Author Topic: New Kedron Triple Axle  (Read 5133 times)

Offline KeithB

New Kedron Triple Axle
« on: June 23, 2018, 03:05:16 PM »
Has anyone seen this:
https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/australias-priciest-caravan-breaks-cover-112976/?utm_campaign=B2C_caravans_2018_caravans-newsletter-220618&utm_medium=email&utm_source=eloqua
It had a to happen. An "off road" caravan that you need a giant American truck to tow. Looks nice though. I like the air suspension in particular.
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

Re: New Kedron Triple Axle
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2018, 03:06:25 PM »
yea few had a laugh at it week or so ago... 200k LMAO

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2018, 03:48:34 PM »
    How to be the envy of all the light fingered gentry where ever you go. Nothing anonymous about it!

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2018, 04:38:48 PM »
Seeing it in the flesh at the caravan show, For me it didnt seem so impressive size wise ..
Going by what the Gall  boys were saying, the owner has been there done that several times over and had towed just about everything you could ever want too during his working life and now its time to sit back and enjoy with a towable comfortable home ..
Guess he could have bought a big bus luxury Motorhome instead .

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2018, 04:42:11 PM »
Six wheels??....that's just plain silly.... ;D

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2018, 04:43:13 PM »
Hi Keith, That is a big sucker for shore, I wonder how heavy that is, as the tandem axle heavy duty Kedrons are 3,5t and need a Silverado to tow them. Craig

« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2018, 04:55:21 PM »
Guess he could have bought a big bus luxury Motorhome instead .

This is what I would do, and tow a smaller 4wd for side trips, kit it out with an awning, swag etc for basic camping and you could then also get to the harder to access places, the size of the stoinker he is going to need to tow it means there are lots of places it wouldn't get. There was a bus/motorhome on gumtree a little while back, and it wasn't quite as big as a normal bus but had a little Suzuki LJ50 fit in its bum with it's windscreen folded down.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2018, 11:02:52 PM »
If you have worked hard all of your life and have plenty of time and cash, why not?
if you wanted a boat of equivalent value for the same tow and caravan money, have quick look at what you'd get:

https://www.boatsales.com.au/boats/results/?q=((Service%3D%5Bboatsales%5D%26BoatType%3D%5BPower%5D)%26Price%3Drange%5B340000..360000%5D)

Which would you choose?
Years ago, I had my old 45 ft motor catamaran on a marina berth under Gladesville Bridge in Sydney, when this lovely sixty footer tied up a few days earlier. An older guy was hosing and scrubbing the decks. I asked if it was his boat and he replied in the affirmative. I said "You must have worked hard to deserve a boat like this."
He teared up and said "All me life".

I don't have quid myself, but I am less than pleased with people who assume that wealth in someone else didn't come from hard work. Most of the time it does. Or that somehow they are fools for spending it.

On another day, the marina guys were taking me out to my boat which was on a more affordable swing mooring. We passed the most gorgeous seventy footer parked up in its newly acquired berth. I asked the boat pilot: "What does that bloke do for a living?'. He answered: "Buggered if I know, but it looks like he's bloody good at it." Nuff said.

For me, spending a year touring around in a Dodge Ram with a 3 axle Kedron behind it would be, well, very nice. Unfortunately, poverty prevents. But to assume that people who do are fools or undeserving is a wee bit unkind.
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.
The following users thanked this post: xvprado, V8ute, brickiematt, Spada, GBC, Craig Tomkinson

Offline 4runnernomore

« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2018, 11:13:58 PM »
Well said

Offline Hewy54

« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2018, 07:19:22 AM »
And agree. Very well said.
Get so pi$$ed of when people make a comment about being a self funded retiree.
Yes I am now comfortable, but I worked two sometimes 3 jobs at a time for 40 years to get there.
Do like the idea of the Kedron myself, but do not begrudge anyone who wants one and can afford it.
I get more frustrated with people touring Australia trying to work out where to get their Centrelink payments  paid to.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2018, 07:53:48 AM »
I had my 7,7m charter boat I built with my mate on a triaxle trailer it towed really well it was 4,3ton rolling down the road loaded, Craig

« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2018, 08:37:21 AM »
Six wheels??....that's just plain silly.... ;D

That would be nearly as silly as a camper trailer with 4 wheels !!! >:( ;D

« Reply #12 on: June 24, 2018, 08:41:56 AM »
That would be nearly as silly as a camper trailer with 4 wheels !!! >:( ;D

:cup: :cup:...got one...;D ;D

Didn't think it would be you though gronk.....

« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 08:59:34 AM by GeoffA »

« Reply #13 on: June 24, 2018, 09:25:23 AM »
Whoa! Cue "Twilight Zone" theme.

We saw this Patriot Campers Toy Hauler at Brendale yesterday.
Set up for three motor cycles.

A lot wider than the tug (generic Asian dual cab thingy) which would make things a wee bit awkward in some situations but then, with bikes on the back, you wouldn't need to bush bash, but then, why is it so high and off roady?

The length definitely required tandem axles.
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 10:50:43 AM by Steffo1 »

« Reply #14 on: June 24, 2018, 10:43:01 AM »
I get more frustrated with people touring Australia trying to work out where to get their Centrelink payments  paid to.

That's easy - it's always straight into your bank a/c! >:D

« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2018, 11:14:00 AM »
The surprising thing is how many Grey Nomads get their caravan park fees claimed as Centrelink payments for housing...

Offline shanegtr

• Offroad80s
« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2018, 11:15:56 AM »
Each to their own if they can afford it then good for them.
This is what I would do, and tow a smaller 4wd for side trips, kit it out with an awning, swag etc for basic camping and you could then also get to the harder to access places, the size of the stoinker he is going to need to tow it means there are lots of places it wouldn't get. There was a bus/motorhome on gumtree a little while back, and it wasn't quite as big as a normal bus but had a little Suzuki LJ50 fit in its bum with it's windscreen folded down.
Im of the same opinion for that sort of $$$

Offline woolgoolgaoffroad

• Hardfloor
« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2018, 02:01:44 PM »
The surprising thing is how many Grey Nomads get their caravan park fees claimed as Centrelink payments for housing...

i saw on FB the other night one old duck claims rent assistant as they travel Aus, she gets the caravan park to sign 1 and then she said she photocopies up to 10 more and that what her and hubby can claim as they free camp. Bordering on fraud
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

« Reply #18 on: June 24, 2018, 02:19:53 PM »
PPFFFTTTTTT Tri axle caravan !! Give me a Tour bus motel  ;D ;D Have a go at this thing, Apparently fully self contained for free camping and able to cater for 25 people.

« Reply #19 on: June 24, 2018, 02:28:51 PM »
Wanna be 25 real friendly people.

« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2018, 03:36:44 PM »
 Backpackers of the Venus type   ;D

« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2018, 03:46:43 PM »
Why would you even bother leaving home?  Just dont understand these ridiculous egovans..

Offline Hookie

« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2018, 04:29:42 PM »
Yeah I don't get it either. My parents are grey nomads and they bought the biggest silverline outback jayco makes, drag it to all the most beautiful places in the country so they can sit inside and watch tv. They'd never even had a fire until mum recently saw how we camp and got on the old man's case about it, so he lit a fire for a couple of nights and then gave up and went inside to watch mash for the 28th time.
If we ever manage to get to that point in life, we'd want to travel as light as possible while still being comfortable.

But we're us and they're them.

« Reply #23 on: June 24, 2018, 04:37:02 PM »
Why would you even bother leaving home?  Just dont understand these ridiculous egovans..
because everyone is different in what they feel comfortable doing, that fact you don’t understand it just means to me it’s not the thing for you....but likely perfect for someone else.

Offline rossm

« Reply #24 on: June 24, 2018, 05:01:48 PM »
PPFFFTTTTTT Tri axle caravan !! Give me a Tour bus motel  ;D ;D Have a go at this thing, Apparently fully self contained for free camping and able to cater for 25 people.

Saw one of those at lake argyle in 2016. Head for the showers when one pulls in to wherever you are staying because as soon as they set up the passengers all want a shower at once.   
« Last Edit: June 24, 2018, 05:03:28 PM by rossm »