Author Topic: Old / new cars that have been blended into a what if  (Read 35494 times)

Re: Old / new cars that have been blended into a what if
« Reply #25 on: December 21, 2016, 02:36:06 PM »
An old army mate has a Ford prototype  [ Built by Ford for the 1974 Sydney Motor show ] of the 1977 Ford LTD Coupe partialy restored [ All there just in bits ] We did drive it back home from Brisbane years ago ..
Based on a 1974 Landau coupe shell with LTD front and rear tail light section blended onto it .. Has 4 bucket seats, full 1977 LTD dash, 4 wheel discs, ran a 400 ci  clevo V8 backed by an FMX auto and 9" diff ..Pics show the style if you can imagine it all blended into a two door ..
« Last Edit: December 21, 2016, 02:38:33 PM by edz »

« Reply #26 on: December 21, 2016, 02:37:49 PM »
The shark hunter, Vic Hislop's old 4x4  :cup:

« Reply #27 on: December 21, 2016, 02:47:09 PM »
what about this beast

time

« Reply #28 on: December 21, 2016, 03:45:11 PM »

Offline lukeycat

« Reply #30 on: December 21, 2016, 04:37:58 PM »
There's a merc ute always parked in the Rialto carpark where we store our company vehicles I'll take some pics of it if I remember lol

« Reply #31 on: December 21, 2016, 07:14:27 PM »
There's a rumoured Rolls Royce Utility been created in the Fern Tree Gully/Melb. area, not sure what model.

Offline chillipepperz

« Reply #32 on: December 21, 2016, 08:29:27 PM »
Your a funny man Andrew ... Here ya go a Mk3 or 4  Escort  ;D  ;D    Hows that little project of yours going ?  ;D
Ohh dear found another Nutter that built a Mk2 Escort 4X4  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjBP5pm1zqs 
And here I was thinking I was the only one [ Though mine was done roughly 20 years ago ] https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX62PnR4io8

Thanks for the car porn Edz- I love that 4x4 Escort of yours- be great to see it unleashed it on the tracks. Mine is progressing s l o w l y but getting there. Hoping to shoot colour in the engine bay this holidays and getting it off the rotisserie. When/if I do, I will update the Escort thread.

BTW, you are posting some amazing creations!

Cheers!
Andrew
Alumina Hardtop Camper Build: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=22809.0

« Reply #33 on: December 21, 2016, 10:35:08 PM »

Offline NewieCamper

« Reply #34 on: December 22, 2016, 05:48:56 AM »
Wonder how many of these started with a crash, then finding the nearest donor.

« Reply #35 on: December 22, 2016, 07:05:03 AM »
The Rover 3500  coupe  would be doable reasonably easy, might have sold better if they'd built them .
With the Monaro van and old holden you just have to wonder  " what were they thinking " .

« Reply #36 on: December 22, 2016, 10:12:51 AM »
Sth African factory two door Cortina, P100 ute / Sierra  ..

« Reply #37 on: December 22, 2016, 11:26:47 AM »
Ohh dear  !!..

« Reply #38 on: December 22, 2016, 11:36:06 AM »
Not quite as odd as the others but ...

You bogan

« Reply #39 on: December 22, 2016, 01:17:09 PM »
Drugs

This is one of a kind modified 4x4 Muscle Gangster Looking Collectable V8 Car. WONT LAST LONG.
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahhaahahahahahahahahahahahah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/sutherland/cars-vans-utes/muscle-car-jeep-4x4-rolls-royce-replica-front-grill-a1/1130171010

« Reply #40 on: December 22, 2016, 06:45:53 PM »
I'd like to see this one. The pic's been floating around for years and it certainly looks the part in the pic.

FE roof and cut down rear screen?

« Reply #41 on: December 22, 2016, 07:16:08 PM »
I'd like to see this one. The pic's been floating around for years and it certainly looks the part in the pic.

FE roof and cut down rear screen?
do it....

« Reply #42 on: December 23, 2016, 03:49:48 AM »
The bloke who built that, has recently bought it back. (read it somewhere)
I'm  sure the story said he'd built two of them. 

« Last Edit: December 23, 2016, 06:30:38 AM by edz »

« Reply #44 on: December 25, 2016, 12:26:14 AM »
Saw this HD / HR x Torana hatch many years ago and have been trying to find pics of it ever since ..
No photochop work back in the day, An idea a heap of sketches and into the metal fabrication and a bucket load of bog . ;D ;D
Even though some of these weird and wild machines haven't quite turned out right in the looks department, You have to give the owners credit  for tackling the job they have done .
Seems very few do this sort of customising these days .. Shame its a tech bolt on and iron gripped over regulated law world when it come to custom cars .
Like the Brougham Monaro  too, looks classy .
« Last Edit: December 25, 2016, 12:29:44 AM by edz »

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #45 on: December 25, 2016, 12:40:36 PM »
Going back to my first car, an Escort panel van that I grafted an XD Falcon front end onto. I also converted the barn doors to a lift up tailgate set up.
Sorry, no photos and it was a little dodgy too. It was early on in my apprenticeship as a panelbeater so I had some skills yet to develop!

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #46 on: December 25, 2016, 09:35:14 PM »
Seems the old Escort vans copped a lot of customising in the day  ...Holden fronts and rear ..Torana too .These are all from ARIEL customs that did the HD / Torana hatch ^^^
And is that an Izuzu Bellett with an LJ Torana nose and grill ? . A big improvement over stock . ;D

« Reply #47 on: December 26, 2016, 08:00:51 AM »
A couple more Escorts, Dont mind the Falcon either, Just a tad low and needs deep dish period wheels ..
« Last Edit: December 26, 2016, 08:04:51 AM by edz »

« Reply #49 on: December 26, 2016, 08:52:52 AM »
They wanted a VooDoo  Shrunken head Caddy . ???. Yep Caddies only  look good the big Bold + Size  .. One thing they got right was to give it a good heart though .
Some 4x4 types .
Have to wonder what this bloke was thinking / Drinking when he decided to build this though .2.0Ltr ford engine,  F-20 Scat Diffs / steering, Nissan 720 transfer case, Nissan Vannette brake master cyl / booster, Testar steering colum and a Toyota Celica 5 speed G box. ;D ;D
Always liked the Holden Overlanders, Would love to do an SLR Torana as one though .
« Last Edit: December 26, 2016, 09:24:54 AM by edz »