Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506410 times)

Offline Gazza00

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #800 on: March 23, 2018, 09:21:24 AM »

Here ya go Jeep's  .... and plenty of room for a mower or two in the back     ;D

https://blog.caranddriver.com/oh-my-god-its-a-mirage-the-rare-70s-cadillac-pickup-thats-very-very-real/

« Reply #801 on: March 23, 2018, 12:30:44 PM »
They're a pretty cool ol ute huh.

Evel Knievel had one way back when too.

Miller Meteor and Superior, the 2 big names in hearses and ambulances built a similar thing as well called Flower Cars.

I'd own one.  8)

How's this for factory hot up gear, if ya want ya mid 50's Cadillac to haul arse.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1955-1956-Cadillac-dual-quad-carburator-set-up-with-air-cleaner/222887234912

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #802 on: March 23, 2018, 08:50:47 PM »
How's this for factory hot up gear, if ya want ya mid 50's Cadillac to haul arse.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1955-1956-Cadillac-dual-quad-carburator-set-up-with-air-cleaner/222887234912

Fuel must have been cheap back then   ....   hate to be feeding it today   :'( :'(

« Reply #803 on: March 24, 2018, 08:29:56 AM »
Sooo you want a bit of a tuning headache and tow a trailer full of fuel .... Hang this set up on ya Baby  ;D ;D  Sounds alright and runs smooth ..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hy8rufA6Pyw

« Reply #804 on: March 24, 2018, 12:44:40 PM »
Its a bit of a slug. It looks all showy and crap, but one good carb would walk all over that set up.

What a wanker, to warm it up, he keeps cracking the throttle... no air cleaners....no hope.

« Reply #805 on: March 24, 2018, 03:39:42 PM »
Though you'd like it,  HA ha ha, Way way over carbed ...
Reckon a Hyundai would flog it, It was that quick .

« Reply #806 on: March 24, 2018, 04:58:20 PM »
[quote ]
There are many many many many things Im not proud of I'd do to own that car
[/quote]

Well Birdman, Heres hoping your $365.000 dollar A9X Torana  looks nice in your garage .

Offline Raym

« Reply #807 on: March 25, 2018, 11:03:42 AM »
A woman standing in the doorway of an RV/camper at an exhibition in London, 1927.

http://www.vintag.es/…/a-woman-standing-in-doorway-of-rvcam…

Offline Ragman

« Reply #808 on: March 26, 2018, 11:58:48 PM »
A woman standing in the doorway of an RV/camper at an exhibition in London, 1927.

http://www.vintag.es/…/a-woman-standing-in-doorway-of-rvcam…

in those days they understood aerodynamics but had no power to make it work. does my head in seeing vans with rounded fronts and square backs. anybody who understands aero knows the back is more important to aerodynamic efficiency.

« Reply #809 on: March 27, 2018, 11:15:22 AM »
Well Birdman, Heres hoping your $365.000 dollar A9X Torana  looks nice in your garage .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqG54xBw2YI&spfreload=5

one for Ford people
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zkbk8xlH7uc
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 11:17:50 AM by Bird »

« Reply #810 on: March 27, 2018, 12:50:16 PM »
The big issue with these big money cars, is you can't drive the friggin things.

Insurance will be through the roof and watching just one dash cam video clip will see the car stay in the garage.
Every mile, every stone chip, will see the decline of 'em, by way of wear and tear etc. (IMHO)

One car for say, $300,000 or $400,000 or 10 cars and have a fleet.

Shit, i'd have a fleet, one for every day and a couple of spares. 

« Reply #811 on: March 27, 2018, 12:53:50 PM »
The big issue with these big money cars, is you can't drive the friggin things.

Insurance will be through the roof and watching just one dash cam video clip will see the car stay in the garage.
Every mile, every stone chip, will see the decline of 'em, by way of wear and tear etc. (IMHO)

One car for say, $300,000 or $400,000 or 10 cars and have a fleet.

Shit, i'd have a fleet, one for every day and a couple of spares.

Mate brought up an interesting point... with the decline in AU car manufacturing and car racing being a joke, do you think there will be a market for "old" cars like there is today? EG: modern 'race cars for the street' in 40yrs time?

or even the GTHO or A9X... wonder what they would be worth then..

« Reply #812 on: March 27, 2018, 01:09:10 PM »
Its a tough one Bruce, no-one ever thought a GT would ever sell for the dollars they do now, so who knows.

I had a mate sell an XY GT back in the mid 90's for $18,000 and at the time, it was good money.

« Reply #813 on: March 27, 2018, 01:50:51 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
Its a tough one Bruce, no-one ever thought a GT would ever sell for the dollars they do now, so who knows.

I had a mate sell an XY GT back in the mid 90's for $18,000 and at the time, it was good money.
We paddock bashed a mates Monaro as teenagers, then... it caught fire. we did that with heaps of cars we got for ~$10... some would be worth diamonds now :'(

« Reply #814 on: March 27, 2018, 04:12:59 PM »
If the Greenies and the Engineers etc. get their way, you won't be able to get fuel to run them.
LPG has a finish date now, and not long to go either.

« Reply #815 on: March 27, 2018, 04:29:14 PM »
Stuff em I'll  make my own fuel
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 07:06:14 PM by edz »

« Reply #816 on: March 27, 2018, 04:49:55 PM »
Can you build a bigger version Edz?
I reckon we could get in on a good thing soon. >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #817 on: March 27, 2018, 05:38:15 PM »
If the Greenies and the Engineers etc. get their way, you won't be able to get fuel to run them.
LPG has a finish date now, and not long to go either.
Caltex Kurnell burnt off gas for decades before they found out it was valuable... It isnt going anywhere anytime anywhere near soon.
If the greens get their way... more chance of world peace.

« Reply #818 on: March 31, 2018, 02:04:36 PM »
A local has turned his pride and joy into a mobile Coffee / food van, Have seen the van around and its very nice . Always spins your head as it goes by .

« Reply #819 on: March 31, 2018, 02:37:06 PM »
That's a great looking set up. (I'd raise the trailer height to match the van though)

« Reply #820 on: March 31, 2018, 02:47:42 PM »
I've tried to compress a pic, not sure whether its worked.

« Reply #821 on: March 31, 2018, 02:51:12 PM »
Ha ha, worked twice?

« Reply #822 on: March 31, 2018, 04:32:34 PM »
Is that Shanes beastie or a customer car Kev ?

Might be a new opportunity for you and Astrid,  kev, Something a bit easier than mowing .
« Last Edit: March 31, 2018, 05:00:06 PM by edz »

« Reply #823 on: March 31, 2018, 05:18:28 PM »
His own car...... the coffee thing might catch on.