Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1758363 times)

Online Fizzie

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5175 on: March 10, 2020, 07:52:08 AM »
Looks very Nordic, like a Viking shield.

I thought exactly that as well.

« Reply #5176 on: March 10, 2020, 08:23:00 AM »
Chester - do you have a mate with a low range head unit that you could connect to your wiring to see if it powered up.  If you do and that works, I’d say it in the power up button.

Are you getting any sounds from other buttons.  Also replace all fuses associated with the unit to be sure.  Good luck

PS: Buy Garmin next time

Fixed thanks for the tip, hooked it up to a mates boat and it booted up straight away. Finally traced it to a dodgy pin on the power cord. New cord sent out under warranty claim and all is good again.
Me thinks it may be a common fault but Lawrence are not letting on. Once i quoted the serial number a power cord was sent out no questions asked and they did not even want the old one sent back in for analysis

« Reply #5177 on: March 10, 2020, 02:53:41 PM »
Got a few cockroaches in the 3 x 4.5 mt shed.  Heaps of shelving and trays. Put 1 litre of surface spray into a air paint gun and proceeded to fog the entire shed.  Worked a bloody ripper!  Just make sure you have a bloody good face mask! :cheers:

Offline Raym

« Reply #5178 on: March 11, 2020, 08:39:48 AM »
Here is the front of the hanging. Left rustic nail holes, tear out & sanding left the surface like the surf at Bondi.

The blending between the red & yellow could have been a bit more subtle.

Not sure I like it. Will make the hanger & see what it looks like. Plenty of time to make an alternative.

Started the hanger part.

The plan is the eye ball part will be painted & spoons will be used for scales. Just not sure whether to paint the eyelid parts with a chrome or leave them as is. May apply a bronze or copper reactive paint to the scales , if I paint the eye lids to create contrast.

Online Fizzie

« Reply #5179 on: March 12, 2020, 08:20:37 AM »
Sorry, Ray, but how is that bit going to work in with the "shield" ???

It looks like a separate piece in it's own right!

Offline Raym

« Reply #5180 on: March 12, 2020, 09:29:26 AM »
Hi Fizzie ,

It will fix to the wall & be the hanging bracket. The shield will hang under the eye with the top edge. Well that is the plan, will see what it looks like together.

May make a different shield using reactive paints in bronze, copper & steel.
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

Offline Raym

« Reply #5181 on: March 13, 2020, 08:03:48 PM »
A few more scales to finish. Be hitting the op shops for a couple more spoons.

Not entirely sure I am happy with it, maybe a bit of colour will make it pop.

Plan is to paint the eye ball. Leave the eye lid area & maybe colour the scales with bronze or copper. Maybe a combination of both.

« Reply #5182 on: March 15, 2020, 08:12:06 AM »
Picked up a nice little tool haul from the Ballarat swap meet. Stanley planes and router plane. Stanley & Record spokeshave, Marples chisels and pile of hammer heads.  All for around $80.

Started on the hammers.
Couple of Cyclones, Stanley and unknowns.
Soaked in citric acid for a few days and cleaned on a wire wheel. $35 worth of spotted gum handles shaped to fit. Burnt with a blow torch and finished in linseed oil  and beeswax paste.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Online Fizzie

« Reply #5183 on: March 15, 2020, 08:15:15 AM »
Very nice ;D

« Reply #5184 on: March 15, 2020, 08:23:45 AM »
Picked up a nice little tool haul from the Ballarat swap meet. Stanley planes and router plane. Stanley & Record spokeshave, Marples chisels and pile of hammer heads.  All for around $80.

Started on the hammers.
Couple of Cyclones, Stanley and unknowns.
Soaked in citric acid for a few days and cleaned on a wire wheel. $35 worth of spotted gum handles shaped to fit. Burnt with a blow torch and finished in linseed oil  and beeswax paste.

Very nice, the hammers came up well.

« Reply #5185 on: March 15, 2020, 09:01:36 AM »
Nice little pick up, like the granny’s tooth plane, I have one and it comes in very handy, did you get any spare cutters with it?

« Reply #5186 on: March 15, 2020, 11:03:29 AM »
Thanks guys. The 32oz ball peen and the little cross peen are going to be very handy.

Nice little pick up, like the granny’s tooth plane, I have one and it comes in very handy, did you get any spare cutters with it?

I've after one for ages.  The depth rod mount has snapped off, other than that it's complete.  Only cost $20 and the cutter has plenty of life in it.
I might mount it to a hardwood base.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

« Reply #5187 on: March 21, 2020, 07:08:25 PM »
Had to work on the garage ceiling today, every 10 years the glue fails and the sheets drop. Last time I had the whole garage re-sheeted, this time I have to much stuff to take out so I came up with plan B, due to social distancing I had to do this by myself. I ended up making up a big T piece out of structural pine that I used with the trolley jack to raise the offending sheets back into position. Then I fixed lengths of 2x1 with 100mm batten screws into the joists. Let's see how long that holds for.

« Reply #5188 on: March 21, 2020, 09:08:22 PM »
Vacuumed the Expanda then mopped the floor. Re-attached the drawer front panel to the body of the draw with two L brackets, pop rivets and screws. Replaced one of the tunnel boot doors and frame. Had the replacement for over 12 months. Jayco did a good job with the sealant on the door frame but I did better. Re-attached the towel rail in the house en-suite. Gotta love this social distancing for getting odd jobs completed.

« Reply #5189 on: March 23, 2020, 07:56:37 PM »
True story ;)

« Reply #5190 on: March 24, 2020, 06:00:08 PM »
I stripped down the old Dual turntable, rewired the tone arm, gave it all a clean and lube, fitted a new pitch belt. These old automatic turntables have a lots of small bits. There was a few head scratching moments, but now shes never sounded better.
Tracy Chapman gets a spin.

« Reply #5191 on: March 24, 2020, 06:24:44 PM »
I stripped down the old Dual turntable, rewired the tone arm, gave it all a clean and lube, fitted a new pitch belt. These old automatic turntables have a lots of small bits. There was a few head scratching moments, but now shes never sounded better.
Tracy Chapman gets a spin.

Awesome.
Nice one.

« Reply #5192 on: March 29, 2020, 03:36:21 PM »
Got myself a reciprocating saw, I don't know how I've lived without one!
https://www.makita.com.au/building-construction/category/cutting/recipro-saw/djr186z-18v-mobile-recipro-saw

« Reply #5193 on: March 29, 2020, 03:42:16 PM »
https://www.makita.com.au/building-construction/category/cutting/recipro-saw/djr186z-18v-mobile-recipro-saw

Nice!!

Mine's organically powered.....

« Reply #5194 on: March 29, 2020, 04:12:21 PM »
I've had(gmc) a 240v for years, great bit of kit.
Since I have been building up my Makita 18v collection of tools, one is on the list after the Planner, than a big arsed hammer drill. :)
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 04:15:02 PM by Hairs »

« Reply #5195 on: March 29, 2020, 04:31:03 PM »
Mine's organically powered.....

Once you try one you won't go back :)

Since I have been building up my Makita 18v collection of tools, one is on the list after the Planner, than a big arsed hammer drill. :)

I've got the rotary hammer, goes through bricks like butter. Next up for me is a circular saw.

« Reply #5196 on: March 29, 2020, 04:33:43 PM »
Once you try one you won't go back :)

Yep. It's on the list....

« Reply #5197 on: March 29, 2020, 05:09:27 PM »

i've never quite understood what people use these for?

if it's timber, wouldn't you use a circular saw and for trees and other odd bits, a chainsaw?

genuinely interested as to what you might use this for?

« Reply #5198 on: March 29, 2020, 05:12:23 PM »
genuinely interested as to what you might use this for?

I used it today to cut up large tree branches to fit in the green waste bin. I also plan to use it to cut out a stump that I can't get the Prado in to pull out. Far easier to replace a $5 recipro saw blade than destroy a $50 chain hitting dirt.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 05:39:15 PM by D4D »

Offline tedota

« Reply #5199 on: March 29, 2020, 05:27:07 PM »
Yep all sorts of uses. Had about 4 in our plumbing business. Trees, fences, roots, asbestos pipe, poly, pvc, you name it. As others said easier to replace a blade than a chain or saw blade.