Author Topic: Hello from a newby - Emu Park CQ  (Read 5694 times)

Offline Reelaxin

Hello from a newby - Emu Park CQ
« on: December 16, 2010, 05:14:45 PM »
Hello team. Just set up my account today, looks like there is a lot of good information on here.

I am just at the start of my CT journey. Have used one with the family when I was a kid, but after tenting for a few years it is time to look for a CT for my own family. Last weekend my wife actually said" O think we should get a camper trailer to take the girls camping"!!

Don't have to tell me twice!!!!!

Ed.

Re: Hello from a newby - Emu Park CQ
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2010, 05:37:51 PM »
Welcome to myswag and now you have the wife's approval strike while the iron is hot.

Offline GSK33

• Tent
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2010, 05:39:38 PM »
Hi from Bilo  :cheers:

« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2010, 05:39:52 PM »
G'day Ed and welcome to Myswag. Happy women, happy chillin'. :cheers:

« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2010, 05:41:48 PM »
My wife said the samething so I had to move quick before she changed her mind which apparently she is allowed to according to the fine print when we got married

« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2010, 05:51:19 PM »
Welcome to the Forum, any idea what type of camper you are after?? Check out the classifieds section as there are some bargains about at the moment

Offline graylyn

• Kendall River Barramundi
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2010, 06:17:15 PM »
Welome to the forum Ed.  You will have fun here.
The worst day fishing is always better than the best day at work.

2021 Isuzu d-max utility 3 litre
2012 Jayco Swan Outback
full 60 litre Engel

« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2010, 07:03:11 PM »
ED Welcome to Myswag  if you want to know anything ask , somebody will know to help you . ;D

Offline mark40

« Reply #8 on: December 16, 2010, 07:58:26 PM »
G'day Ed,
Beautiful part of the world you live in mate. You'll get heaps of info and advice from the good people here.

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #9 on: December 16, 2010, 08:41:16 PM »
Welcome cuz,

As I said last night this is the best resource known to man re: camper trailers.

You will become addicted as I have just watch the Total timelogged in grow.

Cheers Rod.... 8) :cheers:

Offline rockygu4.8

« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2010, 12:05:31 AM »
Welcome great to see another local on the forum. Enjoy yourself lots of great info here.

4.8 litre Gu Patrol
2006 Goldstream Storm
2010 Armadilo Arma X

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2010, 01:02:36 AM »
Greetings. Welcome to the forum.
The Capricorn Coast is one of the nicest parts of Qld.
But I might be a bit biased having grown up there...... 8)

« Reply #12 on: December 18, 2010, 06:58:28 AM »
Welcome.  Use to visit Emu Park in the late 80’s. (Played golf and went fishing.)  It would be a bit different there now I suspect.
I think it was my wife’s idea to get a camper and the first 2nd hand one we looked at we bought.   No matter how much you read or talk to people, until you get out there you don’t realise how much there is to see and do.  What a country! And so many nice people travelling it.  :cheers:  Kev and Kris

« Reply #13 on: December 18, 2010, 07:33:05 AM »
G'day & Welcome Ed.

Better get a move on then,  ;D, happy shopping.

« Reply #14 on: December 18, 2010, 08:28:16 AM »
Welcome to the MySwag site.  All the info and help at hand to find the right CT, best of luck..

Offline Ray-C

« Reply #15 on: December 18, 2010, 08:35:20 AM »
Welcome to myswag  Ed.  :cheers:
C:\Users\Ray\Pictures\2010-08-01 tom price\tom price 017 email.JPG

« Reply #16 on: December 18, 2010, 09:02:05 AM »
Hi Ed, welcome to the forum and good hunting for you C/T, plenty to choose from in both price and creature comforts, any questions just ask, we will spend your money for you ;D

Offline farmer6

« Reply #17 on: December 18, 2010, 09:29:48 PM »

Howdy neighbour. My wife was the one that suggested getting a camper trailer. They are very smart and know what they want. I guess thats why they marry us. :D

We hired a camper trailer about 5 or 6 times while we were looking for our own trailer to see what we liked and disliked about a camper trailer. This really helped to fine tune what we would like for in a trailer.

farmer6
2006 100 series landcruiser wagon

2010 Jimboomba Camper

Offline Reelaxin

« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2010, 11:13:37 AM »
Thanks for the warm welcome.

I have been around campsites and campers for a few years now, and always took an interest in features, etc. Over the last few years I thought I had a reasonable idea of what I wanted in a CT, but after the past 2 weeks of detailed searching I have discovered that there is a whole list of features that I never knew existed.

As recommended to me by Rod Camping - I think it is time to make a spreadsheet checklist of features / options / price totals to help make the job easier. I like the Lifestyle but not sure the budget will 'extend' that far, so having fun checking out some other makes - Trackabout looks the goods!

We have an 80 series GXL factory turbo with all the fruit, so would like a CT that will stand up easily to being dragged through rough bush tracks and down the beach. We have to be self suficient with water and power options, as the best places often have neither. We get into fishing, camp cooking, and teaching our girls about our awesome country.

A mate from work is very generously loaning me his on road Cavalier for a week in the new year so we can have a taste of CT life. We will be taking our girls (18 months and 3 1/2yo) to 1770, a family favourite camp ground for the last 30yrs. Considering our girls are still so young, we are looking forward to many years of family adventures!!

Watching my total time logged in GROW!

Reelaxin.

Offline rockygu4.8

« Reply #19 on: December 22, 2010, 08:21:53 PM »
Great pic of the 80 series at Stockyard Pt by the way. Goof fun with the hunt i hear only good things about Trackabout.

4.8 litre Gu Patrol
2006 Goldstream Storm
2010 Armadilo Arma X

« Reply #20 on: December 23, 2010, 08:00:40 AM »
Welcome to Myswag Reelaxin.  Yes, there are endless brands of campers out there eh.  We have ordered a Trackabout Safari SV.  Have seen it first hand in action doing the Telegraph track up Cape York.  Our son and family have one and we tagged along with our tent  :-[   a couple of years ago.  It performed amazingly - and it sure was tested!   We were very impressed and have been wanting one ever since.  Ours arrives end of Feb - can't wait.   Enjoy your researching and finally choosing.  It's a lot of fun.

« Reply #21 on: December 23, 2010, 07:57:44 PM »
Hi Ed

Welcome to Myswag, you will find everything that you want to know about camper trailers in this forum and if you cant find it you only need ask and the friendly members will help you out.