Author Topic: Always fancied a GTHO might grab this one?  (Read 11561 times)

Offline Watty2975

Re: Always fancied a GTHO might grab this one?
« Reply #25 on: November 06, 2013, 12:33:46 AM »
Nope here tis

NICE :cup:
One of the most iconic Australian muscle cars.
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

« Reply #26 on: November 06, 2013, 11:32:15 AM »
Like most Fords - those two are horribly over priced. Just cos the actual GTHOs are the best falcon (of a an extremely poor bunch) built by a long way and the fact that they didn't make many doesn't necessarily mean its actually any good or even collectible

Plus they are fugly

If I was ultra rich I would buy all teh GTHOs that ever came up and burn them for my amusement................. yes, yes I would  :cheers:

They didn't make many (300) but there are over 3 thousand around today.

« Reply #27 on: November 06, 2013, 12:07:08 PM »
I would have thought $350k would get you a fully restored HO. Check out the pics under the bonnet. Looking very secondhand .

You can get a car and restore it as many times as you please, but it can only ever be 'original' once. 
Sort after cars with original paint (complete with crows feet and scratches) and untouched interiors are starting to fetch crazy money.  I get what you mean though, if I had the $$$'s I'd want a pristine one.

They didn't make many (300) but there are over 3 thousand around today.

LOL. 
I remember a magazine interview with the late Howard Marsden (Ford Racing boss from the GTHO era) said somthing along the line of.  "We built 300 Phase 3's and about half of those were destroyed in racing and road accidents, but whats good for prosperity is about 600 have survived" ;D

« Reply #28 on: November 06, 2013, 12:08:25 PM »
I'm not sure the Phase III is necessarily the 'best' Falcon either.

Correct, we were sold the base model GT's. The good ones went to South Africa.

Shane.

« Reply #29 on: November 06, 2013, 12:17:54 PM »
Nope here tis

If that's a genuine article and not a clone, that's a VERY collectable vehicle. One of around 35ish produced ? Most of those died on race tracks..........

Shane.

Offline abc1

« Reply #30 on: November 06, 2013, 12:33:29 PM »

So why drive the ford  ???

because they are fast ! :cup:

« Reply #31 on: November 06, 2013, 01:24:56 PM »
If that's a genuine article and not a clone, that's a VERY collectable vehicle. One of around 35ish produced ? Most of those died on race tracks..........

Shane.
True, they made about 40 for race specs but another 350+ to sell. All up there was around 400 of them, about half had 351 and the others only 302. They came out with some having 9 inch diffs, some top loaders, C4, C6, Borg Warner. A bit of a mixed bag.

I used to have a couple of 2 door Falcons when I was younger (not Cobras) so I knew a fair bit about them. I could have bought one off a mate in around 1997/98. He wanted $12k, I got him down to $10.5 but he wouldn't go any lower. I said mate we are too far apart on the price. Wish I had have bought it in hindsight. They are getting pretty rare now.

« Reply #32 on: November 06, 2013, 06:13:44 PM »
Nope here tis

i can still recall seeing one of those parked in the front yard of a house at Redcliffe some 25 years ago. i clearly remember the vehicle due to the atleast 100mtr long burnout that ran down the main road starting from the driveway of that particular house....lol

« Reply #33 on: November 06, 2013, 06:29:31 PM »
They are my favourite Aussie muscle car. The funny thing is Ford Australia had to come with a plan of getting rid of about 400 XC Coupe body shells before the release of the XD ( square shape) Falcons in 1979.
Solution was to paint them up Shelby Cobra colours and flog them off as a specialist model Cobra. It was a huge success and they certainly looked the goods.
One fact that many people don't know is that the Cobras were all painted in Blue. They then masked up the blue stripe areas and painted them white.

« Reply #34 on: November 06, 2013, 07:12:08 PM »
I love the look of most  coupes especially the Torana

Offline Nick74

« Reply #35 on: November 06, 2013, 07:15:01 PM »
Nick, performance, handling, looks.....none of these have anything to do with why some cars are considered collectible.   There is always something cheaper that is faster, handles better, or looks better.  Plenty of the rare exotics fetching big bucks are woeful road cars with dubious track success.  As an extension to that, no modern Falcon GT will ever fetch the relative prices of the HO.  They are much better cars, but again, that's irrelevant.

I'm not sure the Phase III is necessarily the 'best' Falcon either.

Its ok Paul, don't take it too serious.
Your fence looks great by the way
Cheers Nick
2013 PB Challenger
2011 GIC Offroad aka Katie
If I loved these tyres any more they would be beer - David Freiberger 2015

« Reply #36 on: November 06, 2013, 07:23:49 PM »

Shane.
So question is, who has a South African one and why were they better than ours?

« Reply #37 on: November 06, 2013, 07:24:52 PM »
There is an old boy who cruises around Caloundra in his burnt orange HQ monaro................and has a luggage rack bolted to the boot lid.
My old man told me he has been driving it since new and its still a beautiful looking car. Wonder what something like that would fetch today?

« Reply #38 on: November 06, 2013, 07:33:10 PM »
About $50.00 is the going rate for a luggage rack.  ;D

« Reply #39 on: November 06, 2013, 07:37:04 PM »
I'll cop that......................What's a good monaro worth today................/

« Reply #40 on: November 06, 2013, 07:58:16 PM »

Shane.
Disagree Shane, i could be mistaken but around 25 years ago i lived and breathed Ford muscle cars. the SA cars had a low spec engine and they were Fairmonts not Falcons. Besides the obvious differences in the compliance plate prefix MS33 and not JG33 experts will pick flaws in the panel work with 2nd rate welds and gaps between panels.
I would have to get some old mags out of storage to justify my statement as I am relying on my memory.

« Reply #41 on: November 07, 2013, 05:22:48 AM »
So question is, who has a South African one and why were they better than ours?

Ours were Falcon GT's. Fairmont GT's were exported, but it's only in the name. Same car, different trim.

Shane.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2013, 08:08:41 AM by Footy Shorts Shane »

« Reply #42 on: November 07, 2013, 08:32:35 AM »
Disagree Shane, i could be mistaken but around 25 years ago i lived and breathed Ford muscle cars. the SA cars had a low spec engine and they were Fairmonts not Falcons. Besides the obvious differences in the compliance plate prefix MS33 and not JG33 experts will pick flaws in the panel work with 2nd rate welds and gaps between panels.
I would have to get some old mags out of storage to justify my statement as I am relying on my memory.

I have tried to forget most stuff I know about Ford over the last 25 years.  ;D

I thought JG/JH was Melb/Bris plant and MS S.A. export.  33 GT, 35 F/mont. ?

Anyhoo, same vehicle sent to SA bar the trim. Both 54H body shells. Both 351 4V, not HO spec though. The Australian built car is of F/mont spec in reality, sold as a Falcon. Sold as F/mont in S.A. Same car different trim, gauges and glass.

Same as the HT monaro. All 350, 10 bolt, GTS spec cars (Except transmission) exported and sold as Chevy SS.

Pretty sure that's close to being right ???

Shane.

« Reply #43 on: November 07, 2013, 11:08:37 AM »
I have tried to forget most stuff I know about Ford over the last 25 years.  ;D

I thought JG/JH was Melb/Bris plant and MS S.A. export.  33 GT, 35 F/mont. ?

Anyhoo, same vehicle sent to SA bar the trim. Both 54H body shells. Both 351 4V, not HO spec though. The Australian built car is of F/mont spec in reality, sold as a Falcon. Sold as F/mont in S.A. Same car different trim, gauges and glass.

Same as the HT monaro. All 350, 10 bolt, GTS spec cars (Except transmission) exported and sold as Chevy SS.

Pretty sure that's close to being right ???

Shane.
Yeah I reckon your right on the codes, I would have to do a bit of research on Google or dig up some old mags. I am pretty sure the SA ones were assembled in Johanesburg so I guess M= SA and S = Johansburg, not 100% sure. I have never seen a SA GT except in a magazine. I could have bought an XWGT off a mate for $10k around 15/16 years ago but once again hindsight is a wonderful thing. He sold the GT and his Mrs 67 Mustang 289 fastback to a car yard for $20k cash before he moved overseas. His GT was in good nick but the 351 Windsor engine was not the original numbers.

On another note, I was lucky to have a look at a SA Monaro up here in Cairns about 18 months ago. I was talking to my mechanic and noticed the Monaro up on the hoist. I asked if I could come in to the workshop to have a look at it. He must have noticed the puzzled look on my face as he asked me what do think is wrong with it. I said nothing, looks great but the grill looks different. He grinned and said well spotted. he then lowered the hoist for a closer look and I noticed that the grill had been cut and rejoined on either side of the headlights. That is when he told me it was from SA. That is the only one I have ever seen close up. I haven't seen it on the road since that day.