Author Topic: Rear fold or Forward fold  (Read 7006 times)

Offline Palmer

Rear fold or Forward fold
« on: August 14, 2019, 05:48:20 PM »
I'm looking at getting back into the camper trailer world.

Previously had a 2015 Jayco Swan OB, which was set up nicely for us and went around Australia, including Cape York, Gulf, Lorella Springs, Gibb River Road etc. plus plenty of places around Tassie. Alas, due to a change in circumstances, the Swan has gone but I've missed doing theses things in comfort (a swag does t offer much of that...).

I'm interested in a hard floor camper with slide out kitchen and fridge box setup, plus a possible boat rack. Initially looking for a rear fold, but know people who really like there MDC front fold. My son is now in a swag, and daughter will be in swag in a year or two. As I'll have a limited budget of below $10K (looking second hand) and would like to get back to Cape York and OTT etc. I am hoping some swaggers can give some info on the benefits of either.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 05:56:30 PM by Palmer »

Offline Palmer

Re: Rear fold or Forward fold
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2019, 05:57:12 PM »
Have modified original post to reflect that I'm looking at second hand units.

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2019, 06:06:24 PM »
Join the owners group. There’s a few for sale in your price range. I like rear fold but there’s a reason they make both. All depends on what is most important to you.

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2019, 08:04:10 PM »
Below 10K budget would mean a number of rear folds in your price range but not to many forward folds I would think. If you haven't already, have a look at what is available in your price range as it might just about make the choice for you.

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2019, 07:22:18 AM »
IMHO the advantage of the FF is that "if you can park it, you can sleep in it" there is no need for extra space for the fold down.

« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2019, 09:14:24 AM »
I personally like the rear fold better

When looking i found the 2 main disadvantages of Foward fold as follows

Most has insanely high ball weights when loaded
Some you have to take the bed apart and put it on the floor to fold it up

I found the main drawback of rear fold is that you can end up putting wet or dirty canvass on the bed. You can get around this by getting a bed swag made up

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2019, 09:20:47 AM »
at the recent 4wd and camping show had a look at some of the FF and after owning two RF I would have much preferred the FF.  Main reason being once the bows are set on a FF there is no need to change them unlike the RF.  With the RF unless you have absolute level ground or the same angle ground as last time the canvass just doesn't sit right and that can have a flow on effect to everything else.  For me the FF is just a lot easier, event if it means a little bit more work to have the bed ready. 

Offline Palmer

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2019, 10:07:16 AM »
Thanks All for the info, it has got me thinking even more.

As tryagain said, budget might end up dictating choices.

Tassie has a camping expo coming up next month, so looks like I need to get along to that and check out both types, and then hit the second hand market

« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2019, 10:10:02 AM »
Quote from: HEM19X
IMHO the advantage of the FF is that "if you can park it, you can sleep in it" there is no need for extra space for the fold down.

I keep hearing this - how often do you not have enough space to fold out a tent??
EG: if you can drive into a spot theres usually an extra 10ft behind you to fold the tent out...

then you have the bonus of not having 50 ton towball weight.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2019, 10:31:53 AM »
I see the storage in a FF being compromised.
Remaking the FF bed with every setup would become tedious.

« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2019, 02:59:14 PM »
Then there’s the living area. Kitchen on the edge of the awning and exposed, sitting area in front of the ladder and in the kitchen, and fridge/pantry on the other side. I tried to like a FF but too many compromises for us.
The following users thanked this post: jw2170

Offline campingaroundoz

• When smoking a fish, never inhale
    • Our big lap
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2019, 05:43:11 PM »
We have a follow me camper, a side folding hard floor which might be coming up for sale soon if you are interested. Very unique and well designed and all Australian built. The side folding hard floor has a bigger floor space than a rear hard floor and by folding out to the side its roomier inside and it has the walk up to the bed much like the soft floor models. It has the annex and side wall all in one piece which you can leave on all the time and it literally only takes 5 min to put up.
Follow me camper pentacost
https://www.facebook.com/campingaroundoz

Offline Muckinhell

• 2014 Ecomate traveller forward fold.
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2019, 05:53:48 PM »
Dont know wich ffs you guys are looking at but i have had 2 ffs recently (both modcon verities) and neither required any dismantling of the bed. both had mattress toppers and bed was made up and strapped in when folding over. if a bed is made for a child it can need to be rearranged to allow closing. storage wise they can be a bit limiting, but a lot come with fold over boat/storage racks which you can keep things strapped to and not need to remove as they fold over and lock in.

In saying that i have had 2 rear folds as well, (1 Aussie swag and 1 cub) the first had similar storage space as the ffs, and the 2nd had heaps as it was a cub spacevan. but both where a nuisance to set up if ground wasnt level. all campers allowed for the main awning to be flipped over the roof and packed up in the camper. alot of ffs inparticular wont allow this.

The modcon ffs have a single bow set up at the back, just push up till it clips in and its bed time pretty much, no other need to push up forward and middle bows and then Flip the awning over and if good weather 3 poles out the front and 3 ropes, pull the kitchen out and fridge and you are cracking a beer looking for your camp chair. Similar set up with the rear folds but after you have leveled all the floor legs or pulled out your timber to chock them up to make em level.

Thats my 2c.
2005 HDJ100r Sahara
Better to look at it, than for it!

Offline Palmer

« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2019, 09:09:15 PM »
Campingaroundoz, that's a concept I hadn't contemplated.
At this point I am still gathering info and making up my mind what I want, so I won't be in a position to purchase for a little while, but will keep it in mind.

« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2019, 09:53:52 PM »
The follow me campers were made in WA, great quality and different design concepts. Not too many around though

Offline Palmer

« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2019, 08:00:37 AM »
The follow me campers were made in WA, great quality and different design concepts. Not too many around though
Quite different, and that could explain why I hadn't known about them

« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2019, 08:26:58 AM »
I have had nothing to do with any off them so can not comment, but my mate has a FF one its 2 flopping Ton and he said some are 2,5ton, Craig

« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2019, 08:33:29 AM »
I see the storage in a FF being compromised.
Remaking the FF bed with every setup would become tedious.

I have a Modcon Imperial (Aussie made one) and it certainly has enough storage for the two of us.
The bed has two straps on it to hold it down while folding it up. I just remove the pillows and doona into the lounge area, do the straps up and Bob's ya parents sister. Not once has the bed been an issue.
Love my FF, best thing I have bought.

« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2019, 08:44:36 AM »
I have had nothing to do with any off them so can not comment, but my mate has a FF one its 2 flopping Ton and he said some are 2,5ton, Craig
Not sure what make these /\ /\ are but my Modcon, which is built like a tank, is 1200Kg Tare. I thought mine being locally built would be one of the heaviest. A quick look at a few on the web found a range of 980Kg to 1700Kg so they must be optioned up a heap.

« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2019, 09:53:12 AM »
The CUB comes in at a reasonable weight, but is barebones, lots of options.
https://cubcampers.com.au/range/forward-fold-series/frontier/

Offline Palmer

« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2019, 02:18:53 PM »
Having towed a Jayco Swan OB - tare 1445kg - around Aus (packed to the hilt) I like the thought of something a bit lighter.

« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2019, 03:25:02 PM »
Quote from: Palmer
Having towed a Jayco Swan OB - tare 1445kg - around Aus (packed to the hilt) I like the thought of something a bit lighter.

What about a smaller Jayco than the Swan. the Penguin or something isnt it?

Offline Palmer

« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2019, 09:52:16 PM »
What about a smaller Jayco than the Swan. the Penguin or something isnt it?
Had toyed with the idea of another Jayco, but I want to be able to get to more out of the way places and take it on "harder" trips than I was willing to push the Jayco on.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2019, 09:56:22 PM »
I have to admit, I am seeing a few rear folds on gumtree that are cheap enough that I could also get a tinnie in my desired pricing as well... which is something else I find attractive, but it wouldn't take long to eventually get the funds for a small tinnie further down the track.

Offline lloydus67

« Reply #24 on: August 17, 2019, 02:24:00 AM »
Not to keep harping on about modcon, but it’s what I have, FF1 is the Chinese built, Aussie assembled forward fold modcon camper. It is heavier than the older ones at 1500kg but still very well constructed. The biggest feature is that it’s less than 1/2 the price of the older completely Aussie made ones
(And you don’t need to pull the bed apart to pack up)