General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2011 Cape York Members Trip => Topic started by: McGirr on June 26, 2011, 11:33:46 AM

Title: Where are we !!!
Post by: McGirr on June 26, 2011, 11:33:46 AM
We are currently at cooktown. Some are spending the day exploring cooktown. Jk did an engine mount doing the creb track but he has a spare and fixing it now. weather good apart from the wind but that's cooktown. Tomorrow off to archer river.

Title: Re: Where are we !!!
Post by: WaituiRob on June 26, 2011, 12:06:35 PM
Hi Everyone,

I hope you all have a wow of a time, a safe trip and bring back plenty of photos for us stay-at-homes.

Cheers, Robyn.
Post by: BigJules on June 26, 2011, 07:18:11 PM
Really looking forward to the updates.
Post by: Bird on June 26, 2011, 07:23:32 PM
Quote from: bigjules
Really looking forward to the updates.
Im not, specially while stuck at work  :-[ :-[ :-[ :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: bobnrob on June 26, 2011, 07:48:55 PM
Where are we !!!

Ummm...I'm guessing you're at Cooktown  :P

Hope the engine mount is the least of the problems, & the wind dies down for you all :)
Post by: singo-26 on June 28, 2011, 10:44:25 AM
Dad is up that way at the moment, camped at atherton and commented about the rain. Sounds like they might be having some fun.
Post by: Boo Boo on June 28, 2011, 01:34:56 PM
Spoke with Yogi yesterday afternoon and they were at Coen headed to Archer River, he commented that the weather was good so far no rain.  But that was as of 3pm yesterday.

Amanda
Post by: jclures on June 28, 2011, 07:46:01 PM
Duggie also rang my yesterday as he was heading up to the Archer River. He said no rain but plenty of wind, typical Cooktown weather, he went fishing on Sunday but didn’t catch anything worth talking about.
Post by: Paul and Bern on June 28, 2011, 08:35:46 PM
 :D Should be a good trip.  Have heard Nolan's Brook(?) has claimed a few recently so all take care and keep shiny sides up.
 :cheers: Paul
Post by: TroyE on June 28, 2011, 09:12:10 PM
wish I was there with you lot :'( rained in the ville today :'(
troy
Post by: idlegossip on July 01, 2011, 10:50:57 PM
Well guys a couple of use pulled into Siesia CP The adrenalin has been pumping hard and high. Some of the crew decided to camp on the Jardine river tonight whilst some pushed onto Siesia.

There are lots of stories to tell of trial and triumph. The stories will start over the next few days but I will start with some photos as I am to tired to write this time of night.

Post by: speewa158 on July 02, 2011, 05:31:52 AM
Were stuck at home & all we get is 5 pics  ,,,, thats crule  ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: JethroT on July 02, 2011, 08:00:56 AM
Thanks for the update,

Can you tell me did JK do the CREB track with the camper on.

Would have been a tough trip.

Geoff
Post by: hutchie62 on July 02, 2011, 09:12:56 AM
Making me want to go rigt now, only 27 days to go.
Post by: McGirr on July 02, 2011, 01:45:55 PM
Well here we are at the cape. Just arrived today. What a trip!! We did the otl from the start to finish where 95 % of people did not. We made a new track at gunshot and crossed every river. The most toughest trip I have done. The photos will blow you away when I get back to do the trip report. The group have had the best time. Last night we camped on the jardine to get rid of the excess  :cheers: !!! Still getting over it !!! A great group and a fantastic adventure !!! Updates when I am not drinking!!!

Mark ( The drunk tour leader !! )
Post by: yogi on July 02, 2011, 01:48:23 PM
Yes JK did the CREB with the camper as did Symon .... I just led them astray :D you will need to read the trip report for all the details ..... Oh it no fun on the OTL :D

Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 03:49:53 PM
Yep, the CREB was good fun - quite challenging with a camper in tow.

Lots of pics to come when I fire up the laptop tonight.
Post by: idlegossip on July 02, 2011, 04:52:24 PM
Some quick snaps of the myswag road construction group at gunshot with spectators.

We were considering charging a viewing fee.... people were waiting for us to build the road so they could get through.

Post by: idlegossip on July 02, 2011, 05:02:21 PM
And just a few more to keep you all going....

Kids even had a Movie night and they loved it... Who remembers the good old drive in's!!!!!!!
Post by: mystq on July 02, 2011, 06:12:48 PM
Wish I was there, it would be good to meet new people :D
Post by: D4D on July 02, 2011, 06:22:33 PM
Hope you refreshed with a coldie after all that hard and dusty work  :cup:
Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 06:33:01 PM
Here are a few more -

(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1374.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1382.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1408.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1431.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1434.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1442.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1482.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1504.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1542.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1635.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1646.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1683.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1694.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1740.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1784.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1789.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4702.JPG)
Post by: jaycamrie on July 02, 2011, 06:38:01 PM
some good looking river crossings there , you lucky buggers cannot wait till next year  :D
Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 06:40:57 PM
Some more -

(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4715.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4717.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4722.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4727.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4739.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4740.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4748.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4761.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4791.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4802.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4805.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4809.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4810.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4812.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4850.JPG)
Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 06:47:52 PM
And the last one for now -

(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4861.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4872.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4880.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4882.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4941.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4949.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4971.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4976.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4986.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_4996.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_5013.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_5036.JPG)
(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_5050.JPG)
Post by: Heiny on July 02, 2011, 07:09:56 PM
Loving these pics guys :cup: keep them coming when you get time :cheers:
Post by: D4D on July 02, 2011, 07:15:23 PM
Nice entry, please explain?

Post by: Bird on July 02, 2011, 07:19:41 PM
So what sort of things have gone wrong so far, few photos of bonnets up and people under cars...

Looks VERY damp :) :) Have snorkel, will travel!!! Hope its that wet next yr...
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 02, 2011, 07:30:56 PM
Keep the pictures coming, looks like a pearler of a trip :cup:

Post by: Teabag on July 02, 2011, 07:32:17 PM
Great stuff guys. Brings back fond memories....... :cheers:
Post by: heath74 on July 02, 2011, 07:46:40 PM
awesome pics, looks like a great trip.
Post by: hutchie62 on July 02, 2011, 09:39:43 PM
Still getting ready to go, this is just teasing. Keep the pics comming.
Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 09:58:42 PM
Nice entry, please explain?

Just a little payback from Bert on McGrr for clutch abuse :)
Post by: TroyE on July 02, 2011, 10:06:45 PM
is that nolans brook?

troy
Post by: dooguss on July 02, 2011, 10:18:29 PM
Great photos and looks like everyone having a great time, can't wait till next year.  :cheers:
Post by: Teabag on July 02, 2011, 10:33:02 PM
is that nolans brook?

troy

Yep........ ;D

Entertaining place..... ;D
Post by: TroyE on July 02, 2011, 10:45:52 PM
yep, thought I recognised it  >:D

troy
Post by: JCAT on July 02, 2011, 11:01:43 PM
Great photos, looks like a fantastic trip.

Am trying to talk the cheese and kisses into next years trip.

I see there were a couple of Lifestyle Campers on the trip. I would be very interested to hear how they went and if they had any issues to report.
Post by: idlegossip on July 02, 2011, 11:02:50 PM
A few more to keep everyone happy.

Nolan's Brook claimed a few but you will need to wait for Marks trip report for the fun info stuff.
Post by: Symon on July 02, 2011, 11:22:16 PM
I see there were a couple of Lifestyle Campers on the trip. I would be very interested to hear how they went and if they had any issues to report.

They float!
Post by: speewa158 on July 03, 2011, 07:13:13 AM
Absolutly Fantastic  to share the pics  of the Cape . Now when you are asked " How did that happen " as you look at a Ding or Scrape , Just tellem " Got it Up the Cape "    :cheers:
Post by: Rod Camping on July 03, 2011, 07:19:39 AM
They float!

That must mean that they are dust proof. Great trailer.
Post by: Dion on July 03, 2011, 08:09:55 AM
Gee Symon, did your canvas get wet in that crossing  ;D

(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1740.JPG)

Be interested in to know how the Colorado towing the Extenda went ... they're a big camper to tow through there!
Post by: Symon on July 03, 2011, 08:38:25 AM
Gee Symon, did your canvas get wet in that crossing  ;D

Be interested in to know how the Colorado towing the Extenda went ... they're a big camper to tow through there!

Surprisingly it was bone dry, as was the inside of the camper.  I did a lot of work on the seals after the amount of red dust I got from last time I came up here.

I'll let Brett tell the story of the Colorado, but from what I saw he did really well.  Even got through Nolan's without a tow.
Post by: bjf on July 03, 2011, 09:02:12 AM
The Colorado went well, a bit tight in places, to get around the turn at gunshot it was a 5 point turn. The camper is in showroom condition, well almost except for the trim panels below the chassis, stabilizers legs, side lights, a few scrape marks, ..... I think some rock sliders for the ct would be good.
Post by: WogsRus on July 03, 2011, 09:11:21 AM
HOLY CRAP, that looks a bit tight with a camper. I am assuming you guys are taking the OT tracks not the bypas roads.

I think next year we will do some of the OT but bypas most due to the handbrake and all.

Out of curiosity, how is the NS/NT paj going on the trip, the silver one?
Post by: Dr Dre on July 03, 2011, 09:22:35 AM
Awesome report guys water crossing look deep still.

Can't wait 12 days & we head off for the tip ;D
Post by: GU Rich on July 03, 2011, 09:24:55 AM
There are some great shots being posted! Cheers for that  ;D

rich
Post by: Dion on July 03, 2011, 09:47:31 AM
The Colorado went well, a bit tight in places, to get around the turn at gunshot it was a 5 point turn. The camper is in showroom condition, well almost except for the trim panels below the chassis, stabilizers legs, side lights, a few scrape marks, ..... I think some rock sliders for the ct would be good.

Do you reckon the older style Extendas with the shorter rear overhang would have made a difference?
Post by: JCAT on July 03, 2011, 11:20:15 AM
BJF,

did you take any steps to protect your drawbar from stone chips. How has the hammertone paint handled the going? We also have an Extenda Elite.

JCAT
Post by: bjf on July 03, 2011, 07:03:17 PM
Dion, the shorter rear overhang might have been better but with that version the front might have been burried more. We had the previous version but changed to the new version to get some weight off the ute for clearance.

JCAT, I have wrapped the drawer bar with carpet and have lined the front tool box with carpet also. However there are places on the underside with powdercoating missing and also missing some on the lower section of the stone guard. We also have mud flaps in front of the stablisier legs to keep grit out of the mechanisim.

Post by: Symon on July 03, 2011, 07:34:33 PM
WE MADE IT!!

(http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape%202011/IMG_1927.JPG)
Post by: TroyE on July 04, 2011, 04:39:23 PM
awesome, congrats on getting there, now the fun begins, getting back alive and undamaged  (have fun):cheers:

troy
Post by: Snow on July 04, 2011, 05:35:20 PM
Great effort intrepid travellers. :cup: Coming home should be a snack now. On the map it is all downhill. ;D
Post by: Barrabart on July 04, 2011, 06:45:30 PM
Good report so far,,,, sounds like a blast!........ good onya's!!......... Safe travels!!
Post by: Teabag on July 04, 2011, 06:52:47 PM
Well done but where are the fishy pics. ;D
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 04, 2011, 07:52:57 PM

Great series of photo's so far.  I'm going to be the first one to put my hand up for a DVD of the trip. 

Oh and can you pan the camera to the Aussie Swag doing some crossings please?  It may be the one thing that makes The Man start planning!

Post by: Vi_n_Geoff on July 07, 2011, 10:01:16 PM

Out of curiosity, how is the NS/NT paj going on the trip, the silver one?

Hey Wogs,

thats would be my NT. I'm on the Pajero forum as well. The Paj has performed magnficently, exceding all my expectations. We are sitting here at Cooktown and taking stock of how rough the trip has been and i havent had to touch a single nut or bolt, apart from cleaning the air filter out daily. It is still as tight as a drum and no rattles apart from the fridge mounts.

All the mods ive done have also performed great and there is virtually nothing that i wouldnt do again, although some things will be modified for greater versatility.

Geoff
Post by: WogsRus on July 08, 2011, 07:31:31 AM
Thanks Mate, makes me a little bit more at ease doing this trip next year. How did you go with water ingress with the crossings and all?
Post by: Proudy on July 08, 2011, 07:47:23 AM
Great photo's looks like a good time by all who went.
Post by: Symon on July 08, 2011, 08:28:21 AM
Oh and can you pan the camera to the Aussie Swag doing some crossings please?  It may be the one thing that makes The Man start planning!

You mean like this?
Post by: jk on July 08, 2011, 08:34:24 AM
We're home again so I thought I would crunch a few numbers for those who might be interested, these figures are for our 62 series Landcruiser ( 6.5l V8 diesel ) towing a 1.5t hard floor camper, both well and truly loaded. They include the total trip ie, the trip from Brisbane to Cairns, The Creb Track ( about 3 hours to go the first 30km ), the complete OLT, sight seeing at the Tip and the dash home to Brisbane ( Seisia 10am Tuesday to Brisbane 11.30am Thursday ),

Total KM traveled.......................5919km
Total litres used.........................1012Lt
Total fuel cost............................$1563.11
Average Lt/100km.......................17/100
Average fuel price.......................$1.54 ( Seisia $2.29per Lt )

Just thought it might help anyone leaving soon to plan ahead,

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 08, 2011, 10:11:56 AM
You mean like this?

Exactly like that.   ;D  Thanks so much!  :cup:  Feel free to post more where applicable.

Now ... where is that bloke of mine?  That SHOULD be us ... :'(

Post by: Symon on July 08, 2011, 11:44:14 AM
What about these ones?  ;D
Post by: JCAT on July 08, 2011, 12:04:04 PM
Dion, the shorter rear overhang might have been better but with that version the front might have been burried more. We had the previous version but changed to the new version to get some weight off the ute for clearance.

JCAT, I have wrapped the drawer bar with carpet and have lined the front tool box with carpet also. However there are places on the underside with powdercoating missing and also missing some on the lower section of the stone guard. We also have mud flaps in front of the stablisier legs to keep grit out of the mechanisim.

BJF, with regards to carpeting the drawbar:

Did you just cable tie it on?

Was it one piece or three different pieces for each section of the drawbar?

Did you use standard carpet or marine?

I have some lino lying around and are wondering whether that would do the job?

Any chance of a picture or two of the carpet on the drawer bar?

Thanks JCAT
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 08, 2011, 03:46:17 PM
What about these ones?  ;D

Thanks Symon ... I am loving those action shots!!  If that doesn't get him in the mood, then I don't know what will!  I'll even get the cape DVD when it becomes available to tempt him further.  If that doesn't work then I'll leave him behind and give it a go myself.   ;D

Post by: Dr Dre on July 09, 2011, 07:58:04 AM

Total KM traveled.......................5919km
Total litres used.........................1012Lt
Average Lt/100km.......................17/100
Average fuel price.......................$1.54 ( Seisia $2.29per Lt )

Just thought it might help anyone leaving soon to plan ahead,

Thanks heaps for that & that's good mileage with all that weight.

Gives me something to work with when we head off in 6 days ;D
Post by: Vi_n_Geoff on July 09, 2011, 09:37:37 PM
Thanks Mate, makes me a little bit more at ease doing this trip next year. How did you go with water ingress with the crossings and all?

The only water that came into the car was in Nolans Brook. However, that was due to us being stuck climbing the sand bank and the rear of the car was tail light deep. It half filled the rear seat well that i keep my recovery gear in and the rear floor, but not too bad considering my camper started floating down stream!!!!

Geoff
Post by: Symon on July 11, 2011, 07:38:47 PM
It certainly does float - Clicky Clicky (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/Geoff1.wmv)

Edit - Youtube link (http://youtu.be/dkBsCJ1vh5s)
Post by: D4D on July 11, 2011, 07:42:56 PM
Wow, great vision and good effort in the recovery.
Post by: BigJules on July 11, 2011, 08:50:29 PM
The recovery guys look like they're having the time of their lives.
Post by: meimarocu on July 11, 2011, 08:59:31 PM
MORE..MORE..MORE.    :D

Ian
Post by: mystq on July 11, 2011, 09:00:41 PM
Some vids would be great ;D
Post by: Symon on July 11, 2011, 09:29:11 PM
OK, here is another one -

High res direct link (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/Yogi%20Palm%20Creek.wmv)
Low res youtube link (http://youtu.be/ceTbvxNBEkU)
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2011, 09:40:54 PM
OK, here is another one -

High res direct link (http://brushe.id.au/symon/myswag/cape11/Yogi%20Palm%20Creek.wmv)
Low res youtube link (http://youtu.be/ceTbvxNBEkU)
maybe add the sizes next to the files :)

Looks like fun!
Post by: Symon on July 11, 2011, 09:57:08 PM
One more before I head to bed for the night.

Low res youtube link (http://youtu.be/tMwcd9J2OJM) (now fixed)
High res direct link (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/jk%20Nolans.wmv)

Yogi
Low res youtube link (http://youtu.be/kWkIsoLgCkQ)
High res direct link (http://symon.id.au/symon/Cape 2011/Yogi%20Nolans.wmv)
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2011, 10:08:28 PM
High res direct link (http://brushe.id.au/symon/myswag/cape11/jk%20Nolans.wmv)
that sounds sweet.....
Post by: Gunna Do on July 11, 2011, 10:09:28 PM
 :cup: All great videos.  Look'n forward to a few more. Thanks.

Yogi's Cruiser does sound great.
Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 12:10:09 PM
I really love Yogi's winch - Clicky Clicky (http://youtu.be/TfAsRI0PMeI)
Post by: BigJules on July 12, 2011, 12:36:59 PM
Did you get your winch going again Symon?
Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 12:48:48 PM
Yes I did, as it turned out it was just a grease nipple on the PTO driveshaft hitting up against the activation cable.  Tim adjusted the cable and got it out of the way and it is all good again.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 12, 2011, 02:38:57 PM
Symon, I love the whispers of encouragement from the film crew.  She was willing you up every inch of the way.

Great video.
Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 05:31:01 PM

I forgot to reset the ODO so I don't know how many km I travelled, but the credit card statement says I spent $1303 on fuel for up to the tip and back from Mackay.
Post by: McGirr on July 12, 2011, 06:03:07 PM
Fuel cost ... Who cares !!! It's the grog cost that has me worried  :cheers:

Post by: bert56 on July 12, 2011, 07:31:05 PM
Hi D4D, I was shot across nolans by yogi. Nearly hit the bank on the far side because I could not see for the water over the screen. One of the most thrilling rides I've every had behind a steering wheel. Thanks YOGI.

Bert
Post by: yogi on July 12, 2011, 07:41:25 PM
Sorry Bert but after reviewing the video I think I know what went wrong .......... when I said go you should have started accelerating ...... it looks like the 3 x snatch straps took up the load and the 600 odd NM of torque in the cruiser took over ...... sorry but after that it was just hold on for the ride.

Like I say after every adventure if you didn't learn anything then it's time to give up 4x4ing as you know everything >:D

Post by: McGirr on July 12, 2011, 08:20:19 PM
Bert I remember saying to Yogi use first low or was it fourth low to get you across but boy did you sling shot past me. I want a go next time !!!

Post by: Symon on July 12, 2011, 08:31:29 PM
Doesn't particularly matter as damn it looked cool, I'm saving that footage for the DVD, it would be a shame to release it earlier.
Post by: Burnsy on July 12, 2011, 10:35:35 PM
One more before I head to bed for the night.

Low res youtube link (http://youtu.be/tMwcd9J2OJM) (now fixed)
High res direct link (http://brushe.id.au/symon/myswag/cape11/jk%20Nolans.wmv)

JK was pretty lucky that strap did not find it's way under the wheels ;D
Post by: Symon on July 13, 2011, 06:48:18 AM
JK was pretty lucky that strap did not find it's way under the wheels ;D

Unfortunately mine did, luckily it snagged after I got out of the creek.  Next time I'll hang it off the snorkel or something.
Post by: bert56 on July 13, 2011, 06:55:49 AM
Mark you are bullsh#tting again. Yogi it was fun except for nearly hitting the bank.

Bert
Post by: jk on July 13, 2011, 09:04:04 AM
In hind sight I should have put the strap in the pocket supplied on the front of the bra, a bit of luck goes a long way  ;D
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 13, 2011, 04:49:49 PM
put the strap in the pocket supplied on the front of the bra,

Kit_e checks her Bra for pockets ...
Post by: bjf on July 16, 2011, 05:36:36 PM
BJF, with regards to carpeting the drawbar:

Did you just cable tie it on?

Was it one piece or three different pieces for each section of the drawbar?

Did you use standard carpet or marine?

I have some lino lying around and are wondering whether that would do the job?

Any chance of a picture or two of the carpet on the drawer bar?

Thanks JCAT

I used four pieces of marine carpet fixed in place with cable ties, anything will do as you will throw these away after the trip.
Post by: SteveandViv on July 20, 2011, 08:16:50 AM
Well, we are sitting in Coen waiting for a new idlers pulley assembly to arive tomorrow. We had a nosiy bearing for a week now and I tried to keep it quiet with WD40 but on the way down yesterday it shat it's self and the belt came off.

As Frostd and myself looked at the damage and tried to come up with a plan suddenly Frostd came up with the thought to use a Nissan belt (yes I know - Nissan ) as it was shorter (Cheers Frosty) so we took off a few pulleys and with fair amount of swearing got it on. it was real tight and nosiy by we got back to Coen and Frostd headed down to Cape Trib.

So it seem I will owe Terry a case of beer as the Nissan did rescue the Paj after all  ;D
Post by: Frostd on July 22, 2011, 08:28:38 PM
Cheers Steve. I am glad you arrived safely and the part was dispached quickly so we could hook up again. We stayed at Hahn River Road House after leaving you guys.  Its a long time since I have seen a wood fired hot water kettle feeding the showers, but a good spot to stop.
Post by: JCAT on July 22, 2011, 08:39:16 PM
Thanks BJF, I have done something similar (perhaps overkill on my behalf).

I did the bottom of the stoneguard, between the mudflaps and screen and half way up the side of the stoneguard as well.