Author Topic: How to stop ya pillows running away??  (Read 15814 times)

How to stop ya pillows running away??
« on: April 24, 2012, 10:53:45 AM »
G'day all,

For me there is nothing more annoying then waking up in the middle of the night and your pillow has gone walk about... maybe it's cos of my big boof head??
Buy anyway as most CT's don't come with any sort of bed head arrangement I'm thinking of sorting something out myself...... at the moment i'm thinking of a length of ply across the head of the bed, that is hinged to the bed base and folds flat under the mattress when packed up..... when you need it, simply lift the mattress, fold up the bed head, and i'm just thinking of a couple of chords being connected from the bed base to the top of the bed head, these would tension up when the bed head is lifted and stop the bed head relaxing back against the tent frame....... hope that makes sense.....
Has anyone made anything like this, if so i'd love to see your pics and what arrangement you came up with..........

PS; I know Drifta make a fold up bed head type arrangement, but i'm not overly keen and buying anything pre made, as this is a pretty simple fix.

Offline Big Nath

• "hows ya bum for grubs"
Re: How to stop ya pillows running away??
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 10:55:38 AM »
Im with you. id be interested to see what you come up with.

:worthles: :worthles:

Cheers!
NAKED 2012 Pathfinder ST in Auto, Scan Guage, Polyair Airbags, 80CH Uniden UHF, Leisure Matters Camper!

Offline LJs GU

• My Camel has 3 little humps...
    • The Jackson 5 On Tour
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 12:11:02 PM »
Barra, you make me laugh mate.

I've now heard it all for mods to CT's

Anti Pillow Movement Restraint System

Otherwise know as the APMRS

LJ
I'm not so good with advice... can I interest you in a sarcastic comment?

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2012, 12:12:23 PM »
Barra, you make me laugh mate.

I've now heard it all for mods to CT's

Anti Pillow Movement Restraint System

LJ
are you sure its not
PILLOW IS SLIDING SIDEWAYS ALWAYS?
P I S S A ??

Offline WaituiRob

• "Oldies still doing it.....Camping that is!
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2012, 12:36:28 PM »
Hi Barra,

We have 4 pillows for when we are reading or watching tv and as we only use 2 for sleeping we put the spares between the mattress and canvas as a bedhead. A little bit awkward where the bar is but works for us.

Enjoy your new camper.
Robyn.

Offline Smoko

« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2012, 12:49:49 PM »
Hey Barra,

Have alook at this may help

www.drifta.com.au/OtherDRIFTAProductsCT.php

Cam
« Last Edit: April 24, 2012, 12:52:38 PM by Smoko »
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2012, 02:22:46 PM »
Given some people's fondness for velcro-ing everything in sight, I opened this thread half expecting to see that you had solved it that way.  Velcro on the sheets and pillowslip.   Or that non slip rubber matting stuff.

And no I haven't done it and I don't have a picture! >:D

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2012, 02:35:26 PM »
Barra,

Sounds like you've already got a good idea. Personally, I wouldn't worry about the bungee cord to hold it off the canvas - if you make it tall enough it should just rest on the spar that goes across the bed-end window. Cover with marine carpet because, lets face it, it's awesome. Incorporate LED reading lights for bonus bling points.

This thread now belongs in the Electrical section. May God have mercy on your souls.

Cheers!

« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2012, 03:23:25 PM »
Quote from: Smoko
Have alook at this may help
www.drifta.com.au/OtherDRIFTAProductsCT.php

Quote from: Barrabart
PS; I know Drifta make a fold up bed head type arrangement, but i'm not overly keen and buying anything pre made, as this is a pretty simple fix.

:angel: ;)

Offline peanut2

« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2012, 04:10:21 PM »

For me there is nothing more annoying then waking up in the middle of the night and your pillow has gone walk about... maybe it's cos of my big boof head??

Perhaps you could first try doing away with the satin sheets and satin pillowcases.  :D

Peanut

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2012, 04:50:38 PM »
BITE THEM ! .... LOL

« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2012, 05:19:06 PM »

« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2012, 07:19:45 PM »

Ha Ha............Which is funnier? the "bite them"comment or Losts emoticon???

« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2012, 07:24:08 PM »

« Reply #14 on: April 24, 2012, 07:28:54 PM »

cut the legs off the little bludgers  8)

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #15 on: April 24, 2012, 07:36:48 PM »
BITE THEM ! .... LOL

Or maybe STOP BITING THEM !...lol

Offline Sawed-Off

« Reply #16 on: April 24, 2012, 07:46:01 PM »
Wife and I both had the escaping pillow problem on our first night in our camper. I just moved the mattress up to almost remove the gap between the mattress and the canvas. Problem solved.  :cheers:
Matt.

Rootin', Tootin', & Shootin'. It's the Cowboy Way.

'97 HZJ80R Land Cruiser Dual Cab
'05 Tambo "The Cooper" : Nights used - 2015: 13  2014: 34  2013: 36  2012: 31

« Reply #17 on: April 24, 2012, 08:49:16 PM »
You could always get one of those bed rails for kids for $30 or $40 from Target or big w or wherever...................

Cheers Nomad.

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #18 on: April 24, 2012, 09:18:58 PM »

cut the legs off the little bludgers  8)

pmsl   :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

« Reply #19 on: April 24, 2012, 09:43:23 PM »
or 1 of those elastic trailer nets ?  ;D

« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2012, 09:59:49 PM »

Duck tape them to your head  ;D

« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2012, 10:09:39 PM »
I must be lucky coz the old bear has a spare for me under her head  >:D :cheers:

« Reply #23 on: April 25, 2012, 12:58:36 AM »
BITE THEM ! .... LOL

My Trackabout is a pillow biting free zone......... for blokes anyway....... which leads me to my next thread....... Baffle plates in water tanks!!! ;D ;D

« Reply #24 on: April 25, 2012, 01:01:01 AM »
Hi Barra,

We have 4 pillows for when we are reading or watching tv and as we only use 2 for sleeping we put the spares between the mattress and canvas as a bedhead. A little bit awkward where the bar is but works for us.

Enjoy your new camper.
Robyn.

Yep, tried that...... was ok..... but still thinking a proper bed head type set up would be better......... for my large melon!! :-[