General => General Discussion => Topic started by: GBC on January 26, 2016, 02:05:48 PM

Title: Who's had a look at an MDC Cape York?
Post by: GBC on January 26, 2016, 02:05:48 PM
I've been looking at all things offroad from vans to soft floors over the last year trying to decide which way to go forward, and watching the second hand pages for the odd bargain.
I've come back to the above trailer a few times and am getting close to putting a deposit on one.
I've toured with two of the cheaper rear fold versions and believe that for the $14k odd they paid for them they got a good deal. Neither have had major issues apart from the poor old jockey wheel not loving the 300 odd k.g. that they are subjected to. I am prepared for the ball weight of a fully loaded rear fold for touring. To get local product with anything like the amount of (16 oz) canvas much less the rest of it, the prices are pretty much starting at nearly double the $20k I can have one for. I have to give it to the Asians, they learn bloody quick. The first series of Korean cars were abysmal and just look at them now (I had a Kia Ceres 4x4 cab over many moons ago). It would appear that camper manufacture is closing gaps equally as fast. It's never going to be the Kimberley kamper of which it is a dead flop (something about imitation being the sincerest form of flattery?) but at the price point I'm finding it tough to go past.
Edit - to repeat the question, I'd like actual feedback from people when have actually seen the camper trailer? Thoughts?
Title: Re: Who's had a look at an MDC Cape York?
Post by: Robbo on January 26, 2016, 06:15:45 PM
OOps! There's that familiar brand name again..   ;D
Post by: wedwards on January 26, 2016, 07:28:24 PM
Sitting here laughing at my phone with everyone looking at me funny ... Not sure why I find that so amusing but it tripped my switch :)

Post by: gronk on January 26, 2016, 07:35:01 PM
I know where this will go........but, why not buy one instead of trying to start a debate ?

You haven't asked a question, you have told us you want to buy one ??

Buy it !! Then tell us in 12 mths how it went ??
Post by: KingBilly on January 26, 2016, 07:41:11 PM
It's never going to be the Kimberley kamper of which it is a dead flop (something about imitation being the sincerest form of flattery?) but at the price point I'm finding it tough to go past.

And that is the most important part of your decision process, knowing the difference and being prepared to do some modifications.  Good luck with your decisions.

Post by: GBC on January 26, 2016, 08:38:48 PM
I know where this will go........but, why not buy one instead of trying to start a debate ?

You haven't asked a question, you have told us you want to buy one ??

Buy it !! Then tell us in 12 mths how it went ??

So you haven't had a look then? Or you don't know how a question is crafted?
I was after current views rather than old rhetoric and 'debates' based thereupon. I did do a search prior to posting.
Post by: jw2170 on January 26, 2016, 08:45:25 PM
Read it twice and, brand not relevant, did not see one question mark......(?). [apart from the thread title]

And, I do know how a question is crafted......

What is it you actually want to know?
Post by: speewa158 on January 26, 2016, 08:49:53 PM
Buy it & post up Your observations of how it went , compared to what has been told to us  :cheers:
 No debate   ,  do it . lts your call              :cheers:
Post by: glenm64 on January 26, 2016, 08:51:34 PM
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160126/e3f8da94072d1d5e935cb9591fcceb1a.jpg)

Post by: gronk on January 26, 2016, 09:05:43 PM
So you haven't had a look then? Or you don't know how a question is crafted?
I was after current views rather than old rhetoric and 'debates' based thereupon. I did do a search prior to posting.

I read your whole 1st post. If you were asking a question you went about in a very strange way ??

The only craft I know is cheese !!

If you were after current views, why not say so ??

As for current views..........I have none !!   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: UIZ733 on January 26, 2016, 09:10:39 PM
As for current views..........I have none !!   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Yet.  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 27, 2016, 06:52:17 AM
Buy it Buy it     then get a bigger tug    ,    A Jeep    8)
 This sounds like a match made in a  " Work Shop "      :cheers:
Post by: wedwards on January 27, 2016, 07:48:56 AM
What's wrong with a jeep?

Post by: BigJules on January 27, 2016, 07:57:11 AM
Enough BS, let's get this back on track.

Can anyone share their experience of this camper?

Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 27, 2016, 09:00:57 AM
There's an MDC owners group Facebook page that you would have a MUCH better chance of gaining any feedback from, other than here.  ::)

I was talking to a guy only a couple of weeks ago who has one. It's for sale at the moment. He recently travelled through the Gulf with it, and only had one issue that was driver error, not the trailer's fault.

I think he was asking $12k ??? He's on Brisbanes Northside if that's any good to you? I can get his number if you want it?

Shane.
Post by: gronk on January 27, 2016, 09:28:02 AM

Edit - to repeat the question, I'd like actual feedback from people when have actually seen the camper trailer? Thoughts?

Aahh, now you have asked a question !!

Yes, I have seen the camper trailer in question. Thoughts ?   It looks pretty !
Post by: discoteddy on January 27, 2016, 09:37:09 AM
Enough BS, let's get this back on track.

Can anyone share their experience of this camper?

x  2 and well said.

Disco Teddy.
Post by: wedwards on January 27, 2016, 09:54:18 AM
It was on our short list however they couldn't get one in for us in time to have a look at it in person, so we dismissed it (albeit this was just after new years, so they had a good excuse).  Definately had a lot of features on paper that we liked - probably the only MDC model that I would have seriously considered buying based on our list of requirements.
Post by: GBC on January 27, 2016, 10:27:38 AM
There's an MDC owners group Facebook page that you would have a MUCH better chance of gaining any feedback from, other than here.  ::)

I was talking to a guy only a couple of weeks ago who has one. It's for sale at the moment. He recently travelled through the Gulf with it, and only had one issue that was driver error, not the trailer's fault.

I think he was asking $12k ??? He's on Brisbanes Northside if that's any good to you? I can get his number if you want it?

Shane.

If it's a Cape York at that money I'd be interested, Yes please.

The new trailer factory warranty is appealing however - I'm not new to this and am going in with open eyes.

The bottom line is it'll get used for a couple of trips a year and a trek every couple of years at most - camping isn't the only form of holidaying we do, and the view's the same no matter what you've arrived in. Bob Ansett told me that sitting in the Noosa Surf club years ago and I've never forgotten it.

Post by: wedwards on January 27, 2016, 10:36:07 AM

The new trailer factory warranty is appealing however - I'm not new to this and am going in with open eyes.

The bottom line is it'll get used for a couple of trips a year and a trek every couple of years at most - camping isn't the only form of holidaying we do, and the view's the same no matter what you've arrived in. Bob Ansett told me that sitting in the Noosa Surf club years ago and I've never forgotten it.

From what Ive seen of the MDC and other imported camper ranges, if you don't try and beat the crap out of them like you would a hardened off-road vehicle, and you drive to the conditions (letting tyres down when necessary etc etc), then they will do all that it sounds like you want to do.  Some people assume off-road means it can take any kind of beating on any track you ever want to throw at it.  Thats not really going to end well for almost any trailer on the market - yes there are some that will be fine at the end of all that, but Im pretty sure I could kill any trailer out there with a good dose of stupid.
Post by: Beachman on January 27, 2016, 12:09:01 PM
I haven’t seen the model your looking at personally, but I am seeing more and more MDC campers on the road and in camp grounds. So just based on pure numbers they must be doing something right.

I have to agree with the original post and agree from what I’ve seen and heard MDC are constantly evolving when it comes to quality control. When they first came into the market I would have never considered one, but now over time I’m starting to change my mind because we don’t do long trips on punishing tracks, so for our trips they are starting to tick more and more boxes especially for the price.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 27, 2016, 12:29:57 PM

My stuff up, I got the MDC bit right, but that's about it  ;D
Crusader FF.

I dunno why I was thinking a Cape York ???
Post by: hempo on January 27, 2016, 05:03:55 PM
Looks like this model won the camper trailer of the year http://www.campertraileraustralia.com.au/campertrailer-reviews/1512/camper-trailer-of-the-year-2016-winner-mdc-venturer-lt-cape-york-edition/ (http://www.campertraileraustralia.com.au/campertrailer-reviews/1512/camper-trailer-of-the-year-2016-winner-mdc-venturer-lt-cape-york-edition/)

Is that the same model you are enquiring about?
Post by: GBC on January 27, 2016, 09:16:46 PM
Yes mate, that is the one I am interested in. A bit of a loss leader strategy to win awards and get market share I'd guess. Is there anything else for $20k I should be looking at? Not interested in forward folders - layout doesn't suit a family in the annexe area. Not interested in soft floors. The lifestyle 2+ was the only other thing that took our fancy but by the time it was modestly optioned to suit it had moved a price bracket or two from the door price and still required further post production modification to suit our touring requirements which we aren't really interested in inventing and the factory couldn't help with. It is a good product though.
Post by: Bill on January 27, 2016, 09:38:18 PM
I have not seen the Cape York.
I do have a couple Mates with different model MDC campers and in the two years they have owned them there have been no problems.
Post by: GBC on January 29, 2016, 07:16:06 AM
For those who assisted, thank you. I put a deposit on one yesterday. it should be ready for the Easter hols.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 29, 2016, 08:02:06 AM
Post by: Bailey on January 29, 2016, 12:23:34 PM
Nice. What swayed you to buy it?

Sent from my HTC_0P6B using Tapatalk

Post by: Steffo1 on January 29, 2016, 01:02:35 PM
This thread, of course!
Post by: GBC on January 29, 2016, 01:23:01 PM
Haha, yes next order of business is to work out where the 'ignore member' button is.
Main reason was outlay vs perceived fit out level. I spent $20k less than my next choice. Time will tell now if I have saved $20k or blown $20k.
Just became a member of the owners group and there's page after page of happy owners so I'm feeling ok about my decision.
Post by: muzza01 on January 29, 2016, 02:16:46 PM
For those who assisted, thank you. I put a deposit on one yesterday. it should be ready for the Easter hols.
Congrats on your new purchase. Looking forward to reading your review in a couple of months. You would be hard pressed to find a better buy for $20k hard floor CT  :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on January 29, 2016, 03:29:59 PM
Congrats on the purchase  :cup:

If it fits you and your budget than thats all that matters.

We didnt buy our trailer cause it is 'Aussie Built", we bought it cause it suited us and what we wanted out of a trailer. :cheers:
Post by: Lazybugger on January 29, 2016, 07:34:21 PM
$20k saved you say .... Maybe you could spend that on carbon :cheers: you know what i am talkin about  ;D ;D
Post by: GBC on January 29, 2016, 07:38:28 PM
Haha. She'd have my balls mate. The old py kingfisher with a sail goes ok. The boat rack on this one was a big part of the decision. 2 yaks and a few pushys up there no problem at all. Swr for Easter chasing billys 👍
Post by: hempo on February 01, 2016, 01:05:30 PM
Well done GBC.  Many years ago there may have been numerous concerns however they really appear to be improving their quality.  I will seriously look at something similar when we upgrade.

Post by: Bill on February 01, 2016, 06:01:17 PM
Good on ya sir, Im sure ypu wont be dissapointed.
SWMBO and I have been climbing in and around the MDC X12.
Thinking it may be the way to go when we upgrade.
Post by: McGirr on February 01, 2016, 07:46:42 PM

Congrats on the purchase.

We all buy what we can afford and you will always add extras as you need them.

Happy travels.

Post by: powerd on February 02, 2016, 09:08:04 PM
Congrats on your purchase.  I am sure you will have a great time with it.

I have just picked up my MDC Cruizer forward fold.  I chose it because a FF suits my needs and I was very impressed with the build quality, strength, equipment and value. I had a custom built, ?strong but very basic soft floor for some years so knew what I wanted and to look for.  I also took along two mates to show who were ex trades, had off road and camper experience, and owned campers/caravans.  In our view nothing came close up to $40k, the finish and equipment on all but the expensive ($45k) plus Aussie ones was disappointing.

EDIT:  CamperTrailer Australia was so impressed with the Venturer LX Cape York (rear fold version of mine, very similar) that it awarded it outright Camper Trailer of the Year 2016. I can understand why. It really does turn the whole China vs Australian thing on its head. I really don't want to start a battle here - at the next show, just go and look for yourself or go to their showroom.

I haven't taken it away yet, just brought it back from Sydney in heavy rain and set it up.  Excellent so far.  I will be living in it for a while after I sell my house and travelling extensively including serious off road.  Recent feedback from owners suggests they handle it very very well. Quality at MDC has improved dramatically over the last two years.

Happy travels.
Post by: Purdz on February 13, 2016, 12:34:58 AM
I'm thinking of undertaking a similar venture. I want to get out of my soft floor and into a hard floor. Keen to see your review soon. Keep us posted. This model is appealing for many reasons. The ball weight seems a lot though...

Best of luck
Post by: Purdz on February 23, 2016, 05:30:34 AM
Just had a really good look at the cape York model recently. There are some really great features on it, however I was disappointed with the quality of the fit and finish.

The idea of the trailer is brilliant, but I believe it would be better if the quality control team were a bit more stringent.

Still keen to hear your review.
Post by: BaseCamp on February 23, 2016, 07:36:21 AM
Interesting. ..  what parts of it were crap?

Post by: vxcruiser08 on March 29, 2016, 04:49:11 PM
Any more feedback on these campers? I spoke to Kenno today (from LowRange/MDC) and he was a great help and genuinely believes the new releases are a result from many learnings and R&D from his trips.
Post by: GBC on March 29, 2016, 07:39:10 PM
Sitting in mine in the pouring rain at south west rocks at the moment. Perfectly dry and happy. Everything works as it should. I will probably make up a 500mm pfc drawbar extension to bring the ball weight geometry back in line with my mates trailers. Aussie swag ultra e on one side and a aor export on the other side. The ranger tows it fine as it is, I just need to fiddle. I've also made up a roof canvas tensioning system which gets rid of a heap of braces. I've added a portable 120w panel which backs up the fixed panel - we are camped in the shade. The fridge power cigarette plug system went quickly but they have to supply something and ciggy plugs are universal. Running on spade connectors now. I also had a spare 120 agm the same size as existing and there was a spare spot ready to fit it so that makes 3 x batteries which smooths things out. The fridge, water pump and a couple of led strips hits nearly 10a! I am very happy with the trailer thus far.
Post by: sol on March 30, 2016, 05:13:47 AM
Congrats mate, got any pics  ;D

Post by: GBC on March 30, 2016, 05:44:07 AM
I'll have to resize them off the computer when I get home.
Post by: vxcruiser08 on April 14, 2016, 02:34:02 PM
Keep us posted, It's a nice camper! I was keen on the MDC until I went to the camp show this week to review their products and talk to the sales people in person. I even spoke to Kenno on the phone last week however at the end of the day he still works for them. There are a few reasons (sales people, quality of finish etc, and the amount of issues posted in the FB groups). Needless to say my budget has now increased by 10-15k as I was just a little concerned on the durability of one in the outback for months on end. I won't be just doing the odd weekend trip, now to confuse myself with more research and reviews!
Post by: GBC on April 14, 2016, 06:11:28 PM
I understand budget creep - I own boats ;)
Strangely on the camper the budget shrunk, but I am slowly getting to use some of the spare change. I have a 500mm pfc drawbar extension being manufactured and hot dipped at present.
The method of storage for the hot and cold water lines did my head in, so an afternoon with john guest fittings, a step drill and some stainless steel swarf burns later, we now have permanently plumbed hot and cold lines to the kitchen flick mixer - much more satisfactory. I understand they are built to a price, so not whinging - I expected to do this mod at least.
I took some shots but ive been busy doing days and nights at work and in the meantime one of my trained ferrets at work managed to download an awesome encryption virus which is demanding $1200 to decrypt all my docs and photos. Needless to say I have a new computer and heaps less photos. If i can find a simple way to resize on the iphone or surface pro ill put some up.
I thought the winch system might be a bit of a gimmick, but it allows me to cruise around and tuck in the canvas on my own. I've seen one with an electric rtv winch and a remote control - thinking thinking....... I could use it to load the tinny as well.
Good luck with the search. $35k odd should nett you a decent second hand 'first tier manufacturer's' trailer.
Post by: plusnq on April 14, 2016, 06:31:09 PM

You might have that boat bit backwards  ;D

There is an app called simple resize on iOS that is great for resizing photos for forum use

Simple Resize by tekunodo.
https://appsto.re/au/7HxIt.i

No association, just use it all the time.

Post by: GBC on April 14, 2016, 08:07:50 PM
Test. You beauty. Thanks for that. Shot with the side rolled up of the bunks and the green bungee patented roof tensioning system.
Post by: GBC on April 14, 2016, 08:13:51 PM
Battery bank plus the spare odyssey
Post by: GBC on April 14, 2016, 08:16:00 PM
Set up for a week. The annexe is 6 x 2.5 - we had 8 people playing cards one night, no worries.
Post by: GBC on April 14, 2016, 08:18:53 PM
The obligatory kitchen shot. It works really well. I like cooking and I hate rifling to find stuff. This stores everything well.
I've lost most the other photos, these were on the phone. Thanks again for the resizer.
Post by: GBC on April 14, 2016, 08:22:27 PM
I should mention the Chinese innerspring mattress. It looks just like a mattress, feels more like a coral reef. After the first night I drove to Kempsey to buy a self inflator. Again, not exactly surprised as I had read a few reports about them.
Post by: Redcherokee on April 14, 2016, 08:38:17 PM
It looks just like a mattress, feels more like a coral reef.

Don't do that again. Snorting from laughing while drinking is not good.   ;D :cheers:

Love the analogy.  Felt a few motel beds like that. 

Post by: vxcruiser08 on April 14, 2016, 09:02:09 PM
Strangely on the camper the budget shrunk, but I am slowly getting to use some of the spare change. I have a 500mm pfc drawbar extension being manufactured and hot dipped at present.
The method of storage for the hot and cold water lines did my head in, so an afternoon with john guest fittings, a step drill and some stainless steel swarf burns later, we now have permanently plumbed hot and cold lines to the kitchen flick mixer - much more satisfactory. I understand they are built to a price, so not whinging - I expected to do this mod at least.
I took some shots but ive been busy doing days and nights at work and in the meantime one of my trained ferrets at work managed to download an awesome encryption virus which is demanding $1200 to decrypt all my docs and photos. Needless to say I have a new computer and heaps less photos. If i can find a simple way to resize on the iphone or surface pro ill put some up.
I thought the winch system might be a bit of a gimmick, but it allows me to cruise around and tuck in the canvas on my own. I've seen one with an electric rtv winch and a remote control - thinking thinking....... I could use it to load the tinny as well.
Good luck with the search. $35k odd should nett you a decent second hand 'first tier manufacturer's' trailer.
Sounds like you're all over it. See, I suck at that sort of stuff and wouldn't have any idea how to fix all the little improvements required. I reckon you'll end up with a nice trailer mate. Looks like you've got some good plans and enjoying it.
Post by: rockinj on April 14, 2016, 10:02:51 PM
looking good
Post by: GU42T on April 15, 2016, 12:24:35 AM
GBC, some of your comments have cracked me up!
Love the mattress analogy!
Congratulations on your purchase, have seen them in the flesh at a couple of shows and for $20K you get a lot of bang for your buck.
Hope it does everything you need.

How were the little blacks? South West Rocks is a ripper destination!
Used to have a small Haines that we regularly spent time between Bermagui and SWR for five years, then sold the boat and got a house, still miss it.
Hate the bar there at SWR though..... Can be particularly nasty.

cheers,
Luke
Post by: GBC on April 15, 2016, 05:59:51 AM
Cheers for the comments guys.
I usually take my fishing kayak with me to swr but this year a mate recently bought his first sea kayak so I took my sea kayak instead and we had lessons and did some touring and surfing in them. The blacks are getting thin on the ground by Easter, but the spotties and Spanish I saw come in were all quality. Some very nice snapper snaffling livies meant for pelagics on the inshore grounds as well. When my kids want to chase them I will organise the car topper to have some fun with them in a year or two. We will be chasing them at 1770 in October in the big boat though for sure.

Vxcruiser08 - yes I get that. I'm not overly keen on making mods to campers a hobby either, but being a builder I have the gear and can generally mcguyver something up to suit. I'd much rather spend time drinking grog in it than drilling holes under it.
Post by: Fizzie on April 15, 2016, 07:36:06 AM
I've also made up a roof canvas tensioning system which gets rid of a heap of braces.

the green bungee patented roof tensioning system.

GBC

Could you please give some more details of your canvas tensioning system (unless, of course, it's Commercial-in-Confidence  :D), as we're having a problem with rain pooling on the roof of our CT & something like this may help? 

I'd much rather spend time drinking grog in it than drilling holes under it.

Wouldn't we all!  :D  :cheers:

Graeme
Post by: GBC on April 15, 2016, 07:59:08 AM
Very tekinogical mate. They are 'grunt' heavy duty 1200mm bungees from Bunnings. They run from the bracing web in the bow up in the roof, and down to the floor.
I backed out one of the lining screws in the side and made up a simple loop from some 3mm spectra line I had lying about which the bungee hooks into.
I had a magnificent ratchet system dreamed up but the permanent solution got binned as soon as the temporary one worked as is often the case around here haha.

Post by: snowz88 on April 17, 2016, 10:15:37 AM
The obligatory kitchen shot. It works really well. I like cooking and I hate rifling to find stuff. This stores everything well.
I've lost most the other photos, these were on the phone. Thanks again for the resizer.

So I just ordered mine the other week - Just wanted to ask if the BabyQ fit and travels as pictured?
Simon
Post by: GBC on April 17, 2016, 12:16:56 PM
Yes mate. Sits there perfectly. I added a tie down point to strap it down so I can use it there or take it outside on the trolley - smoky little buggers.
Post by: Mickthomas on July 24, 2016, 07:23:24 PM
Hi, just picked our Cape York up on Saturday, opened it up just to have a look, and found that closing it is quite a mission!!!, I presume you use the winch to pull the floor back up, but i wasn't too keen on putting the strap over the top roof poles...would this bend them???? Also while folding up with all the poles backed off one seemed to look like it was twisting...guess it'll come naturally after time, just seemed strange the first time....

Anyone else come across this????
Post by: GBC on July 24, 2016, 09:31:40 PM
Hi Mick,
Yes, we have found the winch works well. One of the kids winds it and I duck around pushing in canvas. Or I do it on my own while they do whatever kids do.
The only bows we loosen are the one over the bed and the one at the other end. The others have never been touched and the tropical roof stays in place.
Definitely there shouldn't be any bending, bowing, jumping on lids or gnashing of teeth. Spend a bit of time watching where it all goes and it will all be good. we pull the mattress back about 200mm and that creates a great spot for the first bow and all the nose canvas. Ours got a fair belting last trip and loved it. Dust proofing was tested along with corrugations, rain and sleet proofing.  I got the bearings serviced and the mech said "nothing to see here" - 12 inch brakes and parallel bearings do the business no worries - same setup as the vans so doing it easy on the campers.
I've recently upgraded my Andersen feed circuit breaker to 50a - I believe mdc are doing this as standard now - $6 well spent.
I'm also looking at building a tray around the fridge to make better use of the available space - I run a 60 evakool in a 110 litre space.
Next job is to make an outboard motor mount behind the spare tyre on the swing away.
Enjoy yours. Feel free to keep firing questions and ideas. The Facebook owners page has more good stuff and plenty of current trip blogs to follow.
Sorry, I also added pinchweld to the slide out kitchen pantry openings last weekend. If you leave the kitchen out with no awning the condensation can run in. Pinchweld prevents this. Also if camped at 1500m in July, fill the kettle the night before because the water lines will freeze, along with toothpaste, olive oil etc etc. i didn't need extra help to prove I'm a grumpy bastard without a morning coffee. I'll have to resize some photos and put them up.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 25, 2016, 02:31:28 PM
Congrats and glad to hear everyone is happy with their purchase.
I'm picking mine up in a few weeks. Got the kids room as well for the quick stops. I went the silver so the scratches and dirt don't show that bad.

Post by: Mickthomas on July 25, 2016, 04:36:35 PM
all the best and good luck...will see you around the tracks ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 25, 2016, 04:43:59 PM
all the best and good luck...will see you around the tracks ;D ;D ;D

Here is where it will be camped most weekends, unless the Mrs/kids want to go elsewhere. 10 acres on the Goulburn river in Jamieson  :D :D
Feel free to drop in for a can or two  :cheers:
Post by: GBC on July 25, 2016, 07:42:10 PM
Kids room? I wonder if one will go on mine? I think I'd like one of those. I've never heard of them.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 25, 2016, 07:56:16 PM
Kids room? I wonder if one will go on mine? I think I'd like one of those. I've never heard of them.

They changed the canvas about 2 months back and added a zip and valcro to add one on. I asked about 2 months ago and they said NO. Went and had another look a few weeks ago and they added one on so I brought one.

You would need to change your canvas or somehow attach the zip etc.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on July 25, 2016, 09:56:43 PM
Any tent repairer worth their salt would make an easy job of it.
Just have to make access through the wall for the extra tentage.
Post by: GBC on July 26, 2016, 07:58:16 AM
Showed the boss and she said we don't need it because - 'she's happy with the setup as it is'. Just thought I'd capture the moment for posterity (and evidence) - It doesn't happen often when it comes to the wife and camping haha.
Post by: warrenm on August 01, 2016, 05:33:19 PM
You mentioned an "extension for your drawbar" do you have any pics?
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 05:46:49 PM
Couple of angles. It had a fair workout last trip with no ill effect. The new electric jockey wheel is also in the photo. For me it's for moving it around in the garage and hooking it up. My garage floor has fall and parking is tight. I can't see it coming on holidays with us.
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 06:01:03 PM
Power supply to the front of the trailer. It runs the jockey wheel and will charge the car up when the trailer is plugged into power. The normal Anderson plug is isolated by the projecta dc charger which necessitated this.
Post by: warrenm on August 01, 2016, 06:03:01 PM
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 06:06:32 PM
Few random shots.

One of the pinchweld I added to the kitchen bins.
One of the olive oil which froze in one of the kitchen bins last trip - novel for a Queenslander. Not so novel was waiting for the water lines to thaw out for the first coffee of the day
One of the trailer set up at Girraween.

That's about all for the time being.
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 06:11:42 PM
Couple of close ups of the boat rack mechanism for Bagpuss
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on August 01, 2016, 06:35:32 PM
Few random shots.

One of the olive oil which froze in one of the kitchen bins last trip - novel for a Queenslander. Not so novel was waiting for the water lines to thaw out for the first coffee of the day

That'll teach you to leave water in the kettle the night before.
Always easier to heat a kettle, even if the water is solid.
Post by: GBC on August 01, 2016, 06:38:18 PM
That'll teach you to leave water in the kettle the night before.
Always easier to heat a kettle, even if the water is solid.
Yeah we worked it out pretty quick. First night caught us by surprise - I didn't expect the lines to freeze. The pump makes a great noise trying to push hailstones ;)

Post by: bagpuss on August 01, 2016, 08:54:19 PM
Thanks for the photos :cheers: I like how they have put gators on the gas struts (And they say that imported campers aren't thought out) This is the first time I've seen it done  :cup:Top marks MDC
It looks like your having a ball with your camper keep it mate
Post by: Mickthomas on August 02, 2016, 12:00:29 PM

hi mate, where did you source the pinchweld  from???

i've tried motor trimmers, hardware, clark rubber etc....only place i can seem to find it is on fleabay..out of china.. ??? ??? ???
Post by: GBC on August 02, 2016, 12:03:01 PM
Link modified

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111227230909 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111227230909)
Post by: Mickthomas on August 02, 2016, 12:05:36 PM
link didnt work, you have to be the buyer or seller to see the details, but i guess its gunna be Ebay....what sizing did you find works???
Post by: GBC on August 02, 2016, 12:09:36 PM
Changed it. Should work now.
Post by: db on August 02, 2016, 12:49:49 PM
hi mate, where did you source the pinchweld  from???

i've tried motor trimmers, hardware, clark rubber etc....only place i can seem to find it is on fleabay..out of china.. ??? ??? ???

Clark Rubber at Mile End in Adelaide stocks it, I thought it was pretty standard Clark Rubber stuff. http://www.clarkrubber.com.au/rubber-and-flooring/rubber-extrusions-3/pinchweld-seal.html (http://www.clarkrubber.com.au/rubber-and-flooring/rubber-extrusions-3/pinchweld-seal.html)
Post by: GBC on August 02, 2016, 02:04:53 PM
Clark Rubber at Mile End in Adelaide stocks it, I thought it was pretty standard Clark Rubber stuff. http://www.clarkrubber.com.au/rubber-and-flooring/rubber-extrusions-3/pinchweld-seal.html (http://www.clarkrubber.com.au/rubber-and-flooring/rubber-extrusions-3/pinchweld-seal.html)

Profile is too big for the tight radius corners - need mini (8 x5).
Post by: jfella on November 08, 2020, 08:34:11 AM
[quote author=GBC link=topic=46752.msg816189#msg816189 date=
The method of storage for the hot and cold water lines did my head in, so an afternoon with john guest fittings, a step drill and some stainless steel swarf burns later, we now have permanently plumbed hot and cold lines to the kitchen flick mixer
[/quote]

Digging up an old post I know, but would love to know how this mod was done if any one has some tips?

Jay
Post by: GBC on November 08, 2020, 09:55:45 AM
[quote author=GBC link=topic=46752.msg816189#msg816189 date=
The method of storage for the hot and cold water lines did my head in, so an afternoon with john guest fittings, a step drill and some stainless steel swarf burns later, we now have permanently plumbed hot and cold lines to the kitchen flick mixer

Digging up an old post I know, but would love to know how this mod was done if any one has some tips?

Jay

Gday Jay, I’m still around and still have the camper.

I just reread this post - I’m still on the original Chinese bearings haha. It has new shocks now and is looking like it will need a set of suspension arm bushes, but it has earned them.

The water lines are plumbed into the rear of the kitchen area from the RHS of the camper where the HWS feed is. I just installed 2 john guest tee fittings in line.The penetrations through the floor go through electrical sealing grommets. I had to cut a small hole through the bed floor to get the nuts onto the back of them, then glued a piece of poly board (Mrs bread board from the kitchen) back over the hole.
Because I am lazy and didn’t want to take the kitchen off its slides I bought a ryobi 18v 90 degree drill to fit into the rear pantry box of the kitchen and drill 2 holes for the longer feed lines to come through.
Finally undo the screws holding in the thetford sink/flick mixer setup, loosen the john guest fittings and ditch the factory lines, and run the new permanent lines into the same john guest fittings - I must have installed a 90 degree fitting in there also - can’t remember for sure.
The lines just need to be slightly longer than you need at full extension, and they will self coil as the kitchen goes back in - I have had no issue in 4 years with mine and it remains my favourite mod. The trick is to buy genuine john guest line rather than the Chinese copy stuff which would probably kink. I had the luxury of looking in some mates’ Aussie campers to see how they were permanently plumbed, and it isn’t exactly scientific, so I had a go.
I did it on my own in a long morning. If you flick me a phone number or email address I can send some zoomable quality pics if you need them.
I should update this thread, after 4 years the camper has done a heap of trips now. Apart from a couple of fly screen holes (operator error) I can confidently say I saved $20k rather than wasted it. I might make the time to post some pics here.

EDIT - pics uploaded - not fun. Potato quality. Shot of the RHS underneath the camper looking up into where the lines go through the floor into the rear of the kitchen compartment.
Shot of the ‘temporary’ breadboard fix which is still there.
Shot of the new HWS setup - it is permanently fixed there on a slide out I made up - it just clips into the water and gas and off it goes. It is all weatherproof under the gullwing and I can close it at night without undoing it all. Also good for frosty camps where you can drain the water and put it away. Hope this all helps. Also see the little white mesh shelf I made up behind it for bog roll, hoses, wheel chocks etc. I like that one a lot.
Post by: GBC on November 08, 2020, 10:24:45 AM
Hws and shelf here
Post by: jfella on November 08, 2020, 12:05:08 PM
Thanks heaps for taking the time to write that all up GBC - massive help!

Just bought a mint condition 2016/2017 model and looking to start the mods.

Thanks again!
Jay