Author Topic: Mandrake's Red CentreSafari  (Read 19886 times)

Offline Mandrake

• Triple Vaxed and ready to go ANYWHERE ( please )
Re: Mandrake's Red CentreSafari
« Reply #25 on: July 01, 2014, 04:38:35 PM »
Got into Chambers Pillar without too much mishap..But the Penguin is losing lots of screws and cable ties so we have left the convoy as they travel down the old ghan track ..we have headed to Erldunda via the Hugh River Stock route..

Firewood stop.

View from Penguin.

Chambers Pillar.

From the thing that is also a phone
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 04:40:52 PM by Mandrake »
Going back to basics - sort of ...

« Reply #26 on: July 01, 2014, 10:45:23 PM »
We send you our Best Wishes & hope you enjoy it as much as we did  . Has Nadia taken pics of all the wild flowers  ???
Did you get to Lamberts   ,   it out that way  :cup:   :cheers:
How did you go on " the hill " on the way in  ???
« Last Edit: July 01, 2014, 10:49:44 PM by speewa158 »

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #27 on: July 02, 2014, 08:14:33 AM »
Lots of photos... Nadia just loved that hill especially when I stopped to select low range !!!
See you later in the year for some

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #28 on: July 02, 2014, 05:20:58 PM »
Now at Yulara .. pretty uneventful drive in .. no eagles . No roadkill..only highlight was some bush burn off happening just this side of the rock...

« Reply #29 on: July 02, 2014, 06:29:20 PM »
Do the late arvo sunset  camel ride  its really great  :cheers:

Offline ehsc

• FIRE EARTH MOON STARS THATS LIVING
  • JUST DO IT
« Reply #30 on: July 02, 2014, 07:46:48 PM »
Hey Mandrake

Have a good trip, when you find the screws just put them back in with some pvc glue that seems to stop them coming back out, well mine haven't and its turning 10 next year . Safe travels and have a great trip.

:cheers: Troy

2017 Isuxu D-max
2003 Jayco Freedom Outback

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #31 on: July 02, 2014, 07:59:24 PM »
Hey Mandrake

Have a good trip, when you find the screws just put them back in with some pvc glue that seems to stop them coming back out, well mine haven't and its turning 10 next year . Safe travels and have a great trip.

Troy,
Thanks for the tip ... I was thinking of glueing the board to the angle and then fastening with screws ...
Can you remember what glue you used ??
Mandrake

Offline ehsc

• JUST DO IT
« Reply #32 on: July 02, 2014, 09:19:15 PM »
Hey Mandrake

I think it was just white pvc wood working glue,I only ever had trouble with the screws working loose from hinges and were the door latch fastens to the door.

There is a thread on here about the aluminum angle around the base and floor to give extra strength I think posted by Tw for memory, I would probably do the same if I knew I was going to do a lot of rough stuff for a long period ,but since the national meet it hasn't left the yard but not to worry that won't last forever, don't worry the penguin wont let you down .

2017 Isuxu D-max

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #33 on: July 03, 2014, 09:30:52 AM »
Cheers Troy.. I think that's PVA glue for bonding wood to wood usually .. I will give it a try first if it doesn't hold then it will be drilling and using Nylocs on countersunk bolts..

« Reply #34 on: July 03, 2014, 09:40:22 AM »
Cheers Troy.. I think that's PVA glue for bonding wood to wood usually .. I will give it a try first if it doesn't hold then it will be drilling and using Nylocs on countersunk bolts..

Steve, if you can get it try this stuff, its a little stronger than PVA and really grips well

Offline ehsc

• JUST DO IT
« Reply #35 on: July 03, 2014, 07:51:10 PM »
Sorry mate I meant PVA glue not PVC I am getting old  and the memory is failing  ;D troy
2017 Isuxu D-max

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #36 on: July 03, 2014, 09:21:12 PM »
Yeah I know how ya feel !!

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #37 on: July 03, 2014, 09:23:16 PM »
Went for a coupla walks today .. Valley of the Winds up to the first lookout and then Walpa Gorge.. Sunset on the side of the road to Valley of the Winds.
Tut tut tut....LOL
Walpa Gorge near the end.

Kara Tjuta at least part of it...

« Last Edit: July 03, 2014, 09:29:08 PM by Mandrake »

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #38 on: July 04, 2014, 01:51:33 PM »
Uluru this morning bumped into Jack and Brickiematt.. Can't wait to get the community fire going at Kings Creek and catch up with everyone..

Round the back somewhere...

« Reply #39 on: July 04, 2014, 04:14:08 PM »
Great photos Mandrake. Glad all is going well with your trip.
I have been to the Valley of the Winds twice now and both times felt as if someone was watching me, eery feeling
Safe travels mate.

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #40 on: July 04, 2014, 08:00:37 PM »
Sunset shot tonight....

« Reply #41 on: July 06, 2014, 07:34:35 AM »
Steve,

The sunset chopper flight over the Olgas and the rock is well worth it.

Offline Isuzumu

• Isuzu MU
« Reply #42 on: July 06, 2014, 02:14:13 PM »
Looking good Steve.
Cheers Bruce
2012 Isuzu D.Max
1994 Isuzu Mu
2011 Jayco 17.55 Outback with Cruisemaster Independent Air Suspension
Off road trailer full of camping gear.

HF Radio Club  Sel Call 1955

« Reply #43 on: July 06, 2014, 04:33:10 PM »
Awesome photo of the rock mate

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #44 on: July 09, 2014, 05:52:32 PM »
Well we are back at Alice to do some repairs..Stayed 2 nights at Palm Valley and didn't take any phone photos sorry ...
But here's two I prepared earlier at KingsCanyon...

The Gorge base walk.

The Canyon walls from below..
We will stay here for a cupladays then meet up with the tour at The Gemtree..
« Last Edit: July 09, 2014, 05:55:02 PM by Mandrake »

Offline Terry W4

• Retired - loving every minute of it
« Reply #45 on: July 09, 2014, 06:18:31 PM »
Repairs - What have you done?  BTW is there a reason why your phone takes pics with a red drift? Most phone cameras nowadays are about as good as my DSLR.

Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #46 on: July 09, 2014, 08:47:28 PM »
Both brake cables have smashed connectors and cable ties destroyed by rocks..Screws holding the Penguins drawer rollers , seat backs and a lot of other plywood stuff have all
pulled away.. There are holes in the boot and camper floor for cables and pipes that were not covered or filled ... I have a bit of upgrading cabinet work to do and a tube of expanding foam stuff to block some holes with...

« Reply #47 on: July 10, 2014, 12:37:03 PM »
Will you be shovelling out the dust to lighten the load    ???      :cheers:

« Reply #48 on: July 10, 2014, 01:23:42 PM »
Just as well it is a Jayco Steve, if it was Chinese this thread would be 10 pages long by now.
Hope you get it sorted.

Offline Mandrake

« Reply #49 on: July 10, 2014, 05:02:59 PM »
Well cleaned up today.. plugged 4 pipe entry holes 50mm !!. Shifted the stone guard back close to boot and got my winder extended 400mm and a hole in stone guard to put it through.. Now I can reach in the boot and not scrape my knuckles when winding...Got more screws from Bunnings and fixed the drawer rails with 6 x18mm screws per side instead of 3x 10mm ..

« Last Edit: July 10, 2014, 05:07:43 PM by Mandrake »