Author Topic: The Itineray  (Read 12707 times)

The Itineray
« on: July 11, 2011, 03:33:12 PM »
23rd June / 8th July 2012 holidays

Day 1 Sat: Cairns to Lions Den via coast Rd.
We start our great adventure leaving Cairns, time to be advised, and travel along the coast road to the Daintree River. Here we cross the Daintree via the ferry and continue along the coast, through Bloomfield and emerge from the rainforest at the Lions Den Hotel. Overnight Lions Den

Day 2 Sunday:Lions Den Hotel
Spend the day exploring Cooktown, the history and museum. Also the opportunity to meet fellow travellers and go over the trip ahead.

Day 3 Monday:Lions Den via Battlecamp Rd to Archer River.
We leave Cooktown and head via the Battle Camp rd. We will travel to Laura and head up the main rd to Musgrave. From here we travel along the development rd and stop at Coen for fuel and refreshments then continue onto Archer River.
Option. Some members may wish to travel via Lakefield National Park and then join up at Musgrave.   

Day 4 Tuesday: Archer River Roadhouse to Dulhunty River
We head along the Developement Rd to Bramwell Junction. Stop for fuel / lunch and then the adventure begins as we tackle the southern part of the OTL stopping at Dulhunty River. A great camping area with croc free swimming.

Day5 Wednesday: Dulhunty to Twin Falls.
We leave Dulhunty cross Bertie Creek and head towards the mighty Gunshot Creek. After the fun of conquering Gunshot we head towards Cockatoo Creek which is nice and easy and arrive at Twin Falls.

Day 6 Thursday: Twin Falls   
This would have to be the best place at the Cape. There are a number of swimming areas which are croc free.This was the most popular spot from the last trip. 

Day 7 Friday: Twin Falls to Jardine River
We tackle the northern part of the OTL and camp on the Jardine River.

Day 8 Saturday: Jardine River to Seisa
We then head inland back to the Developement Rd across the ferry onto Seisa. 

Day 9-10-11-12 Sunday - Wednesday: Enjoy the Cape
Plenty of time to enjoy what the Cape can offer with bushwalking, fishing, tours and trips to the Islands.Oh and drinking.

Day 13-14-15-16  Wednesday to Sunday:
Options Stay another day at the Cape or explore Vrilya Point in the Gulf. The choice is yours as on the last trip everyone wanted to explore in different groups.

As per the last trip this intinerary can change depending on the road conditions.

Thats what makes the Cape such an adventure the uncertainty of what to expect and the challenge of taking it on.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2012, 01:44:37 PM by McGirr »

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
Re: The Itineray
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 05:20:07 PM »
Have the dates changed? I thought it was going to be in the June/July school holidays?

If it was in the September school holidays it would much better for us.

The intinery looks great, depending on work I will be there minus the bells.

Cheers Rod.... 8) :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2011, 05:30:28 PM »
I reckon we should go in March.

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2011, 05:55:56 PM »
I reckon we should go in March.

A bit ealry for us and I reckon most vehicles unless they are Nissan badged will get through.

Cheers Rod.... ;D

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2011, 07:56:04 PM »
sounds good to us dates wont be an issue casue we.re  cancelling all holidays next year to do this trip.
2006 Toyota Prado
2014 Stoney creek rear fold.

« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2011, 07:58:42 PM »
Dates loook good to me as well, just need to book my long service leave and then work out the way to go up and back, how many sleeps ;D

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2011, 08:18:30 PM »
447  sleeps GG but i;m not counting yet  ;D
2006 Toyota Prado

« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2011, 08:28:42 PM »
447  sleeps GG but i;m not counting yet  ;D

I might do a few all nighters, that means a few less to count >:D

« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2011, 08:39:20 PM »
Sorry  guys it's the June / July holidays. I will have to start drinking again !!!

« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2011, 08:41:39 PM »
Just hope i can all the days off work I need, long way from Tassie :)
« Last Edit: July 11, 2011, 08:50:32 PM by mystq »

Offline dooguss

• Prado Power
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2011, 09:20:57 PM »
just means less sleeps now   :D :D
2006 Toyota Prado

Offline idlegossip

« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2011, 09:32:34 PM »
For all travelling from Victoria you will need to allow 4-5 days of decent driving just to get to Cairns. And if you are planning on a stopover at Emerald prebook accomodation as it is very hard to get when you roll up due to the mine workers and motels are an absolute rip off.

« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2011, 09:52:00 PM »
Quote from: idlegossip
For all travelling from Victoria you will need to allow 4-5 days of decent driving just to get to Cairns. And if you are planning on a stopover at Emerald prebook accomodation as it is very hard to get when you roll up due to the mine workers and motels are an absolute rip off.
Im waitin till they sort out what month it is before I put in for holidays and shiz.  ;D

Offline bert56

« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2011, 09:40:08 AM »
I'm in.

Bert

Offline WogsRus

« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2011, 09:53:09 AM »
You buggas, i will see you on the way back down, we will be there one month ahead of you guys
HAD 2007 NS GLX Pajero, 3.8L grunt, ex Cop,

NOW 50th Anniversary Simpson Edition Poootrol wit some fruit

"Speed doesn't kill. It's the sudden stop at the end"
"Live everyday as if it was your last, and some day it will"

« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2011, 10:12:14 AM »
You buggas, i will see you on the way back down, we will be there one month ahead of you guys
Your our scout ;)

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2011, 07:07:23 PM »
no chance of throwing mellville on that itinery ???

« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2011, 08:34:24 PM »
no chance of throwing mellville on that itinery ???

It's a very rough track to get there and can get very windy. But other members can add a trip on after the Cape.

Offline WeLDIN

« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2011, 09:14:27 AM »
It's a very rough track to get there and can get very windy. But other members can add a trip on after the Cape.

has anyone done bathurst bay/ cape melville?? i'd love to see a bit of a report on the area to see if it's worth the extra effort on our trip next year.

AJ

Offline jaycamrie

« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2011, 02:47:56 PM »
has anyone done bathurst bay/ cape melville?? i'd love to see a bit of a report on the area to see if it's worth the extra effort on our trip next year.

AJ
we will be doing it next year if all goes well, on the way up or down not sure yet

Offline Diksta

• Where I Should be
    • http://picasaweb.google.com/gbney01
« Reply #20 on: October 31, 2011, 07:49:22 PM »
i will look at putting in leave tomorrow
2016 200 Series
1983 60 Series
POTM November 2009 Winner :cup:
2009 POTY Winner :cup:
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=49966.new#new

Offline trekkn

« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2011, 11:55:26 PM »
oh yeah cant wait  ;D

Offline bert56

« Reply #22 on: December 16, 2011, 05:45:31 AM »
Hi Mark,

If you split us into 2 groups, what will the itineray be for the second group?

Any chance of driving through Lakefield next year? I wouldn't mind seeing crocs in the wild but from a safe distance.

I would like to be able to do a bit more fishing next year.

Is there anywhere the whole lot of us could camp together for a night before the OTL?

Bert

« Reply #23 on: December 16, 2011, 06:48:59 AM »
Bert

I have yet to decide how I will do the groups. We will all be camping together before the otl at archer river .

You can do lake field next year as it meets up at Musgrave.

Mate you can fish as much as you like you decide

« Reply #24 on: December 16, 2011, 06:52:47 AM »
Hi Mark,
I would like to have a yarn with you about an idea I have for next years trip. RE the big numbers going. Could you pm me your phone noumber or call me on 0439962280.
cheers duggie.