a long way from trip time but we have no major trips planned between now and then.
 I think this years trip is going to be challenging to say the least and I have the oldest 4b in the group so we are trying to cross all the T's and dot all the I's to hopefully have a trouble free trip  :cheers: .

After hearing that the old red rattler conquered "Beer O'clock Hill" at the Springs, I would think you wont have to many troubles JK ;)
2007 Rodeo VCDi DCab, Reasonably stock no longer ;-)
Now Camperless

Offline ML-VR08

« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2011, 12:56:13 PM »
Although im not tagging along with you guys im still doing my Cape Trip Prep - halfway through having the canvas canopy made, and still got a heap of things to fit into the canopy. This includes....

- 75L Diesel Tank (giving me a range of 1000kms hopefully ???)
- 2nd Battery
- LED lighting
- Fridge Slide
- Custom Bash Plates
- Storage Box full of spares (oil, belts, tyre plug kit etc etc)

We will be heading up on the 14th of June (hopefully if the rain ever stops) and will be spending 5 weeks up the top. Cant wait and fingers crossed the camper trailer and triton stand upto the challengers infront of us. We have a rough itinerary for the trip but we mostly plan to get to weipa asap and then head up to seisia or punsand bay for min 5 nights then head south to Vrilya Pt and take the Frenchmans track over to Portlands road/Chillie Beach. Hope to see some of you guys up there....dont forget to drop in for a beer.

Offline spargo

• "Love that car.."
    • Twitter
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2011, 02:22:08 PM »
Although im not tagging along with you guys im still doing my Cape Trip Prep - halfway through having the canvas canopy made, and still got a heap of things to fit into the canopy. This includes....

- 75L Diesel Tank (giving me a range of 1000kms hopefully ???)
- 2nd Battery
- LED lighting
- Fridge Slide
- Custom Bash Plates
- Storage Box full of spares (oil, belts, tyre plug kit etc etc)

We will be heading up on the 14th of June (hopefully if the rain ever stops) and will be spending 5 weeks up the top. Cant wait and fingers crossed the camper trailer and triton stand upto the challengers infront of us. We have a rough itinerary for the trip but we mostly plan to get to weipa asap and then head up to seisia or punsand bay for min 5 nights then head south to Vrilya Pt and take the Frenchmans track over to Portlands road/Chillie Beach. Hope to see some of you guys up there....dont forget to drop in for a beer.

Mate, just as an aside and unrelated to this thread (sorry to all for jumping in!). Would you be willing to send me any photos you might have of your canvas canopy for what I'm assuming is an ML VR triton ute? We've got the same with a tray, and considering the removable canvas option. Would be keen to see what you;re doing. If you've got some snaps or details, reply to this msg and I'll send you a PM -Cheers!!!

Offline ML-VR08

« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2011, 02:58:10 PM »
No worries mate - shoot me a pm and email address

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2011, 05:19:29 PM »
Well I have done

Diff breathers

new 16mm2 hotwire to towbar

removed the compleate lpg system

new air filter box lid and main air feed hose (after remove lpg)

On the list still to do is,Winch ?

New spark plugs and leads

new belts + spare set.

fuel filter

Day underneath with grease gun

high lift jack and shovel holder for roof rack

and as far as spares goes I'll take LOTS of radiator coolant ..LOL,spare fan belts ,rad hoses, air filter ect but no major mech parts .as where do you start and stop.

And no matter what I do before or take with me I am sure something will happen that I don't have the spare for. >:D

As a side note I always carry a breaker bar with the correct socket for my wheel nuts  under my drivers chair . As I find when it's handy I check em evry day on the rough stuff. Have seen to many wheels fall off over the years.

Jetcrew :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2011, 07:43:25 PM »
Jet crew

Dont worry about the winch. I have never had one and never needed one at the Cape. It depends how crazy you want to go. What you are carrying is fine. Like you said how much is enough and the way cars are with electronics you will need a complete electronics machine with you.

Everyone will be fine as long as you have a few spares we will conquer the Cape. Just a note take some fuses they may come in handy with all the electronics in 4 wd these days.

« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2011, 08:07:34 PM »
Well how are things progressing everyone. We have had and still having a good wet season so expect some great challenges ahead.

No kidding Mark.. Were hoping to at least get out of our state.. ;D Hope the road to Halls Creek is OK.. we know it will b but still, how amazing is all this water

Offline barraboy

« Reply #17 on: March 24, 2011, 11:17:13 AM »

Just wondering do you think a snorkel on a Nissan Pathfinder would be required??

Martin

Online jk

« Reply #18 on: March 24, 2011, 11:31:45 AM »

Just wondering do you think a snorkel on a Nissan Pathfinder would be required??

The deepest water crossing will probably be Nolan's Brook, after such a huge wet season I am expecting the worst. If it were mine and it was a diesel I'd fit one but it's up to you,..............Have a look on you tube at some of the Nolan's Brook crossings to give you a better idea, that said.......this year is bound to be different again.

Hope that's of some use,

« Reply #19 on: March 24, 2011, 02:33:05 PM »

The deepest water crossing will probably be Nolan's Brook, after such a huge wet season I am expecting the worst. If it were mine and it was a diesel I'd fit one but it's up to you,..............Have a look on you tube at some of the Nolan's Brook crossings to give you a better idea, that said.......this year is bound to be different again.

Hope that's of some use,

Martin
As JK mentioned if you have a diesel yes. Otherwise have a small tarp to cover the front of the car as I do expect the water to be headlight deep.

Offline bert56

« Reply #20 on: March 25, 2011, 06:32:27 PM »
I'm into the 4wd,

Got: rear arb locker with arb air compressor, tjm steel bar. tigerz11 12000lb winch, k&n air cleaner, driving lights, canopy, roof racks, recovery gear, snorkel, towbar, steel steps.

Need: Some sort of recovery points (anyone got any ideas), mud tyres (6), 2" lift, finish homemade draws.

Any other ideas.

Bert

« Reply #21 on: March 25, 2011, 06:35:20 PM »
I'm into the 4wd,

Need: Some sort of recovery points (anyone got any ideas) Any other ideas.

Bert
Whats breed is the tow wagon??

Offline bert56

« Reply #22 on: March 25, 2011, 06:45:16 PM »
2007 mazda bt50. The tjm bar has "L" shaped brackets bolted to other brackets that are bolted to the where the original tie down points were. TJM removed the tie down points, lost them and then told me they make nothing that I can use for a replacements.

Also I have a dual battery system fitted.
Need to do the wiring to the tray and to anderson plugs.

Bert

« Reply #23 on: March 25, 2011, 08:12:52 PM »
Bert as I am your off sider email me some front and rear pics and I will see what I can do.

Offline bert56

« Reply #24 on: March 26, 2011, 04:58:51 AM »
Would like to Mark, but I am computer illiterate. Haven't been able to work out how to post photos. This is the best that I can do.

Bert
« Last Edit: March 26, 2011, 06:00:29 AM by bert56 »