Author Topic: What am I Grateful for today.  (Read 59817 times)

Re: What am I Grateful for today.
« Reply #225 on: October 08, 2020, 06:19:19 PM »

Just keep up your positive outlook
That's what keeps this Shite show(life) together.
All the best.
The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

« Reply #226 on: October 09, 2020, 03:37:11 AM »
Feet froze, momentum carried her forward, head smacked the dishwasher and dented it and the sudden stop at the bottom did the rest, looks like a car crash victim, eyes were so black yesterday I couldn’t tell sometimes whether her eyes were open or shut. She’s a very strong lady and with all her trials and tribulations I have only ever heard her give a pain score of 6/10, knew she was in trouble when I asked her and she said 11/10.  7 hours with both shoulders dislocated, not something I would wish on anyone

Hey mate, hope ya missus gets well soon.
I've been pissing and moaning about a crook back and knee this week.... seems like nothing after reading that.

I don't even normally read this thread, as its just Hairs waffling on about nothing most of the time.

« Reply #227 on: October 09, 2020, 07:18:16 AM »
....waffling on about nothing....

Nobody does that ^ on here, ever..... :P

Gee Pottsy, 8 days.....hopefully it's not too much longer....

« Reply #228 on: October 11, 2020, 08:56:08 AM »
Came home from hospital yesterday, decision has been made to see our own ortho surgeon due to the complexities of Lorraines condition. Hopefully he will see her promptly, doctors are suggesting a recovery of 16 to 20 weeks. I’ve never seen someone so badly bruised from a standing fall, she is black and blue from shoulder to hips, even her fingernail beds are black. New name is Dino due to her dinosaur arm movements. Can now just manage to get her right arm to her mouth so as long as food is cut up she can now slowly feed herself. Still difficult to hold a cup though. Just call me Nurse Pottsy for the foreseeable future. I’m off shopping for oversized clothes this morning, be like a bearded drag queen in ladies lingerie!

« Reply #229 on: October 11, 2020, 09:03:18 AM »
At least that's something :cup:

Hope you can see your own Doc soon.

« Reply #230 on: October 11, 2020, 10:18:56 AM »
 Grateful for the help i receive when raising money for the children's charity, Variety.  ;D

Had confirmation that my planned event for this year is going ahead and even more grateful that Woolworth's in Grafton are donating all the food for the golfers lunch   :cup: :cup: :cup:

This event is becoming more popular every year as it is a fun day of golfing with mates and sinking a few cold ones along the way. :cheers: :cheers:

[img width= height= alt=Capture" border="0]https://i.ibb.co/g9f3r81/Capture.png[/img]

« Reply #231 on: October 11, 2020, 01:57:01 PM »
I'm grateful that when my dog came in to wake me up this morning, by jumping on my chest and giving me big kisses, I was quick enough to close my mouth before he slipped the tongue in... Little sh1t.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #232 on: October 11, 2020, 02:04:13 PM »
I'm grateful that when my dog came in to wake me up this morning, by jumping on my chest and giving me big kisses, I was quick enough to close my mouth before he slipped the tongue in... Little sh1t.
Ahahahahaha,
Yep, ya gotta be quick:)
The following users thanked this post: Troopy_03

Offline MadMarv

« Reply #233 on: October 11, 2020, 02:17:21 PM »
Came home from hospital yesterday, decision has been made to see our own ortho surgeon due to the complexities of Lorraines condition. Hopefully he will see her promptly, doctors are suggesting a recovery of 16 to 20 weeks. I’ve never seen someone so badly bruised from a standing fall, she is black and blue from shoulder to hips, even her fingernail beds are black. New name is Dino due to her dinosaur arm movements. Can now just manage to get her right arm to her mouth so as long as food is cut up she can now slowly feed herself. Still difficult to hold a cup though. Just call me Nurse Pottsy for the foreseeable future. I’m off shopping for oversized clothes this morning, be like a bearded drag queen in ladies lingerie!

Hoping Lorraines recovery isnt too hard on her , just remind her that waking up is a good start and it dosent matter if she cannot do what she used too there are many diffrent things she will probably be able to and thats what matters, you just have to try ..... i wouldnt have had the recovery i did without trying and for me there is much i wont be able to do anymore but there is so much im still able to do ..... you just have to try every day

Marv

« Reply #234 on: October 18, 2020, 06:05:48 PM »
I am grateful today for a couple of things,
I've had a bad couple of weeks with dealing with my battle with Crohns,
Those that know of this will understand, it really makes getting up and getting in to your day a real head f$#%. Being even 20 feet away from a toilet can be soul destroying.
Planned a short road trip(250km round trip) today to catch up with a couple of long time mates( :) 40 odd years) in Lismore, wasn't really looking forward to being caught out.
Well, it was as if I have never had Crohns, just a normal day, how good is that.
:)
We got to catch up with these very dear friends,
Tomorrow is another day :)

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

« Reply #235 on: October 19, 2020, 08:02:42 AM »
I never thought i would say it but i am grateful for insurance Pet insurance to be precise

The pup went lame in the back leg twice in 4 weeks and after some xrays we found the problem... A fractured hock (or fractured ankle in human terms) not sure how he has done it but all claims with Guide Dogs pet insurance have been turned around and paid into my bank account in 3 days.

« Reply #236 on: October 19, 2020, 09:01:54 AM »
I never thought i would say it but i am grateful for insurance Pet insurance to be precise

The pup went lame in the back leg twice in 4 weeks and after some xrays we found the problem... A fractured hock (or fractured ankle in human terms) not sure how he has done it but all claims with Guide Dogs pet insurance have been turned around and paid into my bank account in 3 days.
Yea mates German Shep had big issues and he went through similar... Gee vets arent cheap eh :S

« Reply #237 on: October 19, 2020, 09:24:30 AM »
Yea mates German Shep had big issues and he went through similar... Gee vets arent cheap eh :S

You are not wrong and this is not even surgery

Initial visit $175
Xrays $600 (as the dog has to be sedated to keep still)
Splinting $85
Second Splinting $85 (splint has to be checked and changed every week)
Follow up Xrays due in 2 week i am assuming another $600

« Reply #238 on: October 19, 2020, 07:22:07 PM »

Initial visit $175
Splinting $85

But worth every dollar, even without pet insurance

« Reply #239 on: October 22, 2020, 06:00:30 PM »
I am grateful for what I have.
I am grateful that I can make a difference to someones day.
Today, while going through the supermarket checkout, an elderly man was struggling to find his notes, to pay for his groceries.
He was $18.34 short.
I was paying by CC for my goods, but I knew I had  $20,
So I dug it out of my wallet, reach past him to the operator.
Here ya go.

That is what life is about.
Make it easy for others.
Take care.

The following users thanked this post: alnjan, Foo, Fizzie, Pottsy

« Reply #240 on: October 22, 2020, 07:40:22 PM »

Initial visit $175
Splinting $85

Sister has 2 Dachshunds....which like getting bitten by a brown snake...twice now.....bills stand around $7000...
Only $100 to get a dog put down....... ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #241 on: October 23, 2020, 07:16:37 AM »
So I dug it out of my wallet, reach past him to the operator.
Here ya go.

On the local news just last night, one of teh drive-through coffee shops was saying that over the last few weeks, they've been having a surge of people "paying it forward", by paying for the coffee for the car behind them ;D

& it's been concertinaing down the line as that person gets told their coffee has been paid for, so they say they'll pay for the next one & so on :cup:

« Reply #242 on: October 23, 2020, 07:48:53 AM »
On the local news just last night, one of teh drive-through coffee shops was saying that over the last few weeks, they've been having a surge of people "paying it forward", by paying for the coffee for the car behind them ;D

& it's been concertinaing down the line as that person gets told their coffee has been paid for, so they say they'll pay for the next one & so on :cup:

Its great to see that kind of stuff. I used to work for a large multinational in the Melbourne CBD and through all the money given to charity the nicest gesture was the departments used to take turns a couple of times a week and get a few coffees for the guys that used to sleep rough in the back alley

« Reply #243 on: October 23, 2020, 10:03:33 AM »

Speaking with an ex work mate at Reece this morning.
She does this once a week at the coffee shop near her work.
Great to see people randomly giving.
Awesome.

Sent from my SM-T515 using Tapatalk

« Reply #244 on: October 23, 2020, 11:18:20 AM »
Stuff 'em.... let 'em pay for their friggin own.

I'll be spending as much as I can on ME..... Charity begins at home.... my home.

When we are both dead, then.... our estate gets split between 3 charities and a couple of mates.

One ends up with a very nice Cadillac, the other scores $50,000.

But until then, i keep as much for myself as my greedy little fingers can grab.  ;D

« Reply #245 on: November 11, 2020, 12:54:20 PM »
due to the complexities of Lorraines condition.

Hey Pottsy, any update on the Boss ???

Hope she's going OK!

« Reply #246 on: November 11, 2020, 01:39:03 PM »
Hey Pottsy, any update on the Boss ???

Hope she's going OK!

G’day Fizzie,  things moved a little quicker privately, rang 9.00am Monday, see you at 10.30, by 12.30 ct and X-rays done. Tuesday morn, range of blood tests done. Wednesday surgeon rings, scans not good, see you tomorrow. Thursday surgeon books surgery for Sat morning. Reconstructs top of the humerus by replacing or removing 5 bone fragments and re-attaches the ligaments. 48hrs later she is home in my care, left arm slinger, no physio yet. Had post op visit, surgeons happy with how things went. Return on 2nd Dec for X-rays on right shoulder to put a plan in place re surgery either before or just after Xmas  hopefully.  Mentally she’s good, physically she’s tired. Still has black eyes six weeks later but they are starting to fade.
So I’d reckon I’ve got another 12 to 15 weeks of being nurse Pottsy, I reckon by then I’ll have this cooking, cleaning, bathing and dressing routine down pat.
Hopefully then we can break out the camper and getaway.

« Reply #247 on: November 11, 2020, 03:02:23 PM »
It's been one hell of journey,
Hoping life gets easier mate, for you both.

I never make plans,
In a court, it's call premeditated

« Reply #248 on: November 11, 2020, 04:19:54 PM »
Good to hear there's been some progress! :cup:

physically she’s tired.

She's well & truly allowed to be!

« Reply #249 on: November 11, 2020, 05:52:38 PM »
You are a Legend Pottsy. Lorraine is very lucky to have a husband like you. Well done.

Sent from my SM-J600G using Tapatalk