General => General Discussion => Topic started by: jclures on May 23, 2021, 10:25:08 AM

Title: Caravan Weights
Post by: jclures on May 23, 2021, 10:25:08 AM
I see to police did a road side stop on caravaners up here on the weekend.
Just giving advice at this stage but it will only be a matter of time before it will be for real.
https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10227047844127570&set=gm.837299626871398 (https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10227047844127570&set=gm.837299626871398)
Title: Re: Caravan Weights
Post by: BBull on May 24, 2021, 07:29:08 AM
I'm not sure how this advice thing works. Be interesting to see if there was an accident down the road and the police let these people go knowing they were not legal at this time.
Post by: jclures on May 24, 2021, 07:35:34 AM
I don’t know how that will go, but at least they are being proactive about weights.
I would think the nomads up here might need to check their weights as well as the locals.
I have put my Nissan and camper over the weigh bridge a couple of times to get me weights right. I found I needed to trim some weight out of the Nissan though.
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2021, 10:20:10 AM
Quote from: jclures
I don’t know how that will go, but at least they are being proactive about weights.
I would think the nomads up here might need to check their weights as well as the locals.
I have put my Nissan and camper over the weigh bridge a couple of times to get me weights right. I found I needed to trim some weight out of the Nissan though.

Anyway you look at it - its a good service they are doing... I bet 50% of these people got a real shock on the weights.
I remember them doing it here in Victoria too while back.
Post by: manchu on May 24, 2021, 11:37:00 AM
I'm not sure how this advice thing works. Be interesting to see if there was an accident down the road and the police let these people go knowing they were not legal at this time.

I'd like to think if there was a legitimate safety issue they wouldn't be allowed to drive off until it's rectified.       

I remember them doing it here in Victoria too while back.

I read an article about a recent vic one.    It was interesting to hear the policeman say they not only get the owners to redistribute their weight if there's issues,  but also check the chassis plate to see if there's any extra capacity compared to to what the van manufacturer states.       
Post by: Bird on May 24, 2021, 11:41:47 AM
the one I was mentioning is on Darcys site
http://rveethereyet.com/a-turning-point-in-towing-safety/ (http://rveethereyet.com/a-turning-point-in-towing-safety/)

To put this into perspective, you have to look at the results from the Newmerella operation itself:

• 71 caravans were weighed across 2 days.
• 2 drivers knew all their ratings.
• Most had an idea of what their maximum allowable weight was (ATM) but were confused about how to manage weights.
• 3 knew what they actually weighed.
• 41 were overweight in one or more ratings (ATM, GTM, Ball weight).
• 5 were overweight by more than 20%.
• The majority of those spoken with were surprised at how heavy they were and had under estimated their actual weight.

and another
http://rveethereyet.com/police-caravan-weight-safety-checks-newmerella-victoria/ (http://rveethereyet.com/police-caravan-weight-safety-checks-newmerella-victoria/)

handy link
http://rveethereyet.com/weighbridges-australia-download/ (http://rveethereyet.com/weighbridges-australia-download/)
Post by: Rodt on May 24, 2021, 02:18:35 PM
On a slightly left aspect to this. I was at the Maitland Caravan and Camping show last Friday basically window shopping in regards to our preferred design. When I started talking weights though they all only wanted to talk about Tare. When I started talking about ATM, GVM and GCM in relation to ensuring that the tow vehicle was right they all basically glazed over and didn't really want to talk about it. One did though to advise me that they towed all their vans about with dual cab utes (won't say what brand) but when i mentioned that this would have been at the Tare weight and not the ATM they tried to deflect the conversation. One said to me in a quiet voice (I imagine so others wouldn't hear) the words "what can we do".
To a degree I understood the statement because people can do what they want with their own property but also was thinking that it is unethical to not educate those that are looking to buy a van because they obviously don't have enough knowledge on the topic.

Buyer beware is always the mantra 
Post by: manchu on May 24, 2021, 02:39:39 PM

• The majority of those spoken with were surprised at how heavy they were and had under estimated their actual weight.

I wonder how many were truly surprised and how many were playing dumb. 

Post by: HEM19X on May 24, 2021, 03:54:41 PM
We put our setup over the weighbridge. 2014 BT50 with 19'6" Van, with the tug fully loaded and full of fuel plus all 3 water tanks full on the van and 2 x 20l jerrys full, we were fine on all counts and GCM 5980kgs [6000 allowed]...

Since then we have changed vehicles & have upgraded GVM and GCM to 7000kgs - not weighed yet - still adding stuff.
Post by: Rodt on May 24, 2021, 04:24:17 PM
Hem out of interest was the upgrade done pre-registration or post?

Have read that if done after different states don't recognise and go off the original plate
Post by: HEM19X on May 25, 2021, 03:29:52 PM
Hem out of interest was the upgrade done pre-registration or post?

Have read that if done after different states don't recognise and go off the original plate

Mate, yes it was done prior to 1st rego... I have also heard conflicting information regarding changes afterwards.

Post by: Rodt on May 25, 2021, 04:40:05 PM
Thanks mate I might send you a pm

Rod
Post by: doc evil on June 17, 2021, 05:19:24 PM
Quite informative, once JC gets to the point.........

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HbYdHu9Qis (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HbYdHu9Qis)
Post by: chester ver2.0 on June 18, 2021, 10:00:03 AM
Best thing they could do is get rid of TARE weight and just to to 1 figure the ATM

Basically then you can put what ever you want in it but you cant weigh over XXXX

At the moment with TARE, ATM, GTM, Ball weight and sometimes and Axle loading weight stamped on the Chassis that says something different you need a slide ruler and access to the deep blue server to do all the calculations
Post by: Pete79 on June 18, 2021, 11:53:51 AM
Quite informative, once JC gets to the point.........

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HbYdHu9Qis (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HbYdHu9Qis)
Yep, just skip to 16 and a half minutes and play that last bit on a loop… ;D
Post by: HEM19X on June 19, 2021, 10:46:03 AM
Best thing they could do is get rid of TARE weight and just to to 1 figure the ATM

Basically then you can put what ever you want in it but you cant weigh over XXXX

At the moment with TARE, ATM, GTM, Ball weight and sometimes and Axle loading weight stamped on the Chassis that says something different you need a slide ruler and access to the deep blue server to do all the calculations

Would make things easier but I have seen off road vans advertised with less than 200kgs payload, given that they have 270l water capacity.... I think we need TARE & ATM as a minimum.

Post by: #jonesy on June 19, 2021, 11:50:37 AM
Would make things easier but I have seen off road vans advertised with less than 200kgs payload, given that they have 270l water capacity.... I think we need TARE & ATM as a minimum.

Unfortunately each one has it purpose.  About the only one that you could ditch is GTM,
Post by: Fizzie on June 19, 2021, 01:51:37 PM

That's what we've got :'(

Tare 1600, ATM 1800, GTM 1960 kg.

Van has an 80l water tank, & provision for 2 x 4kg gas bottles, so if we fill those, before we even think about food, drinks, clothes, seats, BBQ, firewood, tools etc etc etc, we're down to only ~110kg available! :o ::) :'( >:(

I can see that tare includes the empty water tank & gas bottles, but does it include a spare/s & the van battery ???

I really think that this all needs to be landed back on the manufacturers that the tare is measured with everything full eg water, gas, spare, battery etc
Post by: #jonesy on June 19, 2021, 06:58:41 PM
That's what we've got :'(

Tare 1600, ATM 1800, GTM 1960 kg.

I think you have ATM and GTM mixed up.
GTM is the weight at the the axle.
ATM is the whole weight of the van (weight at the axle PLUS the towball weight)
Post by: Fizzie on June 20, 2021, 08:10:10 AM
I think you have ATM and GTM mixed up.
Oops! :-[

Yes, you are correct
Post by: prodigyrf on June 22, 2021, 12:11:45 AM
So how many owners would actually invest in one to get it right? 
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/362817035688
Post by: GeoffA on June 22, 2021, 08:09:46 AM

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/362817035688 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/362817035688)

They claim to have sold 82 at the time of this post....

They also have a 1500kg version, which would be more appropriate for caravans.

Post by: Fizzie on June 22, 2021, 08:38:37 AM

Yes, have had my eyes on one (1500kg version actually), although I've read that there is a bit of an artform in using them correctly ???

An alternative that I've also thought about is https://www.eziweigh.com.au/about-us/ (https://www.eziweigh.com.au/about-us/) or similar, for about the same $.

But the problem with both (& weighbridges as well for that matter), is that yes, they tell you what you weigh, right now, but only in your current configuration.

How many of us pack the van / CT absolutely 100% identically every time we go away ???

Going to a powered site for a weekend is going to be a very different load, & weight, to a bush camp for a week; Summer v Winter will also change due to different clothes; are the kids coming along, or have they decided that camping with Mum & Dad is boring ... ???
Post by: Bird on June 22, 2021, 10:02:41 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf
They'd cost $2.00 out of china??

If they were $50 they'd sell 10 times as many - most people would buy 2
Post by: prodigyrf on June 22, 2021, 10:25:08 AM

They also have a 1500kg version, which would be more appropriate for caravans.

You reckon your cara/camper has any point of contact with the ground (including the tow hitch) greater than 1000kg  ???
What you got and what you towing it with BIG BOY?  :o
Post by: Bird on June 22, 2021, 10:43:41 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf
You reckon your cara/camper has any point of contact with the ground (including the tow hitch) greater than 1000kg  ???

havent you seen his trailer and the spares he carries... even carries a spare axle and most carry 2 spares, he carries 4 spare tyres :D
Post by: austastar on June 22, 2021, 10:55:57 AM
   Rob Gray bought an Acco fire truck and built a motorhome called  Wotthehellisthat. Documenting the lot on line. Well worth reading.
My point?
He weighed it with a jack, some bathroom scales and a compounding set of levers.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210622/f2cc5bce5e110c59356ecf10d870e29e.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on June 22, 2021, 11:52:41 AM

Easily done on a single axle van.

2500kg ATM - 200kg ball weight = 2300kg / 2 = 1150kg per wheel.

Post by: Fizzie on June 16, 2022, 01:14:12 PM
Referring to my post on our van (over)weight  :'( :-[:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52968.msg1054236#msg1054236 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52968.msg1054236#msg1054236)

Now going through the process of seeing what we carry (obviously too much, although we didn't think so ::)) & weighing it all to start doing calculations of what can go where.

Question for you all ...

Jockey wheel?

It obviously has to be included in the tare weight as it's well & truly basic to the van!, but how do you all account for it in terms of what goes where ??? Ours is a removable one which we've always put in the front box when travelling, but it's in the order of 7kg which is pretty far forward, so not helping in terms of ball-weight either :'(

But should we count it like that, or just ignore it because it's part of the tare ???
Post by: bmwfreak on June 17, 2022, 05:09:56 PM
Hey Fizzie, we have a trail-a-mate MK2 which we store in a compartment behind the axles. At 16.6kg, weigh back there, it helps reduce our ball weight ;D
Post by: Fizzie on June 18, 2022, 08:27:15 AM
Thanks! ;D

After looking at it all for a few days, I think the only real option is going to be trade the van on a slighter bigger one.