Author Topic: Gday from Townsville  (Read 12337 times)

Offline 9775Andrew

Gday from Townsville
« on: December 19, 2010, 04:00:10 PM »

We're expats from Sydney. Came to TSVL in 07 for 12 months of what was to be a 5 year trip around Australia. You can really see a place when you set up house for a bit.

NQ been great but it's just about time to move on again we think, only now there are 3 of us. So the clock is now ticking if we are to complete any part of the lap before the school years start.

Up to now we've been tent folk, however with the additional backside in the vehicle we are attempting to decide between a CT or a caravan.
We're Grey Nomads in Training

Re: Gday from Townsville
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 04:08:53 PM »
Welcome to myswag Andrew, good luck with your search. You'll find plenty of different camper options here.

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 04:10:33 PM »
Welcome to Myswag. 

Buy a solid camper, and see all the places the vanners only read about.  But I'm a bit bias.

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2010, 05:19:52 PM »
Welcome to MySwag!

Best of luck with your ventures!
Please share your pics with us all!

Offline oldturtle22

« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2010, 05:36:08 PM »
Welcome, another Townsvillain,

Good to see,

cheers Chris

« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2010, 07:33:47 AM »
Welcome mate.......... i'd be buying a camper......... though i can't talk i'm still in a tent :'( ..... :cheers:

« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2010, 07:53:43 AM »
Welcome to the Forum, good luck on the search, ask away as the forum has much experience in all matters

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2010, 09:13:32 AM »
Welcome to the forum Andrew.  I think NQ and FNQ are going to take over this show.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2010, 09:20:41 AM »
Welcome to myswag, there is so much info here it is not funny, ask heaps of questions after doing a search, your question has probably already been asked a couple of times.

Good to see more and more people from the north joining up.

Cheers Rod.... 8) :cheers:

Offline Nutto

• Burning desire to camp.....
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2010, 11:59:42 AM »
Gidday Andrew, wealth of info here to troll through. 
Camper or caravan?   Sounds like another candidate for something in between - a jayco camper.....!
Nutto

« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2010, 04:09:58 PM »
G'day Andrew and welcome to Myswag. :cheers:

Offline 9775Andrew

« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2010, 09:31:39 PM »
Thanks for the welcome notes

We are heading down the path of Camprite CT. It's a lot of bucks but they look the goods. Mate has one and is very  happy

Offline oldturtle22

« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2010, 08:16:41 AM »
I think theres another one advertised second hand in the classifieds section mate

Cheers Chris

Offline 9775Andrew

« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2010, 10:23:02 PM »
Thanks oldturtle22

Saw that one and am looking at another elsewhere also

« Reply #14 on: January 06, 2011, 10:55:27 AM »

How's your camper search going?

Offline janineandy

• Vacation camper trailer
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2011, 11:24:38 AM »
G'day Andrew,
You are welcome to come and look at our camper if you are still deciding.  We have a Vacationer, had a recent trip to the Gulf with myswaggers and could not fault it.
 :laugh:
Vacationer camper, Hilux SR5.  Dual batteries, OME suspension, long range fuel tank

Offline 9775Andrew

« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2011, 12:35:59 PM »
the search is on hold until we get back from holidays, we made it through the floods  with only one hold up in Childers overnight. Got down to Forster NSW and am now in Sydney for a week then off to Coonamble and if the gods are pleased we may be able to get back home before end of Jan

« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2011, 07:07:20 PM »
Hi Andrew and welcome to the forum

Offline 9775Andrew

« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2011, 07:35:57 PM »
We've made it back to Townsville in one piece after visiting Forster, Sydney, detour to Berrima Diesel, Coonamble and some cross country home where we could (still a lot of closed dirt roads around). Missed out on catching up with an uncle in Helidon due to road closures & timing. Caught up with all family, done some fishing, clay target shooting and pig hunting. Best of all had 1 & 1/2 Y/O lilttle girl have her first real camping experiences.

We were looking at 2 second hand Camprites and have decied to wait and ordered a new one for only a few $$$ more.

We drove past a lot of the flood areas and it's absolutley amazing to see how well towns have bounced back. Although the focus is on Brisbane smaller communities suffered as much or more. Theodore looks like nothing has happened ... well done. (Kochie didn't go there live).

If there is any good to come out of it, It may have been a good wake up call for pollies to see what country people endure every year without grumbling.

Thanks to everyone for all the welcomes and ahelp so far. Will post pics when I figue out how

Offline mark40

« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2011, 05:33:59 PM »
What a time to come back...just in time for a bloody cyclone.

Offline dallp

« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2011, 06:05:34 PM »
The  birds are still here. saw minor birds and pidgeons plus lots of others around. :D :D

while the birds remain things aren't too bad, in that we can get rain and wind but not the absolute worst destructive type.. ;D

if there aint no birds tomorrow morning at 5.30 am then we in big trouble. :'( :'( :'(