Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1729895 times)

Offline tombie

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5050 on: November 16, 2019, 06:11:43 PM »
Too new for that!

Give it twelve months and it will be situation normal.

Careful, being wood it may just catch fire like a Jeep instead.

The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #5051 on: November 16, 2019, 07:52:13 PM »
Finished the latest wooden toy.

Pottsy,

You are very talented wood worker, That looks excellent!

Sarah

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

« Reply #5052 on: December 01, 2019, 03:19:52 PM »
Got the mower back in service.

Swapped all of the drive gear off the old busted alloy deck and onto the new fabricated steel deck.
I got the deck from a local fabricator out at Conondale, Pancho did a great job with this, it’s a clean swap and everything fits up perfectly.
I’m so happy with his work I’ve now got him doing some alloy hatches for my trailer build.... ;)

While I had everything apart I thought I’d straighten up the blade mounting plate, when I noticed this plate was starting to crack on the corners of the welds that fix the main drive shaft on to it.
Ground out the cracks from both sides and rewelded it properly.
Putting the blades through the deck while driving along was scary enough, I’d hate to see the whole blade assembly brake off and go flying out from under my butt...

« Reply #5053 on: December 01, 2019, 06:09:54 PM »
I've been cleaning in preparation for moving.

I bought a Karcher petrol pressure washer years ago and it has done a pretty good job for 6 years.

Then it got parked for 12 months, the bypass valve stuck open and no matter what parts I threw at it I couldn't fix it, so I threw a new ebay pump under it as a genuine pump was more than I paid for the lot.

That took a bit of doing though, making a 1" crank shaft fit a 22mm female drive on the pump. Of course the motor is made with 22mm or 1" crankshafts and I got the one made for the American market >:(.
But now its better than ever....

Anyway, the thing that really annoyed me with the unit was that it only came with a 8m hose, so you'd be working away and having to move it a fair bit as you'd run out of hose and had the little Honda motor barking in your ear the whole time. Ebay again and I got a 24m hose, made it fit the 8m hose and now I can leave the pressure washer running in the shed where it won't irritate the neighbors too much and still reach 3/4 the way around the house.

« Reply #5054 on: December 05, 2019, 07:05:31 AM »
Bit the bullet yesterday and went battery power for the garden.

Makita 36v brushless Multi head
Straight line trimmer
Pole saw
Hedge trimmer

Plus the turbo blower

I'm keeping the Stihl chainsaw, but ditching the other fuel leakers....

Haven't heard a bad word yet from people who have used this, but if it doesn't cut it. You can get the 4 stroke Dolmar make multi head for $400.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #5055 on: December 05, 2019, 07:21:28 AM »
I used the brother in laws Lita while ago, plenty of grunt, considering for my next trimmer etc.

« Reply #5056 on: December 07, 2019, 01:28:47 PM »
Not today, but this week.

Heads, as in, the entire top end off a V6 Avalon.
Then, drop the rods and jam tins out.

With 248,000 klm on it, the bores look mint.

Loads of sludge in the ol girl however, which is why the rings gave up the ghost.
All 4 oil splash holes in the pistons, were gunked up.

Lots of cold starts and a lack of oil changes will cause that every time.

Cleaning it up is a right royal pain the arse, especially with the heat this week.

Heads are off on Monday for some attention at the machine shop.
I'll drop the jam tins back in on Tuesday.

Its got new rings, bearings, gaskets, cam belt and some other nick nacks going back in over the coming few days.
(All work subject to "down tools" at 38 degrees.)  :D

« Reply #5057 on: December 07, 2019, 01:35:22 PM »
Ya supposed to buy them and flip them ......Not rebuild the Bloody things  ;D    Now go get that cold drink .
The following users thanked this post: Luke_D

« Reply #5058 on: December 07, 2019, 01:51:12 PM »
Yeah....  :'(

This one was displaying a little bit of oil usage and so I drove it around myself.

At around 5,000 klm in, it was needing some loving..... and money spent.

I will lose money on this one, maybe around a grand or more, but at least it will be right.
Any second hand car is a gamble on a good day and while I try to get some of the better ones, ya just never know for sure.
I did consider selling it to the wreckers for $400 and run, but I had already fitted it with new struts in the front.
4 new tyres and some odds and sods, and besides, it just drives too good to wreck.

The gasket set alone, was $500 and they looked after me pretty good. (Should've been $600)
By the time I finish and re-rego it...... oh dear...  :'(

Never mind, we'll get it finished, sold off and move on to the next one.

« Reply #5059 on: December 08, 2019, 05:56:43 PM »
Never mind, we'll get it finished, sold off and move on to the next one.

Great attitude.... :cup: :cup:

« Reply #5060 on: December 08, 2019, 06:21:16 PM »

Straight line trimmer
Pole saw
Hedge trimmer

Plus the turbo blower

Haven't heard a bad word yet from people who have used this, but if it doesn't cut it. You can get the 4 stroke Dolmar make multi head for $400.

Makita have some good gear these days.
I'm slowly(as I can afford to) getting rid of all my 240V gear.
In my work, I am sometimes unable to access 240v, so a bought the 12V charger.
The Deep Cycle battery in the 80 handles it well, traveling between jobs and the tge 5ah battery is ready to go.

« Reply #5061 on: December 08, 2019, 08:10:55 PM »
Walked in teh shed, looked at the mess... turned around and went inside.

Offline knightlux

« Reply #5062 on: December 08, 2019, 09:28:02 PM »
Knocked up a few new shelves to help tidy up a few piles of gear. With the top one being a bit oversized to hopefully fit a small Ho scale train layout on.

[img width= height= alt=IMG-2047" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/gvdGFBr/IMG-2047.jpg[/img]
[img width= height= alt=IMG-9438" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/zFmXyJF/IMG-9438.jpg[/img]
2018 Toyota Fortuner, Ezytrail Albany Z

« Reply #5063 on: December 08, 2019, 09:38:15 PM »
Knocked up a few new shelves to help tidy up a few piles of gear. With the top one being a bit oversized to hopefully fit a small Ho scale train layout on.

[img width= height= alt=IMG-2047" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/gvdGFBr/IMG-2047.jpg[/img]
[img width= height= alt=IMG-9438" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/zFmXyJF/IMG-9438.jpg[/img]
you should go n-scale with small room :)

Offline DandyD

« Reply #5064 on: December 09, 2019, 12:15:52 AM »

Straight line trimmer
Pole saw
Hedge trimmer

Plus the turbo blower

I've got a load of Makita battery stuff including a 36v chainsaw. It's good, especially at home when I don't want to annoy my neighbours but not good enough to ditch my Husky 550xp

« Reply #5065 on: December 09, 2019, 02:13:48 PM »
Great attitude.... :cup: :cup:

Ha ha ha.... i'm going to service the auto too..... I can't help myself.

Well, bores are clean, block faces are clean, pistons and rods are clean.
Stuff me, cleaning out every sludgy old ring groove was a pain in the arse.
Reckon, it would been a good 4 hours to get 'em spotless.
New rings are fitted, new bearings are installed.

I'll pop the ol jam tins back in tomorrow.
Heads went to the machine shop this morning.

Hmm, I also got up on the roof and cleaned every getter, house, sheds, granny flat, the works, seeing they reckon we will get wet stuff this week.
This morning, we were 90% chance of 20-40mmlate in the week.
Cleaned the friggin gutter's, so I miss nothing, and now they reckon 60% chance of 5-10.... friggin poofters.

Offline knightlux

« Reply #5066 on: December 10, 2019, 07:33:13 PM »
you should go n-scale with small room :)

I know, and I've considered it, but I've already got plenty of HO gear that I can use. May as well use what I've got already, saves me trying to convince my wife I need more trains.
2018 Toyota Fortuner, Ezytrail Albany Z

« Reply #5067 on: December 10, 2019, 07:57:55 PM »
Truck build

« Reply #5068 on: December 10, 2019, 09:43:45 PM »
 ;D ;D Too much time on your hands, Young fella .. Should make up a couple of dozen specialty type ones..  Put them in foam lined boxes and go for a holiday selling them at $ XXX as you travel . Fuel and beer money assistance .
Land Rover / KenWorth / Jeep / Classic Mack [ long nose ] / peter built  etc . Would look good sitting on the Boss's desk or some truckies sideboard .. Local pubs on pay day and theyd be gone with orders for more .

« Reply #5069 on: December 10, 2019, 09:47:36 PM »
Truck build
You're pumping out some seriously fantastic toys there mate.
The young ones will be loving you and having tons of fun for many years to come.

Well done!!

« Reply #5070 on: December 11, 2019, 08:40:06 AM »
Truck build

The local Men's Shed runs the Bunnings barbie a few times each year, & they always have a table of their hand-made goodies on sale.

I'd reckon they'd be very interested in your designs ;D

« Reply #5071 on: December 11, 2019, 08:46:38 AM »
;D ;D Too much time on your hands, Young fella .. Should make up a couple of dozen specialty type ones..  Put them in foam lined boxes and go for a holiday selling them at $ XXX as you travel . Fuel and beer money assistance .
Land Rover / KenWorth / Jeep / Classic Mack [ long nose ] / peter built  etc . Would look good sitting on the Boss's desk or some truckies sideboard .. Local pubs on pay day and theyd be gone with orders for more .

Got some plans coming from the US to make a couple of vintage cars, a model t and a Chevrolet.

Little bit more intricate than what I’ve been doing so should be fun.

Sold a couple  interstate recently, been doing plenty of stocking stuffers which have sold  really well, paid for a new electronic drill press.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #5072 on: December 12, 2019, 09:41:04 AM »
Got some plans coming from the US to make a couple of vintage cars, a model t and a Chevrolet.

Little bit more intricate than what I’ve been doing so should be fun.

Sold a couple  interstate recently, been doing plenty of stocking stuffers which have sold  really well, paid for a new electronic drill press.

How do you get them to stick to the ceiling like that? Magnetic, or helium filled?
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #5073 on: December 12, 2019, 10:06:50 AM »
How do you get them to stick to the ceiling like that? Magnetic, or helium filled?
Buggered if I know, the last week has seen my photos doing an auto flip, not sure why.

Can I sell them for more if I say they are magic?

« Reply #5074 on: December 12, 2019, 11:09:06 AM »
Buggered if I know, the last week has seen my photos doing an auto flip, not sure why.