Author Topic: Your Thoughts On 42litre Evakool Fridge  (Read 7847 times)

Offline NewcastleKnight

Your Thoughts On 42litre Evakool Fridge
« on: March 05, 2012, 06:06:55 PM »
I have made, what I thought was an unrealistic offer on a second hand 42litre evakool fridge/freezer.  It was advertised for $600 and I offered $400 and they are happy to sell.  It is 5 years old and looks to be in good order. 

I have not made a final coomitment, thoughts s it worth it??

Re: Your Thoughts On 42litre Evakool Fridge
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 06:15:58 PM »
Looks ok the only problems I had with an evakool esky was the front lockdown straps they kept breaking.

Offline outback jack

« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 08:42:55 PM »
Go for it mate, IMO the best fridge going  :cheers:

If the compressor Shits itself, you've still got the the best esky going  :cheers:

The others are useless with just ice  :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 08:43:57 PM »

We have a 65ltr and they are brilliant.  They also now have the bungy cord style closures.

« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 09:03:25 PM by Kit_e_kat9 »

Offline Slug

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2012, 09:00:36 PM »
I do currently have some issues with mine but that aside it looks like a good deal, also seems to come with the power adapter which is another $100 or more!  Im assuming you have the chance to see it running?

Offline markymark

• everyone seems normal until you get to know them
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2012, 09:02:57 PM »
They're no good - I'll take it off you for $450  ;D

Mark.
Trak Shak, FJ Cruiser

« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2012, 09:29:06 PM »
I've got a mate who's got the exact one and he loves it,  and has had no issues at all.
Chews stuff all and keeps the :cheers: nice and cold.

Cheers BD

« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2012, 10:42:30 PM »
It was advertised for $600 and I offered $400 and they are happy to sell.

As long as it works, for 400 bucks, you got yourself a bargain, dont stress, stand up to your offer, chill the beers and enjoy your new purchase, why stress about it now?

Offline Chris-Vi

• Prado and Sportscruiser 1550
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2012, 06:34:52 AM »
Go for it if you have seen it running. Have had a 60 litre for a few years now and love it. Nice and quiet and would buy another one. Factory is really good to deal with also.  :cheers:
2008 Prado GX
2013 Sportscruiser 1550

Offline toad

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2012, 08:42:38 AM »
 NK, why offer $400 in the first place if you weren't serious?
You'll have no worries, our 60L Evakool is a ripper.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2012, 09:28:39 AM »
NK, why offer $400 in the first place if you weren't serious?
You'll have no worries, our 60L Evakool is a ripper.

There seems to be some misconception or assumption that I was not serious. 

I really made the offer thinking that it would not be accepted and had given it no further thought given that the offer was made over a week ago and they only got back to me last night.

I simply asked for peoples thoughts on the fridge and whether people thought it was a good buy as I have little, make that no experience with Evakool fridges.

So if I am guilty of anything it is that I made a flippant offer before doing my research.

Thanks for the reply.

« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2012, 09:50:37 AM »
Well done mate, they r the ducks guts.
Love mine.

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2012, 10:12:18 AM »
I am thinking that I would be able to change the current latches over for the bungy style ones.

Offline Slug

« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2012, 12:08:57 PM »
Yeah apparntly its an easy swap over, but in saying that i have the rubber clip on ones and they have often been squashed between the fridge and box when being slid back in its hidey hole!

Offline toad

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2012, 03:06:16 PM »
There seems to be some misconception or assumption that I was not serious. 

I really made the offer thinking that it would not be accepted and had given it no further thought given that the offer was made over a week ago and they only got back to me last night.

I simply asked for peoples thoughts on the fridge and whether people thought it was a good buy as I have little, make that no experience with Evakool fridges.

So if I am guilty of anything it is that I made a flippant offer before doing my research.

Thanks for the reply.
NK, no offence taken.
I'll take it off you for $400 if you don't want to proceed.
 The rubber latches are fine, just don't get them caught on anything.
Our Evakool has them without issue.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2014 AOR Quantum

« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2012, 07:06:19 PM »

NewcastleKnight,

We enjoy the bungy style cordage and have no experience with the "other" style.  I'm sure if you contacted the factory direct, they could easily assist you with the change over and supply necessary parts.  They are happy to help you.

We have our compressor at the other end (you might not have noticed in the photo) as we access it from our kitchen 'the other way around' to the normal production line.  It didn't cost as a cent more to have it done and they were only too happy to make it to our specifications, as it's not a standard 65 ltr sizing (I believe).

You certainly won't get a better fridge / freezer!  We love ripping into an ice cream cone when out on a camp, and The Man does enjoy ice cubes in his Bundy & coke.

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #16 on: March 06, 2012, 07:21:23 PM »

NewcastleKnight,

We enjoy the bungy style cordage and have no experience with the "other" style.  I'm sure if you contacted the factory direct, they could easily assist you with the change over and supply necessary parts.  They are happy to help you.

We have our compressor at the other end (you might not have noticed in the photo) as we access it from our kitchen 'the other way around' to the normal production line.  It didn't cost as a cent more to have it done and they were only too happy to make it to our specifications, as it's not a standard 65 ltr sizing (I believe).

You certainly won't get a better fridge / freezer!  We love ripping into an ice cream cone when out on a camp, and The Man does enjoy ice cubes in his Bundy & coke.

Thanks Kit_e, I have already checked out the evakool site and I can buy the bungee clips.  I have an evakool esky and it's great.

This is a second fridge for me, I have a 60 litre Engel. 

My dearest has told me I don't need it as I have ordered the bigger fridge for the Expanda but I can't resist a deal....lol

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2012, 09:05:57 AM »
Well fridge is now safely at home and works well.  It is in great condition and has been extremely well looked after.

I don't have an instruction manual for it.  Can those who have them explain how they work in terms of the freezer and the fridge sections.

Do you just put it on really cold if you want the freezer section to work and the coldness then transfers to the fridge section?

Not sure if that makes any sense but hopefully someone will understand.

Marc

Offline toad

« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2012, 10:01:48 AM »
 I run ours in economy mode (on 8 out of 9) and it freezes in the freezer section well.

I see yours has a  fuse holder. We upgraded ours to a circuit breaker courtesy of EvaKool.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2014 AOR Quantum

Offline outback jack

« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2012, 03:22:27 PM »
I run ours in economy mode (on 8 out of 9) and it freezes in the freezer section well.

I see yours has a  fuse holder. We upgraded ours to a circuit breaker courtesy of EvaKool.

yeah i wanted to upgrade to a circuit breaker as well, they sent me down one at no cost, they also sent me down a danfoss thermostat at no cost. great fridge, great service  :cup:

Offline NewcastleKnight

Your Thoughts On 42litre Evakool Fridge
« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2012, 05:02:03 PM »
Is it difficult to install the circuit breaker?

« Reply #21 on: March 08, 2012, 09:33:28 PM »

We always run as fridge / freezer.  Ours is set by temperature in the fridge section only.  It runs at between 0C and 4C and we have it set on 4 or 5 (sometimes less).  We use the wireless fridge monitor whilst on route and in camp and adjust it up and down depending on ambient temps.  We do try and keep our fridge box out of the sun where possible (on camp) and have our fridge box fan on whilst driving (cuts in when temp is over 32C inside the box).

Offline outback jack

« Reply #22 on: March 09, 2012, 07:16:53 AM »
Is it difficult to install the circuit breaker?

not too difficult, i contacted them and they emailed me the wiring diagram  :cheers:

Offline wartim

« Reply #23 on: March 10, 2012, 06:42:55 PM »
Not wanting to hijack this thread, however it is all about people who own an evacool fridge.

I like the idea of being able to use it as a fridge/freezer and was looking at the 70 litre yellow evacool today.  I noticed it didnt look very deep and may not take a large soft drink bottle or 3 litre milk bottle in height has anyone had this problem?

And do you run them at home with an inverter?

Wartim

Offline NewcastleKnight

« Reply #24 on: March 10, 2012, 07:11:53 PM »
Just checked and mine takes a 1.25l bottle standing up.