Author Topic: Re: Batten down the hatches Vic  (Read 460967 times)

Offline BC66

Re: Batten down the hatches Vic
« Reply #1500 on: May 09, 2019, 09:39:33 AM »
Just packing the ute see you soon
I went up to Mt Tamborine on the weekend and I swear half of Victoria was up there

« Reply #1501 on: May 09, 2019, 07:00:23 PM »
I went up to Mt Tamborine on the weekend and I swear half of Victoria was up there

they will be this weekend :(

« Reply #1502 on: May 10, 2019, 08:39:16 AM »
You'll need a reservation if you want to go up there this weekend, being Mum's Day >:D

Re: Re: Batten down the hatches Vic
« Reply #1503 on: May 10, 2019, 12:49:50 PM »
My folks live near Wonthaggi and just got smashed with rain and hail. Flat roof and hail = flooded kitchen :(

« Reply #1504 on: May 10, 2019, 07:33:56 PM »
Quote from: D4D
My folks live near Wonthaggi and just got smashed with rain and hail. Flat roof and hail = flooded kitchen :(
obliteration down Dromana way... cars floating n Shit
HC will be busy with people looking for snow this weekend...

« Reply #1505 on: May 10, 2019, 08:06:29 PM »
FARKLES!

Extreme weather has destroyed a Gippsland life saving club, years after politicians were first warned it was vulnerable and just days before the end of repairs paid for by tireless community fundraising.

Heavy rain, winds, hail and tides lashed the the Wonthaggi Life Saving Club at Cape Paterson on Friday, gouging away land surrounding the club and flooding it as well as nearby community facilities.

Fearing the next high tide could finish the club off entirely, members were on Friday afternoon desperately trying to salvage valuable equipment and memorabilia from inside.

No official rain measurements exist at Wonthaggi, but the Bureau of Meteorology had received several reports that more than 100 millimetres had fallen during Friday's wild weather.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/we-re-just-gobsmacked-freak-weather-destroys-life-saving-club-20190510-p51m6d.html

Facilities half submerged in slush and hail

« Reply #1506 on: May 11, 2019, 06:54:54 AM »
FARKLES!

Extreme weather has destroyed a Gippsland life saving club, years after politicians were first warned it was vulnerable and just days before the end of repairs paid for by tireless community fundraising.

Heavy rain, winds, hail and tides lashed the the Wonthaggi Life Saving Club at Cape Paterson on Friday, gouging away land surrounding the club and flooding it as well as nearby community facilities.

Fearing the next high tide could finish the club off entirely, members were on Friday afternoon desperately trying to salvage valuable equipment and memorabilia from inside.

No official rain measurements exist at Wonthaggi, but the Bureau of Meteorology had received several reports that more than 100 millimetres had fallen during Friday's wild weather.

Yup, my folks live 100m from there :(

« Reply #1507 on: May 23, 2019, 11:56:04 AM »

« Reply #1508 on: May 27, 2019, 02:45:00 PM »
Matlock at 8am.... tempting to go for a run tomorrow

« Reply #1509 on: May 28, 2019, 11:22:34 AM »
https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/snow-traps-eight-on-mt-hotham-with-terrible-conditions-set-to-worsen-20190528-p51rv2.html

Emergency service workers are trying to save eight people who spent the night stuck in four 4WDs near Mount Hotham.

The alarm was raised following heavy snowfall yesterday afternoon.

The four adults and four children, aged between six and 12, spent the night in their vehicles on the Blue Rag Range Track west of the Dargo High Plains Road.

« Last Edit: May 28, 2019, 02:19:01 PM by Bird »

« Reply #1510 on: May 30, 2019, 10:46:31 AM »
Baw Baw
A number of trees have collapsed due to the weight of the snow and as a result resort entry road is closed until further update

« Reply #1511 on: May 30, 2019, 11:23:08 AM »
Looks just like here...NOT!!!!...currently sitting under an umbrella in the shade in shorts and t shirt by the pool of the house i’m renovating, it’s to hot to be in the full sun. See that blue stuff in the background, it’s the sky 8)
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 05:43:53 PM by Rumpig »

« Reply #1512 on: May 30, 2019, 11:44:53 AM »
Quote from: Rumpig
See that boy stuff in the background, it’s the sky 8)
Im concerned...

« Reply #1513 on: May 30, 2019, 05:24:10 PM »
Woods Point Warby Road now closed do to snow conditions :D

how good would it be to be at Woods Point Pub now with the fire blaring, booze cold and the footy on!

« Reply #1514 on: May 30, 2019, 05:45:28 PM »
Im concerned...
bloody phone...lol...should turn that auto text crap off, I spend more time fixing my posts half the time then writing them

« Reply #1515 on: May 30, 2019, 05:46:38 PM »
bloody phone...lol...should turn that auto text crap off, I spend more time fixing my posts half the time then writing them
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #1516 on: May 30, 2019, 08:00:42 PM »

Shuuuure you do   ::) ::) ::)

« Reply #1517 on: June 02, 2019, 02:18:22 PM »
cOLD SNAP TO HIT US.....

« Reply #1518 on: July 08, 2019, 08:55:44 AM »
I bought a digital rain gauge with a Bunnings voucher I had, works well, lots of nerdy rain data :)
https://www.bunnings.com.au/nylex-digital-rain-gauge_p0057137

« Reply #1519 on: July 08, 2019, 10:46:21 AM »
Weve  got this modern type of one  ;D

« Reply #1520 on: July 08, 2019, 07:31:19 PM »
I bought a digital rain gauge with a Bunnings voucher I had, works well, lots of nerdy rain data :)
https://www.bunnings.com.au/nylex-digital-rain-gauge_p0057137
Just make sure you mount the rain collection bit in a good spot away from obstructions and out of reach of little kids shoving the hose in there when they’re squirting water at the dog..... ;)

Apparently it can be a pain having to remember to deduct 788mm from your annual total. Not that I’d know.... ;D

« Reply #1521 on: July 08, 2019, 07:33:03 PM »
Apparently it can be a pain having to remember to deduct 788mm from your annual total. Not that I’d know.... ;D

:cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #1522 on: July 09, 2019, 08:04:12 AM »

Thanks, been thinking about getting something similar.

Noticed on the blurb:

"The wireless rain collector sensor transmits data by using a low power radio frequency to the display main unit that can be located up to 100m away (within line of sight)"

How do you go with "line of sight" to inside the house ???

« Reply #1523 on: July 09, 2019, 09:11:34 AM »
How do you go with "line of sight" to inside the house ???

Display unit is in the garage 5m away through a double brick wall. It drops out if I move it further away. Appears to be pretty low power.

« Reply #1524 on: July 09, 2019, 10:04:23 AM »
Mine is not the same brand/model, but roughly the same price range.

The rain collection bit is about 15m away from the display, but has line of sight through a glass window.
The tempreture sensor is about 20m away from the display and has to pass through 2 solid core filled concrete block walls and a timber stud wall, it works just fine.