Author Topic: Carnage of the Cape MkII  (Read 31755 times)

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« on: July 06, 2012, 05:09:23 PM »
Following on from last years thread I thought it would be a good idea to post up what got damaged this year.  Compared to past years I did pretty well I thought -

1 x drivers side side step bent (Palm Creek)
1 x bent tray (Palm Creek)
1 x leaking transfer seal (mud)
1 x vent control linkage
1 x broken GME antenna (low tree branch)
3000 x bush pinstripes
2 x lost D-shackles

efjay

Re: Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2012, 05:19:19 PM »
Following on from last years thread I thought it would be a good idea to post up what got damaged this year.  Compared to past years I did pretty well I thought -

1 x vent control linkage
3000 x bush pinstripes
2 x lost D-shackles
pics or it didnt happen....lol

Offline hen

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 05:50:27 PM »
1 cracked aluminium rack
pin striping
diesel pump
severe corrugation tremors for pete
1 shoulder ligaments torn for jayne
we got off lightly!

Offline blackcat

• We are the Lucky Blackcats - we own a CT :-)
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2012, 06:03:40 PM »
few badge of honors on the camper
tore of the gas regulator at Palm creek
damaged gas bottle
flattened the exhaust tail pipe at cockatoo
tore of the electric brakes on the way home on the pdr
no longer have cruise control  ???
3001 x bush pinstripes
bit of water in car at Logans Creek
and allegedly,  we did collect one door off bjf  :angel:

but we're still on tour and have been harrassed by a rouge cassowary at South Mission Beach......
« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 08:00:15 PM by blackcat »

Offline Offroad 4x4 Accessories

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2012, 06:52:12 PM »
Ok to start with the car
Small crack in the back window replacement going in tomorrow
Broken a few clips on the trim front L/H guard
Pushed rear bumper out a bit
Will add photos when I can
Now the trailer
Just 2 blown tyres damaged rear guards 4 broken u bolts a few holes in the side of the trailer water tank cracked 2 battery's and a few cracks in the chassis 
« Last Edit: July 06, 2012, 06:54:11 PM by Smartway »

Offline Maîneÿ . . .

• Watch videos below
    • S0LAR power charging videos
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2012, 07:13:01 PM »
Just 2 blown tyres, damaged rear guards, 4 broken u bolts, a few holes in the side of the trailer water tank, cracked 2 battery's and a few cracks in the chassis 

must have been a bad bit of road  :-[

« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2012, 07:14:59 PM »
Now the trailer
Just 2 blown tyres damaged rear guards 4 broken u bolts a few holes in the side of the trailer water tank cracked 2 battery's and a few cracks in the chassis 
Struth!! What a mess!  :o

« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2012, 07:18:13 PM »
Ok to start with the car
Now the trailer

OK so nothing much then 8)

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2012, 07:24:26 PM »

1 x vent control linkage
3000 x bush pinstripes
2 x lost D-shackles
I must confess this one has me baffled.
Explanation please???
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline becboo

• take nothing but pics leave nothing but footprints
Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2012, 07:34:13 PM »
Ok to start with the car
Now the trailer

Nice camper :)
Aussie Swag Camper towed by an awesome 100 series with goodies!!

Education & Intelligence accomplish nothing without action....

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2012, 07:49:20 PM »
Think i would move the axle forward more, will help to balance the load.   ;D

BHG

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2012, 07:47:55 AM »
Ok to start with the car
Now the trailer

RELAX - it'll buff out . . . . .
"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2012, 07:51:59 AM »
I assume the U bolts broke and the rest was flow on from that?

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2012, 07:55:53 AM »
This is also what happened to Tim....

Before

After

Plus this

and he never complained.

« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2012, 07:59:23 AM »
I assume the U bolts broke and the rest was flow on from that?

You are correct sir.

must have been a bad bit of road  :-[

The road was actually in the best condition I've ever seen it.  Still plenty of corrugations though.

I must confess this one has me baffled.
Explanation please???

One of the vent control linkages has broken off (assuming due to corrugations), so my AC now continually blows onto the windscreen.

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2012, 02:36:42 PM »
My damage....

Side steps on one side courtesy of Palm Creek

Right hand side of the camper courtesy of Palm Creek which had me stuck

Left hand side of the camper. It's great to have matching sides. The drop down legs are shot on both sides which I knew would be sacrificed to the OTL gods.

The brakes on the left hand side are destroyed.

All up I escaped pretty easy. Very little bush pin stripping , must be my driving.

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2012, 02:50:20 PM »
You know what i like about these post's,,,, No one is crying about the damage.. :cup: they all new the risk and went with the flow...
Well done to all concerned   :cheers:

BHG

efjay

« Reply #17 on: July 07, 2012, 03:07:07 PM »
You know what i like about these post's,,,, No one is crying about the damage.. :cup: they all new the risk and went with the flow...
Well done to all concerned   :cheers:

BHG

I love that

On the car forums im on if a bird even looks like it might drop one on a car they start sooking!

Offline Malcur

« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2012, 03:43:20 PM »
Right hand slider ( Lh also bent, but it was bent bore we started), aircon light doesn't work ( but aircon seems ok), battery charger on CT died (picked up a replacement from Jetcrew on the track). I am sure there are a few more bits and pieces but I am still on the road (Weipa) so haven't taken stock yet :)

Mal

Offline rodsswag

• Always dreamed it, now living it!!!!!!!
« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2012, 03:54:47 PM »
Well in one day

oil preasure gauge on dash not working
temp gauge on dash playing up
dented front l/h shock
flatend both rear springs

not to bad all over with in one day
Swag
Coramal Caravan

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2012, 09:42:04 PM »
I don' know how you did all that, when we did the cape, just before all you guys, i GOT NOTHING, and i mean nothing, well pin stripes but that is nothing anyhow. The trailer had red duct everywhere but that is all.

DANG

HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

Offline JU5T1N

« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2012, 10:08:00 PM »
Now the trailer
[/quote]
looks ready to strap a 44" tyre under it & put it on eBay....ouch hope  the trip memories ease the pain

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

Offline Offroad 4x4 Accessories

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #22 on: July 08, 2012, 11:28:59 AM »
I don' know how you did all that, when we did the cape, just before all you guys, i GOT NOTHING, and i mean nothing, well pin stripes but that is nothing anyhow. The trailer had red duct everywhere but that is all.

DANG

Hi Wogs did you do the OTL?

Offline @fnq4now

Carnage of the Cape MkII
« Reply #23 on: July 08, 2012, 02:24:23 PM »
I love that

On the car forums im on if a bird even looks like it might drop one on a car they start sooking!

What do you do if a bird sh!ts on your car???

Don't take her out again!
"The problem with common sense is that it's just not very common."

Tassie devils

« Reply #24 on: July 08, 2012, 08:10:57 PM »

DANG
Hi wogs did you post photos of your trip?